We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Intercontinental-Addis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Overseas
1 review
“Good hotel for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

Excellent staff (very helpful). The price includes the internet although is extremely slow and breakfast (was great). The room was very clean and modern. If you are planning to stay at this hotel to rest, you might not be able because there are couples of buildings construction surrounding this hotel. The concrete drilling starts a little before 8:00 AM. My room did not have a/c or heater. When I opened my balcony sliding door to cool down the temperature in my room, I had mosquitoes coming into my room. You have to keep that door close. The room includes a little refrigerator but does not include coffee machine. You can ask for an electric boiling water pot. You have to bring your own coffee, cream and sugar. The fitness center has great exercise machines plus great staff assistant. The swimming pool is nice at the top floor but no heating water. The bed was a lot better than the one at the Hilton Addis Ababa.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodyonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    95
    70
    18
    11
See reviews for
5
16
16
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Rooms are clean and rather spacious. A bit noisy though. Good breakfast, good restaurant. A nice gym is available on the top floor, so is a swimming pool (but not heated). Internet is available in the room (wired), and in the lobby (wireless). Good price/quality ratio. Hotel can provide a shuttle bus to/from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Stayed for 3 days in July, returned a week later and stayed over 3 more weeks. Rooms were clean, well-appointed. Breakfast included, even if ordered to room service (with small service charge). Safes, balconies, desks, internet (slow as in all of Addis, but reliable) wired in room, wireless in lobby/restaurants, gym, swimming pool.

The Food and Beverage staff, from management to waitresses, and certainly including the kitchen crew and Executive Chef, bent over backwards to ensure our stay was as good as it could be! The food was great and the service even better. Watch out for those pastries, as they are too good to pass up!

The service in this hotel is fabulous and consistently the best I've seen in years. While this is not part of the international chain, it's a great hotel and is where I'll likely stay in the future!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
228 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We arrived in Addis and were quickly disillusioned with the Hilton. We visited a number of hotels and went to the Intercontinental at the recommendation of someone we met at the Hilton. It only opened within the last year. It is NOT part of the Intercontinental chain but certainly offers international service and infrastructure to the extent that you could hope to find this in Addis and at a fraction of the cost of the Sheraton (a veritable fortress inconveniently tucked away) or the Hilton (not worth the money). Rooms are modern and clean. A good range of international news and movie channels in your room. There is an ethernet connection in the room and (slow!) WiFi in the lobby without extra charge. The restaurant has a limited menu but certainly met our needs. The hotel is clean and feels clean (There are many hotels in Addis that ARE clean but so "worn" and dingy that they don't feel clean.) The location is very convenient. The staff is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laviajeraliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.5 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#24 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intercontinental-Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinental-Addis

Property: Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Address: Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 80400, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinental-Addis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Intercontinental-Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing