We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The location is great, other things are okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of KZ Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added KZ Hotel to your Saves list
KZ Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bole Road | P.O.Box 7110, Addis Ababa 7110, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Cali
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The location is great, other things are okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

You stay in this hotel if you want a key location. It is basically in heart of Addis Ababa with a lot of transportation, restaurants and cafes. It is also close to everything.

Other than the location, the hotel is small and the service is okay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
7
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is my first review on TripAdvisor, felt I had to provide feedback for KZ because I had such a nice stay there! I stayed there for more than 2 weeks and during that time the staff couldn't have made me feel more at home. Everyone knew my name and took the time to chat to me anytime I passed and make sure I had anything I needed! My room was really comfortable and I had a good WiFi connection. The location is also great, there are so many restaurants, bars and shops around (check out Lime Tree cafe just down the road, it's great!). But most of all I just loved the warm and friendly service at KZ - I hope to return to Addis one day and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenni_giramondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was my fourth stay and the hotel gets my return custom because of the assistance and friendliness of the staff. They are a credit to the business. The rooms are clean, simple and secure, the room service menu delicious and affordable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 897CK_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

After this hotel resold my wife's booked and pre-paid room on the evening of the 30th November 2011, my wife, who was travelling solo, was stranded in a foreign city in the middle of the night. We still are trying to get a refund from them. Although they sold the room twice and were paid for it twice they still steadfastly refuse to refund. I repeat, DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL under any circumstances. In addition, shame on Hotels.com and Opodo UK who have been totally unhelpful in resolving this matter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wonderful staff, friendly management. Very affordable according to the location.
Clean and very safe.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katkat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent two nights at the KZ at the end of January (2012). We saw how highly rated the hotel was on Trip Advisor, and on Hotels.com, and were looking forward to our stay. Sadly, we were pretty let down. I think the rating I give it is very accurate - average.

The service, of course, was very friendly. (Ethiopians are VERY hospitable). That does not mean, however, that they were on top of their game. Since we had booked through an internet site ahead of time, they could not find our reservation at first. We had actually booked for a Sat / Sun night, then later in the week for Wed / Thurs. Well, we found out on Sunday night that they did not have rooms for us on Wed / Thurs and they would not honor our confirmed reservation through Hotels.com.

The location is great, on basically one of the "main drags" in Addis. The rooms were very average, however. They had a window on top of the door, which let in a LOT of fluorescent light from the hallway all night - hard to sleep.

My recommendation is to stay at the hotel right next door - the Wassamar. It is a MUCH better hotel in quality of rooms and value for the money spent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank econometricsquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Excellent staff with great customer service. Excellent VALUE FOR MONEY, much better than Hilton/Sheraton (which is the same as all other luxury hotels in this world) Fantastic location (very safe because of Diplomatic area/everything you need within very short distance, including the airport). This location also gives you a feeling of the real city, not "an own world" inside the city!
I was indeed provided with a guided city tour with one of the best guides I have ever met (I have been visiting 102 countries), Sammy Tefara "Handy Sammy". I was so impressed by his skills, wisdom, service and proffesionalism - that after returning to Norway I have passed over this information to all tour operators with Ethiopia on the program! Here we talk about real value for money, guided city tours with better personal service at a much lower price than the two luxury hotels...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andersen6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Damu Hotel
Damu Hotel
#53 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#34 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bole Skygate Hotel
Bole Skygate Hotel
#31 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#61 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KZ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KZ Hotel

Property: KZ Hotel
Address: Bole Road | P.O.Box 7110, Addis Ababa 7110, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KZ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your KZ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing