We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
16
50
24
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
50
24
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbole roadbig supermarkethigh stepreliable wifithe hotel is conveniently locatedbusiness triphotel restaurantaddis standardsethiopian dishesrooms are cleaneach morningedna mallexcellent hotelsaunaairportsummithairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 96 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2012

As many others have said, ever helpful and courteous staff. Facilities pretty good on the whole. Gym equipment worked and plenty of it. Restaurant had a reasonable selection of cosmopolitan recipes. Good bed. But loads of bits chipped or not working right. But this seems to be the norm in Ethiopia. I'd stay again if I return to Addis. Went out of town for a couple of nights and the place there was a bit dearer and no better. Best ask for a room at the back, no view but quieter. Wifi just about reaches most rooms. There is a wired connection but it only worked in one of three rooms I used...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BargaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Wassamar hotel located in a place close to every thing you need, good rooms, good WIFI internet, room service also good but limited to 9pm (maybe 10pm not sure). comfortable beds. It good place for business travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Resat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent two nights at the Wassamar at the end of January - during the African Union Summit. That being said, the rooms were very overpriced. However, when I asked them what their "usual" rates were, they were VERY competitive and reasonable.

We spent a couple of nights previously at the KZ hotel - which is right next door to the Wassamar - and the Wassamar just blows it away on almost every level. The lobby at the Wassamar is unlike a lobby you will find at almost any hotel in Addis. It's very "Western", in that it is all open up to the 8th floor. The staff was nice enough to put us on the 8th floor each night, and it was almost like we had the whole floor to itself.

You should definitely request the 8th floor when you visit.

The wireless internet was great - very fast and a router on each floor so there was no chance of not having a strong connection.

All in all, the finish at the hotel in the rooms, lobby, restaurant, etc. was very good for an Addis hotel (that is not the Sheraton, ha). The gym was almost as good as a gym you'd pay for monthly in the States, too.

Room Tip: Ask for the 8th floor. It is the quietest and most secluded.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EconometricsTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here on the two nights leading up to the Ehtiopan Christmas. It was consequently quite quiet. Compared to reviews below we found the Hotel was a brilliant end to two weeks hard travelling. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Breakfasts had a good range of food and cooked personalised and good ommelettes for us. Internet service on their computers was good and fast and free. Yes the bathroom floor design was not brilliant - but heavens, to complain that one had to walk up 10 steps to the lift is being ridiculously petty! There were two staff in contstant door duty for the aged and decrepit!
We were treated to a free and delightful 'cocktail' on their Christmas Eve, which turned out to be a full buffet meal. As we were taking a late night flight, thye gave us our room to 6pm and tehn a free taxi. Lots of shops nearby and several good restaurants - if one was adventurous enough to actually walk out the door and not feel the need to use taxis all the time.
Our first choice to return to,=.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have good view of hills to the east and are quiet. 1st floor beds open onto a large collecttive terrace.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ostaigperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at the Wassamar Hotel in June. I’ve tried to be as detailed as possible in my review.

Positives:

1) Location – The hotel is in the heart of the Bole area giving easy access to the restaurants, shops, movies, and other local attractions.

2) Internet – The hotel provided a wired internet port for the room and wireless internet in the Lobby/Restaurant area. When working, the connection was great.

3) Restaurant – The food is decent, though you could find better and cheaper option in the surrounding area. There is also a Breakfast Bar you can help yourself to early in the morning, but it goes fast so be there extra early. The restaurant has an outside balcony where you can get a great view while eating.

4) Fitness Room – The exercise room is very nice and has a steam room and sauna available.

5) Generator – Did not have to worry about electricity issues as the hotel had a generator.

6) Room Service is available in the hotel rooms and service is prompt. Customer service in general was great at Wassamar.

7) Airport Shuttle service available. I’d say it’s free, but tips are likely expected.

8) Credit Cards are accepted.

9) Small Bar in the lobby area provides decent (though a bit pricey) drinks.

10) Laundry and Dry cleaning services available in the hotel (for a price).

11) Telephone in the hotel room.

12) Security at the front with metal detectors protect against unauthorized entry. (Though I was a bit embarrassed when my friends where searched and has their bags checked when they’d come to visit me.)

13) Beautiful city views from upper floors.

14) Taxis are easy to obtain due to the hotel’s location on the main Bole road.

Negatives:

1) The Price! The Price! The Price! I do not understand why this hotel charges so much. Perhaps it is meant to cater to business travelers only (as most of the people I saw in the hotel were in Addis on some type of business). I enjoyed this hotel, but the truth is you can find a much better deal elsewhere.

2) No Wi-Fi in the hotel room. I prefer using my mobile devices for internet (laptop, tablet, iPhone, etc...) and having the freedom to walk around the hotel room as I do it. For the price paid I would expect to have Wi-Fi in the room as this is a service provided by numerous hotels in the area that charge a much lower room rate.

3) Internet Connection drops often or is completely unavailable. This is a common issue in Addis Ababa, so I don’t blame the Hotel for this, and too their credit they will promptly look into the issue if you call the front desk and let you know whether it is in their power to fix or not. When the connection is restored they also follow-up with you to make sure you are able to connect.

4) No usable balcony. This was really sad. From the upper floors you get an excellent view of the city, but the balcony is so tiny you cannot really enjoy it. When I saw tiny, I mean you could not even fit a chair on it; you just get enough room for one person to stand and look, that’s it. Really disappointing.

5) Unattractive entrance. You might accidently walk into KZ Hotel the first time you are looking for the entrance to this Hotel. It is a very small entrance with the Hotel lobby being upstairs (or up the elevator). This also means that the hotel has no outside grounds for you to relax in, no nature or garden areas.

6) There is no Barber shop or Salon in the hotel. However, due to the hotel’s location, you are walking distance to some.

7) Very plain looking room. I stayed in a suite and for the price I was expecting to be impressed by the look of the room. The furniture looked very cheap, the decoration was lackluster, the mattress was not very comfortable, and the “balcony” doesn’t really deserve to be called one. In the end, the look and feel of the room is nothing special (but at least it’s clean and insect-free).

8) The sauna and steam room are not always accessible to you as they have only one of each. As such, they alternate the access between men and women. For example, if men have the steam room on Monday then women will have the sauna on Monday. So, you will have to find out the schedule in order to see when the service is available to you. Other similarly priced hotels (and some lower priced) have dedicated saunas and steam rooms so they are always accessible to you; not the case at Wassamar.

9) Consequence of Location - I know, I listed Location as a positive above and indeed the hotel is located in a great location on Bole road. However, because of the great location you’ll find that you do not spend much time at all in the Hotel unless you are sleeping. You’ll be out shopping, at the movies, at a restaurant, at a night club, or out doing something to enjoy the area. So, if the hotel is justifying some of its high price with the amenities it offers inside the hotel, you might want to consider if you really want to pay extra for things that you will not be in the hotel using. Just a thought.

10) Potentially Dangerous Bathroom. There is a raised step in the suite bathroom that you should be aware of. Take care not to trip and fall.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel in an excellent location. The price is a bit steep and you can get better value for your money checking out the surrounding hotels and guest houses. However, if price is not an issue and the negatives listed above are not major concerns, I’d recommend Wassamar. Quiet, Clean, Safe, with great Customer Service.

Room Tip: Suites are on the Higher Floors and have great views. Be sure to specify which side of the building you'd like to be on to determine what view you'll have. Make your reservation in advance to ensure you have the room you want.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kokeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews