We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Clean and Comfortable”

Toronto Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toronto Guest House
Ranked #95 of 287 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and friendly! Made our stay comfortable and the rooms were very clean and comfortable too. Made some great friends while staying there. The highlight of our stay there was the staff! I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

At $40USD per night for a double ensuite room, this place is overpriced. The room was adequate - clean but small and very cold at night with no extra blankets.

The bed was fairly awful with a supersoft mattress that caused aches.

The bathroom always had hot water but the water pressure was very low.

Breakfast is included and is good although I wish there were some Ethiopian breakfast options. The staff are very helpful and will always try to understand and accommodate your questions and requests.

They have a contract taxi driver but he is still overpriced - I guess that's just Addis for you. The other caveat is that we checked in around 7am after an early morning flight and stayed two nights - however we were charged for 3 nights?? I thought this was excessive and a fee for checking in early (maybe 1/2 the cost of a room) would have been more reasonable.

Overall, I would not stay again. The staff were very nice but there's better value for money elsewhere. Also we felt the area was very unsafe at night with drunk men and hookers prowling the streets surrounding the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peculiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

i stay at toronto g h it was so lovely stof and guest house i love all i ll stay agen and agen i rcomendet for athers how look for nice coite area thans for stof mr khalid from kingdum of saudi arabia

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkhalidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed a night here as a couple. The room was kind of small but bath room was OK. Do not expect too much but actually a good place to stay. It is also safe to stay there.
Rooms are kind of old and worn but what counts is that you feel well.

Had breakfast in the morning which was OK as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkwetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a good value guest house with very friendly owners and staff who go out of their way to make you feel at home. Nice big bedrooms and bathrooms. The only thing lacking is internet connection which is very slow.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E2013D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

An excellent guesthouse. I have been in Ethiopia before, but this was my best stay untill now. Small, familiar and very friendly personnel. I would recomment it and would definitly try to book again on my next trip. Also the surrounding is very plesant. Its a lively neighbourhood. One tip: take your earplugs with you if you dont want to wake up at 5 in the morning for moringprayers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

After staying in the Addis Ghion off and on for two weeks, 1.5 nights in this place was refreshing. Firstly it's less expensive (and internet is included - by cable in the room, wifi in the lobby). Secondly, it's within walking distance of several restaurants. And more: The breakfast was very good - I had a vegetable omelet and avocado juice plus coffee made fresh on the espresso machine. The restaurant provides food 24 hours if you need it. The rooms were decent sized with a tv, chairs, desk. The bed wasn't very comfortable but there were blankets. The shower pressure wasn't great but there was very warm water. There is also a bath. The staff were very helpful - the manager (owner) even walked me around the corner to find the office where I was meeting. I was very happy that they let me keep my room for 1/2 price of another night because I had a late evening flight. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.9 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 124 in Addis Ababa
141 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
793 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 124 in Addis Ababa
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
442 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#11 of 124 in Addis Ababa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Guest House

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Toronto Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing