We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food!”
Review of Axum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Axum Hotel
Ranked #137 of 241 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Shire, Ethiopia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Clean hotel, with lovely staff. Prices are very good when you have Ethiopian residency.
Free airport shuttle is provided on request and the shuttle arrives on a time
They serve the best fried dhal and chapattis in their restaurant. I stayed there when there were 2 wedding parties going on but they finished at a reasonable time and the noise didn't enter the room. The location is very nice with a lot of shopping facilities nearby and the airport is not far.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
3
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms are clean - just what you would expect for a hotel of its size. I found the price a little to expensive for the value it offers. The staff are friendly, especially those who work at the bar in the lobby. I was with friends who coupled up to share twin bed rooms and they had nice rooms; I had to get a single room on my own, but a bit disappointed that the room they gave me was on the corner (ends with *02) - hence, the WiFi was almost non-existent. I had to go near the door to get some signal (so a tip would be to check the room first before you take it - I myself didn't bother as I was only there for a night anyway. Given that I checked in really late 11pm, they should have given me one of the good rooms (mine had no balcony and bathtub whereas my friends' has even though we paid the same price) - and I'm pretty sure they weren't fully booked anyway. THe reception isn't knowledgeable enough when I asked for directions to museums. They were nice though, it seemed that they just genuinely didn't know - which is not something you would expect in a hotel reception. The breakfast was really disappointing too. Aside from that, everything else was okay. . I was impressed though with the room service - the food was not the best but surpassed my expectations. Overall, it is not too bad. Would I come back? I'll probably try another hotel but if I couldn't find any, I wouldn't mind staying here again - except that next time I would make sure I check the room first.

Room Tip: The ones in the corner has weak WiFi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

this was a clean and very comfortable place to stay- about 10 minutes from the airport and central to most amenities. The staff went out of their way to make me comfortable- I arrived from the airport at 8 am and they rushed to get a room ready for me. Once there, I had trouble with the internet connection and again then went above and beyond to try and accommodate me, going as far as letting me use a personal computer to check for some important emails. I would highly recommend this hotel based on the extremely attentive staff.

Room Tip: top floor is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel many times and the staff are generally very helpful. The gym is a real bonus with excellent facilities for Ethiopia and very helpful assistants. Meals and service are generally very good, but transport to and from the airport is unreliable. Paying by debit or credit card was often difficult due to system failure. Internet was usually slow and sometimes impossible (but there are good internet cafes close by).
You can get a great view of the city from the roof!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our family of five stayed at the Axum not once, but twice, during our extended travels through Ethiopia. We were absolutely delighted by both the hotel and the way in which the staff extended themselves to be helpful. This is truly an international hotel and a real mix of ferengis and locals.
There is a wood paneled, clubby bar in the lobby where guests foregather to have a beer and watch soccer matches, the BBC or Ethiopian music videos. A small kiosk stocks shampoo, toothpaste and sundries, including candy displayed just a child's eye level. While simple, our rooms were always clean ( we saw no sign of bugs as per a previous review). We had hot water and about 10 television channels with good reception. Our rooms always included the breakfast buffet and a free shuttle to the airport ( leaving at 4:30 in the morning the first time) So handy and simple in a city where logistics can be challenging and negotiations endless. The restaurant is only fair, but right down the street there are other choices, including the excellent Sichuan Restaurant on the 6th floor of the WAF building on Haile Gebbreselassie Street ( that is the address printed on the card, phone # 251 0911 603926) Hang a right whilst leaving the Axum and it is a five minute walk, just keep looking up as it's on the 6th floor, although their sign is red neon.

No it's not the Sheraton- but you could stay here for a week for the price of a Sheraton night. Easily our favorite hotel in Addis and we have tried a few. An added plus is that it's really close to the airport, but a short taxi ride from the center of town.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are on a biggish street, but the dog barking seems ubiquitous in Addis. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EHFWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel 4 times in past year. Good location, decent price, buffet breakfast, exceptionally helpful staff, locals bar, free internet - what more do you need.Rooms at the front - road side - can be a bit noisy if you need a lie-in but it does'nt worry me - and plenty of coffee shops in the neighbourhood

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrimprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at Axum Hotel in June.


Negatives:

1) The place is infested! There are insects everywhere)! Don't even think about turning the lights out or you have just sent an open invitation. To minimize the bugs you have to leave all the lights on constantly and spray repellant everywhere. Even then you won't get a comfortable night’s sleep, because you will have to keep an eye out for what might be crawling on you. I have stayed at many places in Ethiopia and have seen the occasional bug or insect, but this is the first place I have been where the infestation makes the place unlivable.

2) The rooms themselves were very plain, somewhat dirty, and unimpressive; paint peeling, dirt in corners and bathtub, ugly view from windows, not all light switches working.

3) Reservation was not honored when I first arrived at the Hotel (a very serious matter as I was coming from overseas). They did offer us a different room, but it was tiny compared to the suite I had reserved (and included all the issues I mentioned previously).

4) After staying in the room you will not feel comfortable eating at the in-hotel restaurant (as the kitchen might be infested too).

5) Unreliable internet (though to be fair this is an issue everywhere).


Positives:

1) There is a nice Souvenir Shop in the hotel

2) Good Bar in the reception area (For drinks only! I would not order food for the infestation reasons mentioned above).

3) There is a Men’s Barber in the Hotel

4) Fitness room in the Hotel with enough equipment to get the job done.

5) Refridgerator in the room.


The most disappointing thing about the Hotel was how atrocious the rooms are; the outside of the Hotel and the walkways inside are beautiful. I hope that the Hotel management read this review and begin to regularly use an insecticide in the hotel, institute a higher standard of cleaning for their rooms, honor their overseas reservations, and review their prices to insure they are providing value for the prices posted.


Personally, I will never stay here again and cannot at this time recommend that anyone else stay here either.

Room Tip: Find a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kokeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
3.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 118 in Addis Ababa
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 118 in Addis Ababa
133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#62 of 118 in Addis Ababa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 118 in Addis Ababa
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axum Hotel

Property: Axum Hotel
Address: Haile Gebreselassie Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 241 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Axum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Jovago.com so you can book your Axum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing