We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Large rooms, great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Afro Land Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afro Land Lodge
Ranked #13 of 178 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large rooms, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Really nice hotel at a good location in Addis. The manager and reception girls are very friendly and willing to help you! Shuttle from airport is included. Rooms are very large and look like studio's complete with kitchen. Price/quality is really good. Breakfast is good as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mvdven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    19
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
22
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The room was reasonably priced and was more or less a suite that consisted of a lounge room with TV and sofas and a small kitchenette; an en suite bathroom; and a separate bedroom.

Assefa, the manager, kindly picked me up at the airport; allowed me to check in and take a shower about 9:00 a.m.; arranged a brief taxi tour of Addis; and helped me sort out things with Ethiopian Airlines by phone. He also arranged a complimentary airport shuttle early the next morning.

On my request, he allowed me to stay in the comfortable lobby of the hotel during a 14 hour layover a week after my stay, rather than sit in the airport all day long. He also kindly gave me a ride to the airport for my departing flight at the end of my stay in Ethiopia.

His staff was also very helpful, recommending restaurants and banks, and sharing an adapter and the password to the wifi connection, even though I was not technically a guest at that point.

I highly recommend this hotel because of its cleanliness, the large rooms, the reasonable rates, and, above all, because of the manager and the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in Sept 2012 for five days. The hotel was the best we have stayed in. We have adopted twice from Ethiopia so we have been there many times. The staff were very friendly, and the manager was also very understanding. The breakfast was very good (recommend the pancakes) The services the hotel provide made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerryseoul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Afroland a number of times over the last year and really enjoyed our time there.

The rooms are large and clean, great for families as they have a small kitchenette and living room. Really good breakfast brought to your room and the staff are really welcoming, helpful and friendly.

The area (Bole Road) is great - lots of good coffee shops and restaurants and you can get food sent in if you like. They also sell beer and water in the hotel which is convenient.

We found reserving rooms easy via email and the airport pick ups and drop offs were great.

Overall, a really good place to stay and enjoy your time in Addis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Afro Land Lodge. We had a King apartment room that was spacious and comfortable.

The breakfast was great, the staff very attentive.

The only downside was that the construction on Bole Road made traffic horrendous, and it took a really long time to go any where by car.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacificatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Afro Land Lodge for the first of two trips for an international adoption. The staff always went above and beyond to make our stay great. Our King room was very spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful...especially the coffee! The only complaints would be that we sometimes had trouble with the water pressure in the shower and the internet was sometimes hard to get a signal. Otherwise, we would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Addis Ababa...in fact we had it highly recommended to us!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Afro Land Lodge very much. The staff was gracious and very helpful, the rooms were beautiful and clean, and the location was very convenient. I highly recommend the Afro Land Lodge - and give three cheers to the wonderful employees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.7 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#5 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#9 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afro Land Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afro Land Lodge

Property: Afro Land Lodge
Address: Gabon Road | Bole, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Afro Land Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afro Land Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing