We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
16
50
24
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
50
24
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbole roadbig supermarkethigh stepreliable wifithe hotel is conveniently locatedbusiness triphotel restaurantaddis standardsethiopian dishesrooms are cleaneach morningedna mallexcellent hotelsaunaairportsummithairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 96 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Normally stay in the centre of town but no availability so ended up here. Nice location (IF you don't want to be in the centre of town) with a little bit of everything you need (restaurant, shops) within close walking distance. My room was small and a little tired but adequate. It was also on the 5th floor so surprisingly little noise from busy Bole road. The bathroom was small and had a partially raised floor with a quarter of the area at room level for the door. Nearly fell twice and did sprain a toe. The internet was hopeless but you don't go to Ethiopia for fast internet connections. Gym was nice with a great view. Breakfast adequate. The one Ethiopian meal had during my 4 night stay was very nice. Staff friendly and helpful as is almost the rule in Ethiopia.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi_Ronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

It's a clean, decent hotel, very close to the airport, and within easy walking distance of a number of restaurants and shops - including a supermarket underneath. However, it's about 5km from the centre - and you might find you spend a fair time travelling to where you want to be (especially at rush hours).

Staff are friendly and helpful, and service is generally good. The food's OK - but there can be a bit of a scramble at breakfast. There's a pleasant terrace to sit out on.

When I was there, the internet service was erratic - but I think this was beyond the control of the hotel. The desk (too high) / chair (too low) combination in the room is not great if you plan to spend a lot of time on the computer, and you might want to move a bedside lamp to the desk so that you can see to work.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filthyfetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

i will begin my review with the positive aspects of the hotel which are the friendliness of its staff, in bole street, 10 minutes from the airport and is next to a big supermarket and to a taxi parking. But the price of the room 95$ is expensive compared to similar hotels with better service in addis ababa. There is no dry cleaning or massage and both matter to me when i travel. Internet is bad and wireless nonexistant eventhough there is a network which does not work ( docket of internet connection was out of its socket!) and there was no fridge in the room. The reception is on 2 nd floor so actually someone takes your bags when you arrive and carry them on the stairs ( 10 stairs approximately- not too much but stupid design) until u get to lift who is not at gound level and then go to reception on the 2 nd floor. The door of my bathroom did not close and there was no carpets in my room and it can get chilly at night in addis ( i went end of october) and the room was not airconditioned and i couldnt  adjust temparature when it gets chilly at night. The business center has no printer directly linked to its computer when you print it prints into the printer of the reception on a network and they had to restart printer each time i had to print so that printer can see the computer at the business center across the hall. I hope others will provide other reviews on the hotel maybe to complete my view but frankly these were the problems i encountered at the wassamar hotel and i hope that its management will solve those problems because this hotel has potential to be much better. 

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamsha1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I spent a week at the Wassamar in September 2011. Good location on Bole Road, Very close to the airport. The hotel is close to restaurants, bars, and shops on Bole Road including the Limetree--a great small cafe with wifi service. Nice area to explore but not down town. Good if you just want to work from this location. Inside the hotel the open reservation and bar area that is open to the roof is attractive and impressive. But the rooms are small and a bit cramped. Business centre average. But next time I'm going to stay at the Taitu and explore the Piassa!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majanga_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Wassamar hotel in late 2010 for 3 weeks. The rooms were comfortable, and the hard floors clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and I enjoyed the restaurant a few nights a week.
They offer a variety of hot and cold food for breakfast and the internet speed was OK. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank modernangelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews