We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this as a business hotel. Food poisoning, rude staff and cockroaches.”
Review of Beshale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beshale Hotel
Ranked #93 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Avoid this as a business hotel. Food poisoning, rude staff and cockroaches.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Other than cockroaches and my partner suffering food poisoning because they washed and recycled a dish instead of serving fresh food....I had a business meeting sabotaged by the waiter and the night manager, because... after midnight you are not allowed to use the lobby!!!
In addition over 12 days of stay the internet worked only 45 minutes all in all.
Disgusting service. Appalling management. Should not be allowed to trade under the pretence of being a business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlotortora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
1
4
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Nothing special, a slightly run down western style hotel on the E side of Addis. Not ideally placed for tourist stuff but Addis is small enough to allow you to get anywhere by cab in under 20 minutes. WiFi throughout in theory, but in practice only the 6 rooms clustering around the router on each floor get any signal - but they allowed me to move without any problems. Once connected the performance varied between ok and nothing, but was mostly adequate. Room was ok, clean and well prepared. Room service was fast and prices were reasonable for a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms near the centre of each wing on each floor are the only ones with wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwanafunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

In my opinion this hotel is a good lesson that building a 4* hotel building is not enough to grant it 4 stars. Service is really important, and from my experience (one day, but it was enough) there is a lot of work left to do. The mindset of all staff did not live up to standarts of 4 stars - they had little interest in helping unless there is a monetary incentive somehow involved. The owners shold think about a litlle staff clean up and serious training.
Positive sides.
-The choice of food at the restaurant was relatively good and it had quite a few vegetarian options.
- The gym was good and a coach seemed friendly!
Negative sides.
- It looks as though they use leftovers from previous meals to cook. The salad at dinner contained fish from lunch and the breakfast next morning had vegetables from that dinner, albeit with some bolied potatoes added.
- Don't buy water at the restaurant - even though the bottle was sealed, it contained tiny particles of something.
- A cockroach in my bathtab.
- Most TV channels were not working properly, so only about 5 worked well.
- No wireless connection in my room (416, 4th floor). I complained and I was told twice that someone was fixing and that it should have been done during my stay (it was never fixed though).
- My colleague who stayed at a suite asked to fix his TV. One of employees spent a few minutes looking busy with that TV and then left promising to be back soon. We haven't seen him ever since...
- A reading lamp at my colleague's suite didn't have a bulb in it.
- I asked a consierge for a taxi and he gave me the most expensive one I have seen in Addis ($20 per hour irrespective of whether the driver waits for you or drives, and even then the driver tried to charge us $80 for 2.1 hours - his math was really "bad"). I suspect that there is a deal between that driver and a consierge.
- My colleague found a few things missing after our trip. It may have been stolen elsewhere, but the fact that rooms are easily accessible for staff and their level of competence make me wonder... Just make sure you lock everything important safely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Rooms are very dirty, bathroom bath tub very dirty ask for any service or support like power socket problem, water leak , etc here its main door guard comes and he is all in one person
he tries to sort out any problem but in vain he fools around and go back
never stay night stay next day morning will be horrible take care
from out side its good inside is very dirty & bad
keep away

Room Tip: keep away stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a night en route a travel to Accra via Ethiopian. The hotel is located out of the main city. It is a glass building with a pleasant appearance. It is not very far from the airport, but is almost on the opposite side to Hilton and other such properties.

The accommodation I took was on the 5th floor - a suite with a balcony. Overall, the hotel was a good experience - clean room, buffet for lunch and dinner (Vegetarians beware - the buffet is exotic only for non veggies. For veggies, there is hardly any choice), courteous staff, etc.

But there are 3 negatives I would like to point out -

1. Bedbugs biting through the night...I actually got up at 2 and stayed still with lights on to catch one of them.
2. Poor wireless internet connectivity...even though one may be 5 meters away from the router on each floor, it is virtually impossible to access the net if there are many people in the hotel doing so.
3. Staff is very money minded. One of them took out 2 photographs of me in the lobby and pestered me for money in front of the reception.

Overall, there is nothing that is standing out in the hotel that one can mention, apart from the large rooms and a good view from the top.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on 5th floor as natural breeze is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here for 10 days. The hotel was clean if western and impersonal, the service was generally good and friendly.

My room was like a 4 star room anywhere (although the hot water in the en suite bathroom was a bit patchy and the lack of snagging work being finished gave it a slightly African feel).

The restaurant menu was ok. There was the odd tasty Ethiopian dish, but it was mostly disappointingly western, and the service was patchy (quite slow sometimes, although that may have been partly because I was part of quite a large group.

The hotel is in an area of town where there is a great deal of construction going on. It feels like the outskirts now, but by a year hence I expect it won't! It has a gym, wifi, a shop and a good, quick, cheap laundry service - none of which is very Ethiopian!

I can't fault the Beshale as a "safe space" in a big, vibrant city. However, it's not the most exciting place you'll ever stay as far as atmosphere is concerned.

One thing not to miss- the coffee served at Beshale is fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivingDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
307 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

For an Ethiopian hotel it does a pretty good job without having any distinguishing features. It is fairly convenient for the airport, not convenient for the city centre or the few tourist things Addis has to offer. The rooms are a decent size, and clean. The bathrooms work. The wi-fi is pretty good most of the time. The food is OK, though breakfast a bit 'iffy' - "What is this juice I am drinking?" The staff are generally helpful, they take visa cards - as long as the network is working! And the price is reasonable.
The rooms at the back are a lot quiter - the road in front is like a freeway.
So you won't be disappointed, but you won't be thrilled either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.2 mi away
Top Ten Hotel
Top Ten Hotel
#86 of 118 in Addis Ababa
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manrashiwa Hotel
Manrashiwa Hotel
#76 of 118 in Addis Ababa
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#54 of 118 in Addis Ababa
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dimitri Hotel
Dimitri Hotel
#58 of 118 in Addis Ababa
77 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
131 reviews
5.1 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 118 in Addis Ababa
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beshale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beshale Hotel

Property: Beshale Hotel
Address: CMC Road | Near Athletics Federation, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beshale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 6 km away from Bole International Airport, Beshale Hotel is the perfect place to stay when you are traveling to our enchanting city, Addis Ababa. Inaugurated since 2008, the hotel is built to the latest specifications of the hotel industry in a rapidly growing area that is becoming the new center of Addis. Our highly experienced staff is passionate about serving you and meeting your expectations. We take pleasure in catering to your individual needs so you can always feel like you are at home. We promise to constantly deliver a genuine and memorable service. Beshale Hotel has a spacious lobby with free wireless internet access for all room guests. News stand and ATM machine are also available for your convenience. Make Beshale Hotel your choice when you are in Addis Ababa for business or pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beshale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing