We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreamliner not ready for tourists”
Review of Dreamliner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreamliner Hotel
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Dreamliner not ready for tourists”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked two nights on the internet and prepaid it.Arrived at the hotel at about 10 am.The problems began right at check in.The prepayment was not found but"we can give you a room".
In the afternoon we came back to the reception to see a map.They do not have maps of Addis Ababa!!Later we asked about the weather for tomorrow and were told to go to find it out by ourselves in the internet.The consierge wasn't better.He did not know about the famous statue of Lion of Juda.The next morning our wake up call wasn't delivered.Nobody did appologize.The English is very poor and you are not sure if they realy understood what you want or just agree with you.
The hotel is perfectly clean and the lobby is very nice as well as the big room we received.The room did not have air conditioner!The hotel is situated right in the middle of a slum,thou quite close to the so called "center".Anyway,you must take a taxi just for the safe side.Taxis are painted white and blue and prices are negotiable on the spot.
The hotel has a very wide variety of menu choices and the food was quite good.One time they forget to add the crutones to the salad.
Internet is available in the bussines center(a small room) at a price for each 15 minutes.
The bill can be paid in local currency(birr) or in dollars or euro.The reception does not exchange money ,they will send you to a bank.
There is a bar on the eights floor called "Sky bar"(!!) We asked for capuccino and they had no ideea what we want.The bar woman even did not bother to find out what we want!
All together we experienced a deep disatisfaction with the service.The feeling was that they just don't care about anything.
The hotel has a desk at the airport and a shutel is arranged when you arrive.The hotel is not farther than 5 km.The same shutel is available at specific hours if you leave the hotel to the airport.We used it both times but when we left the hotel ,at about the middle of the course the driver received a call and turned back to collect another guest.Quite annoying.
We stayed at the hotel last week.
• Stayed August 2012

Room Tip: the view from all the windows is ugly .there is a school across the hotel and two mosques with loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kertesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    45
    12
    13
See reviews for
8
14
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I spent one week in this hotel. The hotel is approximately 10 minutes' drive from the airport and offers an airport pick up. Good taxi connections to the interesting sites in Addis. The rooms are very clean, the breakfast buffet is completely ok, and the staff is really friendly and helpful! So the price-service-ratio is good. There is a mosque near, so please just be sure to bring earplugs and you won't hear anything. All in all a definitely recommendable hotel which leaves a professional impression on the guest!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located & well connected to the rest of the city through taxies. Rest the rooms are clean,basic and no different than any other 3 star hotel in Addis.

'Zaika', the famous restaurant on board serves good Indian food with soothing ghazals, and this seriously appeared to be a blessing for Indians who'd like to stick to their authentic food habits. Their handi chicken, lamb biryani and indian desserts are worth mentioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prince_Parasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Ticks all of the 'meets requirements' boxes for the price, reasonable when compared to the higher priced chain hotels up the road. Really could do with addressing the noisy nights....as already mentioned the local religious centre belts out prayers at all hours......and the barking dogs later on don't help.
Having said that the staff are helpful and friendly and the Indian restaurant attached to the hotel takes away the need to search for a good curry

Room Tip: Back rooms get the 'call to prayer'...Front rooms get noisy music at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel is clean and the staff very friendly - the airport pick up is easy to locate and the vehicles are clean and in excellent safe condition. All the facilities listed were in use and in good working order. The gym is not much more than a few treadmills but it does overlook Addis which is quite pleasant. As mentioned the Indian restaurant is fantastic, the main hotel restaurant serves generic continental cuisine would have been nice to see more Ethiopian food on the menu. Location is convenient for short taxi to center of Addis.

Room Tip: The higher in the building the better, better views less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel itself is nothing exciting. Basic, clean rooms that have hot water and consistent internet, which meets my basic requirements. There's a mosque nearby that belts out call to prayer pretty regularly, so it's not that quiet of a hotel. I had to move rooms a couple times (my first room was next to the elevator shaft and thus noisy, my second room was under the sky bar so also noisy).

The included breakfast buffet isn't that great, but it's sufficient. The room service food is pretty average as well. The attached Indian restaurant on the ground floor, however, is excellent.

The gym is pretty mediocre, it has 1 working treadmill, a few machines, and no free-weights.

All in all, this hotel is nothing fancy, but it meets my criteria. The prices at the hotel change seasonally and during conferences and events, so check to see if you are getting the lowest rate.

Room Tip: When you get checked in, check that your room doesn't share a wall with the elevator shaft. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is one among the new sprouts in Addis Ababa being touted (mostly by the owner) as a fantastic establishment with no equal. The truth could not be further from the truth. If you manage to squeeze your car into the little space in front and check in, you'll see a very average room with some hidden surprises. Our room had a state of the art tub with steam and stereo functions and all kinds of bells and whistles. But guess what, the plumbing is so bad that at night you are slapped in the face by the severe stench of sewage gas backing up from all the outlets: sink, tub, drain-holes, you name it. After you heroically tape up your nose and go back to sleep, you'll have to deal with the multitude of local night bars along the street pounding away some acquired-taste type of music. Neighborhood is too hectic for a hotel this class. Now I've made it to sunrise, when at 7am I get a call from the front desk demanding payment for a bottle of water from last evening because "they're settling billls"! What?! Now?! I have them send someone up to let them know I've never seen such hare-brained practice in any of the hotels I've stayed at, and there have been plenty of those. After some lame excuses he left with apologies. On the positive side, I wasn't one of those who had their room numbers written on their clothes with permanent marker just so the laundry people could keep track of them! Unbelievable! Breakfast dries up fast because there's no humidity, but that's not their fault. All in all, not recommended unless you lower your expectations before you even get there.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street. Other side not guaranteed to be peaceful either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexn216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dreamliner Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
At the outset, may i kindly say thank you for your time to give us your feedback as it helps us to really look into upgrading our service standards. we hope that in your next visit things will be much more better than this and we surely meet your expectations.

Thank you and best regards,
Getachew gobeze
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lion's Den Hotel
The Lion's Den Hotel
#23 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
#40 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Damu Hotel
Damu Hotel
#87 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nazra Hotel
Nazra Hotel
#27 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamliner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamliner Hotel

Property: Dreamliner Hotel
Address: Gabon Street | Meskel Flower Area, Addis Ababa 31349, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreamliner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered as one of the leading four-star hotels in Addis Ababa, Dreamliner Hotel is recognized for its high standards in facilitating grandiose accommodation, dining services, and other amenities. The hotel features 96 extra-comfortable Rooms, three Restaurants, two Bars, four conference halls which can accommodate30, 50 persons, 70 persons, and 300 persons, fitness center, business center, and two basement parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dreamliner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing