We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
16
50
24
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
50
24
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbole roadbig supermarkethigh stepreliable wifithe hotel is conveniently locatedbusiness triphotel restaurantaddis standardsethiopian dishesrooms are cleaneach morningedna mallexcellent hotelsaunaairportsummithairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 96 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have stayed here on business twice. Both times have been good. Clean room, great shower, friendly staff and convienient location.

i only manage to eat breakfast here which is nice. The hotel is in town so its location is very convienient.

so far so good. Mohammed at the reception was very helpful especially with organizing a fantastic Taxi service for me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in Bole area, in a walking distance of various restaurants and galleries.The rooms are spacious, even if you work and need to stay for a longer period. On the 7th floor, they also have suites with a separate bedroom.

During my stay, everything worked perfectly, including the bathroom, hot water was hot and it was plenty. Cleaning was excellent and laundry service worked well. For a business traveller, printing was organised at the reception. The staff was always very discreet and friendly.

The breakfast was quite a typical continental breakfast; it was copious enough to find something different every morning. Lunch and dinner were OK, nothing special. Comparing with the room prices in other hotels, Wassamar gives certainly the best value for the price.

My Finnish friends praised the sauna - it should be the best in the town.

Room Tip: In the rooms facing Bole Road you certainly cannot have your balcony door open; it's noisy and dusty.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saivayrynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here for 12 nights whilst working in Addis.

This is not quiet a western standard hotel but almost. It is very clean. The staff are delightful and this is what makes it a nice place to be. It is small enough for them to get to know you a bit and for example they learnt that I liked my tea made with boiling not warm water and this was always done for me, without any problem. The bed was comfortable and the room and en suite completely adequate with a good shower. Hot water was reliable. I would stay here again.

There is a useful small but well equipped gym.

Also very helpful is that the hotel is on top of a small supermarket, and next door to a bank. There are a couple of good restaurants within walking distance, and there is a great (and very cheap by UK standards) spa across the road - Boston Day Spa.

Where there is room for improvement is in the food in the restaurant. It is cheap but pretty basic. The worst meal I had was a curry where the meat was mostly gristle. The soup was edible but not good - a chick pea soup more stock than anything with just the odd chick pea in it. I noticed that other guests stuck mostly to the hamburger and chips type menus and it may be that these are a better choice.

Breakfast is fine but limited. Fabulous fruit: paw paw and melon on most days with mango often there. The porridge was edible and they cooked a good omelette. The rest of the cooked breakfast looked highly suspect to me although my colleague ate them and pronounced them good.

They sell wine by the glass- one type only and ran out on a Tuesday. Despite the fact the the supermarket under the hotel sold exactly that brand, and that the supermarket (I was told) is owned by the same company, it did not help in the procurement process: it took until the Saturday for them to get more red wine because 'the buyer was away'.

Finally it is worth noting that this hotel is on a very busy road and my room was over-looking the road which made it very noisy. There are rooms on the other side of the hotel which would be much quieter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face out on to the front and the main road.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I spend 6 days here on a business trip. Took a suite for $150 as opposed to the $120 for a single room.

The rooms are fine, fairly quiet and with plenty of space, including a fridge and a safe. The furniture functional rather than anything special. The gym is excellent by Addis standards with plenty of machines which are reasonably up to date. My one meal in the resturant did not inspire another try.

The area is fine with several shops, bars and resturants within walking distance.

The staff were sometimes helpful but certainly did not go out of their way to provide information that may be not a usual request.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank west1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Still making the transition from a socialist economy, Ethiopia now has a growing number of privately-operated hotels and guest houses. Compared with the old state-operated enterprises (such as the old Ghion Hotel, which has some of the best gardens in the city, by the way) these new establishments are very entrepreneurial, which has both positive and negative aspects.

The Wassamar is a good example of this, being a new building wedged into a tiny space along a very busy road (Bole Rd, also known as Africa Ave.) and built over a supermarket (really just a largish grocery store); the entrance is so close to another hotel (KZ Hotel) that you need to look twice before entering to make sure where you are. Since there isn't room for a lobby on the ground floor, it is two floors up, and designed around an attractive atrium. A lot is packed into a small space: several computers with free Internet form the "business center" on one edge of the lobby, whose other edges are the entrance to a well-equipped fitness center, a bar, the entrance to the restaurant, the reception desk, and the elevators (lifts).

Most of the floors have (free) WiFi, but I found the connection unreliable, and used my own cable to connect to the provided Ethernet outlet. When the power goes off (frequently) a generator takes over, but the routers need to reset and interruptions are common.

I was initially given a single room which was tiny, had a door which did not close completely, and was located over a very noisy street. I was then offered a suite, which was quite a bit larger and the additional price seemed a reasonable deal (more on that later). The furnishings are well below international standard: somewhat clunky furniture with chipped corners or veneer comping apart, a badly located water heater in the bathroom whose power cable hangs just over the toilet, plumbing fittings which are a knock-off of name brands but poorly-fitting; and a high step just inside the bathroom entrance which seems a safety hazard. (Possibly there because the bathtub is too deep to fit into the floor otherwise? Not sure...); very dim lighting and a very noisy exhaust fan. The bed was reasonably comfortable and an oldish TV is in each room (living area as well as bedroom).

The cleaning staff are friendly and thorough,and laundry service is fast and inexpensive, quite unusual for hotel service. The minibar in the room has a basic selection (bottled water, soft drinks, local beer) and prices again were very reasonable. There is no A/C, but since Addis is seldom very hot this is not a big problem. There is no swimming pool, and indeed no outdoor area apart from a terrace adjoining the restaurant, which is right above the noisy road.

Prices in the restaurant are also inexpensive, though quality and presentation are iffy. Only a couple of Ethiopian dishes are on the menu (spicy portions of meat - "tibs" - in spicy berbera sauce, served with injera); after overcooked pasta and a soggy main dish salad, I stuck to the local dishes. At breakfast (included in the price) there is a counter in the dining area with a cook preparing eggs and waffles, but unfortunately no exhaust fan. Selection of breads and rolls was poor, but sliced fruit was excellent (especially papaya). Other breakfast items on offer I found completely unappetizing (rice with corn, boiled eggs fried in a crust, sausages of dubious color). A couple of blocks away is a Kaldi coffee shop (with a knock-off of the green Starbucks logo) which serves vastly better coffee and even freshly-made pancakes, which were far more appealing.

At the time I made the reservation I was told I was being offered a special corporate discount rate of $95 ($160 for a suite). At check-out I learned that this is in fact the "rack rate" and there is no such corporate discount. The credit card reader was out of service, and this caused another issue with the desk staff having to manually process a payment sheet (backed by a photocopy of my passport). The free shuttle to the airport is a useful service, but the 20-seat bus seemed a waste for a single passenger.

As the local market matures one can expect a shakeout and some realignment of pricing; a Novotel is under construction along the same road, which could offer stiff competition at the middle of the international market, while the new Radisson is said to be giving the Sheraton a real challenge at the upper end; the old Hilton has been allowed to deteriorate, though a renovation is promised "any day now." The state-owned Ghion has unique grounds but lags under bureaucratic management and quirky furnishings similar to the Wassamar. The Wassamar seems to be thriving due to over-priced alternatives, but I doubt that it can continue to be competitive as better-furnished and maintained hotels appear in a similar price range.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews