We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean rooms, excellent wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KZ Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KZ Hotel
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good location, clean rooms, excellent wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

No issues, service was good, in-room wifi was excellent (v fast/reliable), rooms clean, plug sockets took a variety of plugs. Only negatives were that the hot water didn't last long, and the breakfast was fairly basic. Airport shuttle (complimentary) was a good plus. Location was good, 3 Birr in minibus taxi into centre of town (any blue minivan works), great bar opposite (and to the left)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
7
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The good: it's very close to the airport; the restaurant is efficient and the food is good. The people working there are generally very nice.

The not-so-good: Definitely down at the heels. I stayed in 2 different rooms on 2 different stays, and both were in significant need of refreshing (major stains in rugs, etc.). For some reason the hairdryers use a USA-type plug, and in one room they did not provide an adapter so that the hairdryer would actually work; in the other room where an adapter was provided, I had to hold the plug in the adapter the entire time I was using the hairdryer so that it wouldn't disconnect.

The first room I was given featured non-functioning Internet and phone, so they moved me to another room where both worked (although I had to whack the phone on the table in order to un-stick the receiver so I could answer the phone). On my 2nd stay (on the 7th floor), the lights in the hallway didn't work at all, which was fairly creepy.

I don't have much to compare KZ to in Addis--during the rest of my time in Ethiopia I was either in the Sheraton, which is very expensive, or camping. But I did have to wonder if there was a better-value alternative than KZ in its price range.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate3671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Booking for my wife I twice contacted them by their website. Although it says they will respond in 24 hours I heard nothing. Finally managed to book and paid upfront. When my wife arrived at Bole Airport and 'phoned them they had given the room away, saying she hadn't confirmed.
Now trying to get our money back. First they say she had booked in, now they saying she didn't but can't have a refund because she didn't confirm. Book this place at you peril!

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

On the Bole Road, very close to the airport. There's a taxi stand outside for getting around town, and there are several decent eating places nearby. It's right next door to the Wassamar Hotel, and slightly cheaper: C.$90, inc taxes etc, breakfast, airport shuttle, Wi-Fi and mini gym.

The reception, bar and restaurant are a bit cramped, but that's a minor complaint.

Email: info@kzfamilyhotel.com / kzhotel08@yahoo.com
Phone: 011 6185138
Web: http://www.kzfamilyhotel.com/

Room Tip: The rooms at the back face on to a brick wall; the ones at the front have the traffic. I'd take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filthyfetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is my 3rd stay @ the KZ Hotel in the past 8 months, & each stay just keeps getting better! The location is ideal-VERY close to the airport (literally 3-5 mins. from the hotel), & downtown Addis (stores, restaurants, sites, etc.); the hotel has a very nice & clean atmosphere & easily accommodates the single traveller as well as the business groups. Most notable are the amazing Staff who thoroughly understand the importance of great customer service
& provide personal attention to all. Atos Jonas & Abi and their Staff are very accommodating to insure that you have a very comfortable stay, and feel like it's your "home away from home." Similarly, they are very receptive to any suggestions to help them continue to provide excellent service. The Service Staff always make a concerted effort to attend to all of your service and comfort needs!...and are frequently able to anticipate this by paying close attention to all their patrons!...Time & time again, the hospitality, service, personal touch & friendliness of the Staff have made this the hotel of choice for my Family & I!...Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDEEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is 5 minutes from the airport and walking distance from restaurants and shopping.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hadani43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

KZ hotel is a clean hotel with average rooms in a great location.
But asking 90 USD for a double room per night is clearly too much.
However this is the problem for many Addis hotels....no value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost-Hanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Damu Hotel
Damu Hotel
#53 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#32 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bole Skygate Hotel
Bole Skygate Hotel
#31 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#62 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KZ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KZ Hotel

Property: KZ Hotel
Address: Bole Road | P.O.Box 7110, Addis Ababa 7110, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KZ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your KZ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing