We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value alternative to Hilton or Sheraton”
Review of KZ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KZ Hotel
Ranked #74 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We arrived in Addis 2am on a Tuesday and were flying to Lalibela 7am on the Wednesday. 2 nights at the Hilton would have been too expensive so KZ was a great alternative. It's close to the airport, and they pick you up even in the middle of the night. The rooms are clean, they leave bottled water for you and they are very welcoming. The bathroom needed a facelift but was clean and most things worked fine. Food was good. They take credit cards but not travellers cheques. They also changed dollars for us as the standard rate. It's on the Bole Road which is reckoned to be a good place to eat and shop etc, although on our first day we didn't feel confident about that. After 2 weeks in Ethiopia we saw it in a different light and would agree it's probably a good place to enjoy life in Addis - close to the real life but safe and welcoming. Would choose to go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevefromSlimbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 56 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel twice. Once in November 2008 and more recently in September (for the Ethiopian New Years) as I was passing through going to Ghana. The location is perfect and the staff is great. The Manager remembered me from a party I had on my last visit and even offered me the use of his SIM card. KZ Hotel is a nice and cozy spot with a down home feel, it's not luxurious but it was all I needed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dre_bridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I have traveled to Addis over 7 times in the past 8 years, and have stayed at a variety of hotels, and with out a doubt , Z Hotel is the BEST, I'm from Chicago and retired military , I'm very keen on cleanliness and taking care of your customer, well these guys get a 10 across the board with me. The service was great, the staff was great, the price was unbeleaveable for what I was getting in return. If you ever want to make the best of your trip to Addis with the least amount spent for good quality service and living arrangements , then you don't want to miss the chance of staying at Z Hotel, trust me, its not the Sheraton, but its the next best thing for a hell of lot less.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler3975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I've been to this hotels almost 8 times within the last 2 years, it was the best hotel really. The staff are wonderful and very helping, location is very close to the airport ( 5 -7 min), close to 24HR super market shop, banks, on the main street (Bole Rd), malls, bars, clubs.... etc.
staff are amazing starting with manager (Dany), Receptionists (Mona , Yonas..) Bar manager (Abonish), bar tender (Addis-Paolos), the night shift Manager (Abby) he is very helpful and nice person. Security wise, the hotel is very secure, Rooms are clean.

The restaurant is one of the best (many thanks to the chef) she is nice lady, please don't forget to order the Pizza it is one of the best.

i would definitely recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katkat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was my 4th stay. I am an vegetarian,I thank Mdm.Abonish for serving vegetarian snacks as well as meals.Hotel is near to Air Port as well as market place, good security,no disturbance at night.24 hours supermarket exact opp. the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I stay in the KZ hotel for 3 days and my total experience was great. For its price the room was spacious and clean and the food in the restaurant delicious. The stuff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location also is a plus. Close to the airport which is important if you are planning trips to the north of the country and around plenty of shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and transport to and from the airport also included.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannis173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I spent nice days in this hotel (15-25/10/2010)
High security, permanent Aitisamp
Good service
there are the best people who are serving in this hotel
Especially Mr. yonas
The hotel is close to all necessary services for the tourist
I have put my bag during a tour outside the city

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehlaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 124 in Addis Ababa
141 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
793 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 124 in Addis Ababa
247 reviews
0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
442 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#11 of 124 in Addis Ababa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KZ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KZ Hotel

Address: Bole Road | P.O.Box 7110, Addis Ababa 7110, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $66 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your KZ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing