We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Afro Land Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$183
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Hotel(Addis Ababa)
$143
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Addissinia Hotel(Addis Ababa)
$89
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ag Palace Hotel(Addis Ababa)(Great Value!)
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$454
$325
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$62
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caravan Hotel(Addis Ababa)
$54
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siyonat Hotel(Addis Ababa)
$115
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lobelia(Addis Ababa)
$59
$43
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
79
20
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
20
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to stayhot waterliving roomlaundry servicefeel at homeaddisinternetguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 106 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was at the Dreamliner before I came here, which was soulless experience. Rooms at Afro Land Lodge had a much warmer feel, with a living room space (two comfy chairs and TV) and even a kitchen! Staff were fantastic, very friendly and trusting - I left my work laptop at the hotel for a week whilst I went on a holiday, along with a tonne of other stuff, and it was all safe and sound when I came back. They even include a free airport pick up service...even at 2am!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeAmS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Definitely recommend Afroland lodge, breakfast delivered to your room, great coffee!
Location is good, no problem walking to nearby attractions.
Rooms are clean, staff is friendly. There are good restaurants close by and fruit and vegetable markets handy as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylcoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge during our first trip to Addis Ababa as we continue our adoption journey. Quite simply everything at this lodge was fantastic. From our initial introduction to Aseffa who picked us and dropped us off at the airport as well as ensuring everything at the lodge was meeting our expectations to the ladies on the front desk ensuring everything was going smoothly and again that our needs were met. The rooms are extremely clean, large open and airy. The bed was very comfortable as was the furniture. The Lodge has all of the amenities one would expect from any major hotel including free wi-fi and access to computers in the lobby . The location was excellent you have quick access, within walking distance, to pharmacies, grocery stores and banks. We were mere minutes from the airport, courthouse and markets, none were more than a 15-20 min drive. The staff are genuine, friendly, helpful and polite. You will enjoy the continental breakfast, the coffee is a must have. No question or query went unanswered and their recommendations were fantastic. We were interested in seeing the city and the hotel has a driver they recommend. He was a pleasure to be with, knowledgeable about the city and the markets. If you want to do some shopping you will want him with you. I would have no hesitation recomending the Afro Land Lodge as a place to stay. We are looking forward to going back to bring home our daughter and we will be staying at the Afro Land Lodge again.

Room Tip: Addis is at a high elevation so you will want to request a room on the first floor if you have any health issues, asthma etc. The climb up the stairs, espcially to the third and fourth floors can be taxing.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a fantastic experience at this guest lodge! After being out all day in the city, it was great being able to come back to such a comfortable and homelike atmosphere. I am very picky with hotels about cleanliness, and the lodge was very clean. The breakfast every morning coming to your room was a great way to wake up in the morning, and the french toast and coffee were our favorites. The guards and the staff are wonderfully helpful, and the area felt very safe. We were able to go out everyday on our own and walk to local stores and restaurants. The surrounding restaurants are very good! The free wi-fi worked perfectly, and we were able to use Skype without a problem. The terrace on the rooftop had an amazing view and was a great place to go and get some fresh air. We had the opportunity to view all of the rooms, and every single one is great. We stayed in the standard suite, which comes with the beautiful windows in the bedroom area. We are going back to Addis in a couple of months to pick up our son through adoption, and will without a doubt, be staying here again. They are very adoption friendly, and there were other families there at the same time going through the adoption process as well.

Room Tip: There are only stairs, so make sure you request a room on the bottom 2 floors if you don't really want to deal with them.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Afro Land Lodge in early May. The accommodation was very spacious,clean and very well serviced. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing was too muich trouble. Another huge plus was the beds were really comfortable, and the location, although close to Bole area was very quiet. I would very happlily recommend this location to anyone travelling to Addis, and I hope to return at some point in the next year and wouldn't consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews