We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Addis Regency Hotel
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
517 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Been there one year ago, enjoyed it, returned and enjoyed it even more! This place is definitely an excellent deal in Addis, where new hotels keep appearing but rarely keep their promises. At Regency you're sure to get a warm weclcome, a nice room and good food, for the best price. Above all Hewi, the manager, truly aims at quality... this definitely makes the difference. Sounds like paid advertisement, but I'm only a happy customer! Will return, no doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    125
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
101
52
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently held a conference at the Addis Regency, during which all of the guests stayed at the Addis Regency. The hotel is immaculately clean, very comfortable, with internet in all the rooms, and a great place to hold a conference. Hewi and the rest of the team are incredibly professional and nothing is too much trouble; they were truly a pleasure to work with, from the planning stages through to our stay. They provided all of our meals, which were very tasty, well-presented, and offered a great deal of variety. Everything went so smoothly, and all of the guests commented on how great their stay was, how good the food was,...

I highly, highly recommend this hotel - if you want personal service, a comfortable place to stay, and your conference to run without a hitch, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
322 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have stayed here twice . It is family run and a delightful and friendly place to stay - comfortable , immaculately clean, welcoming and a haven to escape from the Addis hustle and bustle. Nothing is too much trouble. On a really warm day when we had an hour to spare, they kindly opened up the roof terrace especially for us. Freedom, the hotel driver, is an excellent guide to Addis and very knowledgable on both places of interest and shopping! We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Regency and it was a very good choice. The rooms are nicely furnished, the bathroom was big and had a good shower. Everything is very clean, especially in comparison to other hotels we saw on our 14-days trip through Ethiopia. The lobby is a good place to have a drink in the evening and it´s comfortable to use the Internet there (free of charge). Breakfast was good, the food in the restaurant only average. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. I can highly recommend the Regency especially if you come to Addis for the first time. The pick up service from and to the airport was perfectly organised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here on two occasions and have had a very nice stay. For the price, they meet all expectations. Internet is good. Because of good restaurant options in the area, we opt not to eat at the hotel. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YeGoozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent 6 nights at the Addis Regency in October, 2012 and enjoyed coming back to it each time. Addis is not an easy city to be in - so having a hotel which is an oasis of calm with terrific service is essential. It is not a 5 star hotel: the rooms are somewhat small and services limited, but it is immaculately clean, has very comfortable beds, a good restaurant, a comfortable bar, free internet (both wifi and computers in the lobby), and the best showers around (and those are not easy to find in Ethiopia). The staff is terrific and the cost is very reasonable. The neighborhood is a little sketchy - but it is close to Piazza (about a 10 minute walk) and most of the hotels that aren't in their own compounds are in neighborhoods that require care when walking around (and walking in Addis at night is generally not recommended for tourists). A very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plannersf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Addis Regency at the end of September. The hotel is superbly run, immaculate, and a quiet oasis in Addis. The staff called their taxi service and made sure we paid the Ethiopian rates, not tourist rates, and were so helpful with everything. Great to have WiFi too in the lobby. The best value for the money, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyandleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
3.6 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#5 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
11.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Regency Hotel

Property: Addis Regency Hotel
Address: K. 03/19 H. no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Arada region, Addis Regency Hotel offers 30 Standard/Deluxe rooms and 3 Executive Suites. Each spacious room offers International satellite TV, steam box showers and complimentary buffet breakfast. Conveniently situated near the Entoto Mountains, Piazza, National Museums, Addis Ababa University and other attractions; Addis Regency is a unique first class hotel amongst its peers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ethiopia, Addis Regency ...Where Distance Meets Comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Addis Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing