We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old town Addis meets new world style and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Addis Regency Hotel
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. While it may not be in the heart of the Piassa or near the main tourist activities, it wins out by the service and value it provides travelers. Most room rates include: round trip airport transfers, wifi (many routers in the hallway outside your room, and fast connection speed), and buffet breakfast which has an okay mix of continental and Ethiopian traditional foods. While the food was nothing special, it was a welcome way to begin the day.

The owner built this hotel on his father's land. It is one of the few hotels in this area, though a relatively easy walk to get you closer to things. I would definitely not describe this hotel's location as being in a very central location, but after a day or two of walking with a guide you will see it is easy to get places from here.

Try Morakar coffee just up the road for a very good, local coffee spot. Also please visit the local woman who runs a tiny bodega just 50 feet down towards the main road. She is very sweet and it is a great way to stock up on waters for the room and support a local family.

The hotel rooms were super clean and well maintained. My standard room was much more spacious than I was expecting. It came with a very nice sized bathroom, full closet, small flat screen TV with ample channel selection, and a fairly comfortable bed. I was super impressed by the in room safe that was big enough for a 15 inch laptop. Most hotels in the US don't have that yet.

Addis is building a metro train that, when completed in a few years, will have a stop right near this hotel. The hotel owner couldn't be nicer, and I think he is a visionary in terms of this old neighborhood being an up and coming area. Well done all around!

The hotel is secure and has guards at the entrance to both the driveway area and the front lobby.

The staff are all very kind and eager to help.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mmstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Addis Regency Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 423 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

...decent place. Serious effort has gone into making it comfortable. Staff 100 pleasant and most helpful. Complimentary courtesy van from the airport is a major plus. Nearby construction work can be disturbing. But overall pretty good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Djinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Addis Regency on four different occasions in 2012. More than anything, the establishment has achieved a welcoming atmosphere that other hotels in Addis have a hard time to match. The price is fair and the breakfast is all you could wish for. I would not stay at any other hotel when I come to Addis.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oscar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in on my first couple of nights in Ethiopia - it was absolutely perfect for a night or two's stop over- It has a nice small bar, a restaurant serving decent food, very clean good sized rooms, it's located in a quiet area but walking distance to the Piazza, St George Church etc, good sized bathroom and shower and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It doesn't have a pool or gym or big fancy lobby - but is perfectly resourced for a couple of nights, is secure and is reasonable priced.

Room Tip: I stayed on first floor at front - absolutely fine, no noise and an easy walk up the stairs from rec...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BamBamDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Came on a business trip when hotels were full and found that the prices had been nearly doubled because of an AU summit! For $ 125 a room with a double bed, it is difficult to justify such a price considering that there were no basic amenities in the room: welcome bottle of water or even a small fridge to keep the water in, a table and chair to work from and also a basic list of numbers to contact for additional service. Breakfast was fine but not exciting with limited selection and catering more for the local market. So all in all, not value for money at the inflated price, more a budget rate hotel although staff are accommodating.

Room Tip: Not 105 at the top of the main staircase
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Best value for money, excellent rooms, wonderful host. Close to everywhere in Addis. We stayed twice and felt like we were coming home. They collect you from the airport and take you back included as part of the fee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riverrat205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I ended up at this hotel as Sheraton, Radisson and Hilton were full due to an AU-summit. It was a pleasant surprise. Superb staff and management. Restaurant is good and breakfast satisfying. The rooms are not large, but adequate in size. The beds are not of the same standard in luxury hotels and there is no a/c (which you seldom ned in A.A.). The hotel lacks elevator. Wifi is quite fast.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
3.6 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 120 in Addis Ababa
273 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 120 in Addis Ababa
231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 120 in Addis Ababa
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 120 in Addis Ababa
763 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 120 in Addis Ababa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Regency Hotel

Address: K. 03/19 H. no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $59 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addis Regency Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Arada region, Addis Regency Hotel offers 30 Standard/Deluxe rooms and 3 Executive Suites. Each spacious room offers International satellite TV, steam box showers and complimentary buffet breakfast. Conveniently situated near the Entoto Mountains, Piazza, National Museums, Addis Ababa University and other attractions; Addis Regency is a unique first class hotel amongst its peers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ethiopia, Addis Regency ...Where Distance Meets Comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Addis Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing