We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service”
Review of Wassamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wassamar Hotel
Ranked #28 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Whilst service may not have been of Western standards per se, I noticed that many of the staff were extremely friendly and I enjoyed my dinner in the restaurant and beers in the lounge. The room was on the small side but well-appointed and pretty clean. A bit low on excitement, but I quite enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This customer service manifested itself in two ways. First, I had to keep changing the day of my stay (I was in transit between Malawi and Germany) and the Wassamar staff always responded rapidly, in a time which would put many hotels in Europe to shame.

Although there was nobody to meet me, I was not too surprised, given the 6.5 hour delay on my flight (I arrived gone 3am into ADD). However, what I found to be the epitome of customer service was when I ordered coffee at 5 in the morning. I suggested to the receptionist that she include this coffee in my bill , as I had no Birr with me. However, she forgot to do this and instead suggested that my very early morning coffee should just be treated as part of my breakfast.

This is precisely the kind of small kindness which many service providers could learn to follow.

I have not ticked sleep quality, as I only had four hours between departure and arrival, but there was no noise either from within the hotel or outside.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simmonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed only for 2 nights here. After staying here i regretted why I hadn't booked my entire stay here. The wi-fi worked very well (which was such a pain in my previous hotel in Addis). They have a nice bar and a wonderful business center with 4 desk top computers with free internet.

The rooms are very neat & clean with all modern facilities. The bathroom though is a tad bit small but everything works in there.
The breakfast is okay,there is scope for improvement.

My room was on the 8th floor with a lovely view of the city. It was not facing the main road which was under construction. One has to go up & down thru the debris of the under construction road to go through the main entry. So if you have problems in your knees so this one could be a problem for you till the time the road constructions is going on,it is scheduled to end in the 1st week of Dec. Although, there is a back door entry as well,but for that you have to follow a completely different route.

In my previous hotel in Addis,I could not sleep as there were street dogs barking all night. Here it was pin drop silence even throughout the day.

In the walking distance are some good shops,cafes & bars. Esp Kaldi's Coffe which serves good Ethiopian coffee.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and if I ever come back to Addis again, there is no question on where i will stay....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aditya78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Located close to the airport the hotel is fine for a mid-level option. Large atrium with 8 floors of rooms. Wifi throughout along with a gym and sauna on the property. Rooms are clean if somewhat small. Food in the restaurant is generally to be avoided. Staff very attentive and are there to assist when necessary. Other than the high-end options in Addis this is a fine choice. Hotel does not exchange currency although there is an exchange rate sign on the front counter. You must go downstairs to the left to the bank. There is also a grocery store next door that carries quite a few items.

Tip: Avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel and main street as the noise is quite noticeable - despite what the front desk says!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank DRNJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Enjoyed only one night here and found the room clean and the bath above my expectation.
The bed was super comfortable and the towels and added amenities in the bath were a treat.

Our room was on the top (8th) floor, so there wan't any noise disturbance from the street our room faced.

The hotel entrance is over a wooden plank bridge, so the area was muddy and under construction, but not enough to bother us.

Staff was super helpful! They provided an extra room key as we had separate agendas for the evening.

The breakfast staff was super helpful and provided additional coffee service upon request. An "egg-to-order" service was being set up as we were departing for our flight.

Room Tip: Facing the main road may be a problem on lower floors. It wasn't on the 8th floor, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was on a business trip to Addis and stayed at Wassamar for about 4 days. The stay was not bad. There was no AC or fan in the room...and actually you dont need it at all. I have been told that temperature in Addis is quite steady between 21 to 25 degrees C.

Breakfast was average... but I loved the omlet bar... they can prepare a perfect one exactly how you want it... you just need to be specific of what kind of egg you want.

Location wise, very nearby to airport. Hardly 3-4 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVBANGERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have stayed here on business twice. Both times have been good. Clean room, great shower, friendly staff and convienient location.

i only manage to eat breakfast here which is nice. The hotel is in town so its location is very convienient.

so far so good. Mohammed at the reception was very helpful especially with organizing a fantastic Taxi service for me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
279 reviews
3.9 mi away
Haimi Apartment Hotel
Haimi Apartment Hotel
#16 of 124 in Addis Ababa
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 124 in Addis Ababa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tizeze Hotel
Tizeze Hotel
#19 of 124 in Addis Ababa
135 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#23 of 124 in Addis Ababa
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wassamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wassamar Hotel

Address: Bole Road, Africa Avenue | in front of Japan Embassy, Addis Ababa 512, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $105 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wassamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wassamar welcomes you at the gate of Addis Ababa, 1.2 km from the airport with its attractive amenities and excellent service. Wassamar offers on-site indoor/outdoor restaurant with complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet, gym, sauna and steam room. For those interested in business, we offer small and large conference spaces with a capacity of 10 and 100 individuals. Both wired for internet access and sound systems and projectors. Come and see us, you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wassamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing