We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fleas in bed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wassamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wassamar Hotel
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fleas in bed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

There are some positive things about this hotel. The location is great, staff are friendly, gym is great and food is good. The downside - and it was quite a major downside for me - was that there were fleas in my bed. I couldn't quite believe it at first - it doesn't look like the kind of hotel that would have fleas. But after three nights of being bitten and after having actually seen a flea hopping in my bed, there really was no other conclusion to be drawn. I was moved to another room, which was mercifully flea-free, and was told that the cleaner would be asked to clean the flea-ridden room 'as best she could'. Not sure that will do the trick, but let's hope so, for the sake of future guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingforwork77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    41
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
6
7
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We used the Wassamar Hotel as a base for an extended business trip to Ethiopia and returned to the hotel 5 times over a 3 week period. Each time the stay was a sanctuary after long drives and sometimes poor quality accommodation in the provinces. Fast internet, comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, pleasant staff and an efficient laundry service were noteworthy. Construction work is still in progress in this area, but we were not affected by noise or dust. A short walk away is a new commercial district that is growing around the Edna Mall on Cameroon Street. The popular bar at the German Beer Garden Inn is also nearby and Bole Airport is less than 10 minutes away in light traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floors facing the back are quiet and have a pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdm120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Wassamar Hotel opened a couple of years ago on Bole Road...convenient to the airport and some good restaurants, it seems to focus on business travelers. My wife and I stayed only to nights before traveling south, but found the hotel a pleasant respite from the big, pricey hotels in the center of town that mainly cater to the expense-account & NGO crowd.
Located above the Bole Fantu grocery store, the hotel is very clean, reasonably well maintained, and surprisingly remote from the Bole noise factor. We had a room with a balcony on the sixth floor, and slept soundly both nights we were there. The rooms are compact and utilitarian by western standards, but entirely acceptable for Ethiopia. Our bathroom was spotless and there was plenty of hot water & clean linen.
We ate at the hotel restaurant both for breakfast & dinner and found the food better than adequate. The breakfast buffet was actually quite good, with a wide range of offerings from fresh omelets to meats, cereals and a variety of cakes. There is an outdoor terrace overlooking
Bole Road that makes a nice spot for coffee in good weather. For dinner, a group of five of us ate at the restaurant. Dishes ranging from steak and fish to vegetarian were very good...better than the Hilton.
The entire staff are friendly, efficient and well-trained...excellent english spoken by most if not all. There is an available airport shuttle that should help with getting in and out of the Bole congestion.
Perhaps the most remarkable thing about the Wassamar is the value. In the Addis world of grossly inflated prices (see...the Hilton, Sheraton, Jupiter,Radisson et al) the Wassamar was a very good value indeed.

Room Tip: Any room facing away from Bole is likely to be quieter...higher room especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We got chucked out of the Hilton so the delegates for the OAU 50th anniversary conference could stay there, but I actually preferred this place- smaller scale, not fancy but clean and with good service- they did some after hours laundry for me that the Hilton could not organise earlier for instance. Good wifi, hot water, nice enough restaurant with helpful staff, no security issues, a good shuttle service to the airport and half the price of the Hilton, what's not to like?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located on Bole Road, the site of much construction and road works. One has to walk up an uneven rubble path to enter the hotel, which is off putting. Once inside however, the staff are friendly and helpful. This is a good business hotel. Although rooms are small they contain a desk with cable and WiFi internet connection. Internet connection in lobby business centre was very poor. Comfortable beds with good quality linen, good quality towels and hair dryer. Breakfast is pretty basic but lunch and dinner menus are good. Represents good value and no complaints during my four days stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed for a week on a business trip. The hotel is a quite reasonable standard. Rooms are very clean and big enough. Wired and wireless internet are available and works as erratically as anywhere else in Ethiopia (not the hotels fault). The TV had multiple channels of sport, film and news including BBC.

The design of the hotel has several floors of rooms around a central atrium. The reception is on the second floor. If you enjoy a drink and are quite tall, the railings are a little low on the upper floors - so take care! There are two lifts which work well. The hotel also has backup power to cover the inevitable power failures.

When I checked in, I heard someone ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, so I did the same. I do not know if the front facing rooms are noisy.

I ate most nights in the restaurant. The food is perfectly OK and not expensive. Also, breakfast is acceptable. There is a buffet of cooked food, some fruit and a few cakes. They will make an omelette - the chef is there waiting for the orders.

The hotel is easy to find on the Bole road. It is only a few minutes from the airport, if the traffic is moving. There is a small super market next door and a bank with ATM.

Room Tip: Try the back if you like quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tias, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Response time from staff prior to booking was excellent, to a standard to which most Spanish hotels (where I live) can only aspire. Rooms are perfectly adequate for a one night stay. The restaurant is open 24 hours a day and, unlike the airport hotels near Barajas (Madrid), they serve breakfast at a sensible time (6am) so you can actually have breakfast before departing for your flight.

I had a superbly cooked Nile perch dish (the most expensive fish dish on their menu) and paid less than €7 including a soft drink - unbeatable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simmonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#22 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Washington Hotel
Washington Hotel
#34 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nexus Hotel
Nexus Hotel
#23 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nazra Hotel
Nazra Hotel
#25 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wassamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wassamar Hotel

Property: Wassamar Hotel
Address: Bole Road, Africa Avenue | in front of Japan Embassy, Addis Ababa 512, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wassamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wassamar welcomes you at the gate of Addis Ababa, 1.2 km from the airport with its attractive amenities and excellent service. Wassamar offers on-site indoor/outdoor restaurant with complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet, gym, sauna and steam room. For those interested in business, we offer small and large conference spaces with a capacity of 10 and 100 individuals. Both wired for internet access and sound systems and projectors. Come and see us, you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wassamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing