We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - nice rooms.”
Review of Kaleb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaleb Hotel
Ranked #42 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all you can not compare hotels in Ethiopia by their stars to hotels in other countries. For Ethiopia the hotel is good. Location is excellent close to the airport and good restaurants and coffee shops. Rooms are big and bright with all the necessary facilities. There is free Wi-fi in all rooms and the lobby. Did stay here a lot of times and will surely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are better then the rooms in the back.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Kaleb Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

it's not so good .not so bad it's just good kind stuff & WiFi Available at rooms free but watch out from room service keep your devices & important stuffs in the safe ( exist in all rooms i guess ) cause i lost a memory card from a mobile phone so watch out .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmed_azab07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

There is nothing spectactularly good or bad about this hotel. Location is convenient to the airport; the lobby is okay; price is decent; breakfast buffet is okay....rooms are big but beds aren't comfortable and bathrooms are cramped.

I don't think i'd stay at this hotel again unless i had to. Compared to other hotels in Addis i'd say this hotel is average but compared to international standards, this hotel would be a 2 star at best.

(FYI - no air conditioning but they will bring a fan to the room)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slakhany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very comfortable armchairs are provided in the lobby where you can sit and watch the action. You must stay alert as the luggage scanning machine at the door gives you the illusion that you are already at the airport. If you stroll across the lobby to the bar you can order the best plate of chips in the world. At least that's what I received when I ordered a packet of crisps. The beds are those ones, you know, where your head hits the pillow and the next thing you know it's morning . Rise and shine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milleenscheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is handy for the airport and although not a 4 star by international standards, it is clean and servicable.The room was fine, fairly quiet and comfortable with a minibar and wifi connection. The staff were friendly and helpful from the shuttle driver to the receptionist to the porters. The breakfast had a fantastic array of freshly baked goods.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm doing field work in the country, and I will staying in Addis every weekend. This is one of the hotels my company partners with. I went there to check it out (I was staying at the Regency on that weekend). Based on what I had read on the reviews, I wasn't thrilled about changing hotels. I visited a non-smoking room and walked around the facilities. It is not good! It's NOT a luxurious 4 stars hotel as they advertise. I'd say it's worth 3 stars, maybe even just 2 because of false advertisement!
Anyways, the non-smoking room has a very strong smell of smoke, and the furniture was outdated, and the room didn't look very clean nor comfortable. The location, though, is great! It's the best location in Addis, especially if you don't want to keep taking cabs to go everywhere. It's one block away from a great gym with an indoor pool, a famous mall that has a movie theater with new movies, some nice coffee shops and restaurants, a beautiful church, and a walking distance to this supermarket that has a lot of foreigner brands.
Despite the good location, I decided I didn't want to stay there because I simply didn't think it was worth it. There are better options in the same area, like Jupiter and Harmony, for about the same price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarizinhaBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

"Horrible" may sound a bit rude but the meaning for me to choose "horrible" instead of "mediocre" is because their publicity is false and because really, it does not value a 4 stars!!!
I spent 2 night in that hotel two weeks ago and I think their website was a lure. Before I left for Addis, I went through couple of hotel and guest house...but when I saw the website of Kaleb I was under the charm, it looked clean and fresh and nice. Beside the lady at reservation told me she would upgrade me and give me a king bed room for the price of a single room (120$). How lovely, thanks! But when I arrived...what a deception. The room (dark, poorly decorated and overcrowded) was covered by dirty carpet (in front of the door is just discuting) and was just too full....there is no space to put a double sofa, a coffee table, a TV, a fridge, a double cupboard and a huge office along the king bed in that small rom! Keep it simple but fresh! First, remove this horrible carpet and put some quickstep instead! The bed was so hard as well as the pillow that I did not slept for two night. This without counting on the noise of the street (road repair) and the room fridge. I could not use the safe (whihc alarm would start each time I close th edoor of the cupboard) and I had to call 3 time to ask a plug changing (short-circuit) which in the end finished identical as there were no other available (4 stars, really??). I eat there the first night, had a mix grill which was disguting (so, so dry). And again for a 4 stars I find their breakfast...very basic! Same for the bathroom, remove that broken shower door and make it fresh but simple. So yes lot of space to improve... thus either keep low profile and put yourself 3 stars, or change the deco and the quality of food and eventually yeah... may be. I quit the hotel after 2 nights instead of 7, for a charming guest house without all that pretention, far better quality-price and thousand time nicer, agreable and raffinate! Sorry Kaleb Hotel, it is a no, no!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epicurean-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.2 mi away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#93 of 120 in Addis Ababa
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 120 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kersay Hotel
Kersay Hotel
#29 of 120 in Addis Ababa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Siyonat Hotel
Siyonat Hotel
#33 of 120 in Addis Ababa
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#35 of 120 in Addis Ababa
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Washington Hotel
Washington Hotel
#30 of 120 in Addis Ababa
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaleb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleb Hotel

Address: Bole Medhanialem | Behind Edna Mall, Addis Ababa 15974, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $81 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaleb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kaleb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing