We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely guest house with spacious rooms”

Toronto Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toronto Guest House
Ranked #89 of 242 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely homely guest house with spacious rooms”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a good value guest house with very friendly owners and staff who go out of their way to make you feel at home. Nice big bedrooms and bathrooms. The only thing lacking is internet connection which is very slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E2013D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
4
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

An excellent guesthouse. I have been in Ethiopia before, but this was my best stay untill now. Small, familiar and very friendly personnel. I would recomment it and would definitly try to book again on my next trip. Also the surrounding is very plesant. Its a lively neighbourhood. One tip: take your earplugs with you if you dont want to wake up at 5 in the morning for moringprayers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

After staying in the Addis Ghion off and on for two weeks, 1.5 nights in this place was refreshing. Firstly it's less expensive (and internet is included - by cable in the room, wifi in the lobby). Secondly, it's within walking distance of several restaurants. And more: The breakfast was very good - I had a vegetable omelet and avocado juice plus coffee made fresh on the espresso machine. The restaurant provides food 24 hours if you need it. The rooms were decent sized with a tv, chairs, desk. The bed wasn't very comfortable but there were blankets. The shower pressure wasn't great but there was very warm water. There is also a bath. The staff were very helpful - the manager (owner) even walked me around the corner to find the office where I was meeting. I was very happy that they let me keep my room for 1/2 price of another night because I had a late evening flight. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed there twice, for 1 week and then 2 weeks. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the place is very clean, the price is affordable and the food served is of excellent quality. It's a perfect alternative to the usually impersonal bigger hotel. We wouldn't go anywhere else next tile we go to Addis.
If you need a driver/tour operator in Addis, you can contact Axum from Betsega Tour and travel at axumbto@yahoo.fr. Whether it be that you need a driver with good car for Addis or you want to visit the country, contact him, you will not be disappointed. He is honest, drives very well, very helpful and very knowledgeable.
Enjoy your trip to Ethiopia, it's a wonderful country!

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room, there are 2 very big ones in the guest house. Ask for one if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuzeyi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here for 3 months in 2011 and was very impressed by the personal attention to detail that 2 sisters (Owner and Manager) put into making everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are adequate with plug in internet, hot water including bath tub and laundry services.

Not only does the owner make time for her guests but she also has special farewell dinners for her long stay.

And the roof top has a nice open space with a gazebo with a good view of Addis.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors because you will get less noise from guests passing your room dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed with my 3 kids (17/19/23 yrs) for 3 nights in February and we have nothing but praise for the Toronto Guesthouse. The owner , her sister and staff could not have done more for us. The rooms and bathrooms are clean , beds comfortable , TV s have English channels and it was quiet as tucked away back from the main road. Breakfast including eggs cooked most ways , pancakes and toast with jam and fresh juices was good every morning , served in the sunny restaurant by the very friendly staff. They have good contacts to offer trustworthy taxi drivers who can take you around in safety. They took us to the traditional restaurant and dance show too , which is a great night out , and good value.This was our first visit to Ethiopia and the staff made us feel at home and safe , so we really enjoyed all that we did , knowing we would return to comfort and a good nights sleep. You could stay at another hotel , but you will not experience that bit extra you find at the Toronto. Stay and enjoy!! Robert living in Riyadh

Room Tip: We had a large twin and a small twin. large was huge and small was big!!! Others we saw seemed simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Toronto Guest House has a real family feel to it; the staff are very helpful, speak excellent English and nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel itself is very clean, has free wireless Internet and a good restaurant which good, reasonably priced food. Like a lot of the buildings in this part of the world the noise seems to carry throughout the hotel however the bed was comfortable so I still managed a good nights sleep.

The area around the hotel was safe and there was no problem with walkin out at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 118 in Addis Ababa
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#21 of 118 in Addis Ababa
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wudasie Castle Hotel
Wudasie Castle Hotel
#5 of 242 in Addis Ababa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Guest House

Property: Toronto Guest House
Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Toronto Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing