We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Traveled for business and had a pleasant stay. Main problem was the loud music which could be heard in the rooms and poor Internet access.
Service was good and the staff was friendly and the atmosphere was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matongo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    95
    70
    19
    11
See reviews for
5
16
16
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental for 2 weeks for business. There are much better hotels in Addis to stay in. The same terrible music is blasted out from the lobby every night and there is no escaping it. Food is over priced. The pool is swamped with children. Poor customer service as well which requires the patience of a saint, eg. several times I had no towels, checking-out was painful, reception was very unhelpful....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Israel
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have again visited this hotel.
Changes for the better - they have replaced the lobby furniture.
Changes for the worse - the food service is even worse than it was.
Price have gone up - and they are way overpriced for what you get.
They claim to be a 5 star hotel - but are far from it - three star at most.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business for 2 nights.
My room was really nice, clean, spacious with a balcony. Unfortunately it was over looking the hotel being built next door but had the sun most of the afternoon.
9th floor sun deck and pool was pretty. There was a fitness and massage centre.
I got a deep tissue massage about £9 (250birr) which was very thorough.
Food was nice and big portions. The menu for room service showed the wrong prices and then they had15% vat and 10% service charge but still about £5 for beef medallions with veg and rice.
Mini bar was stocked often with cheap options.
Every night a rose was placed on my bed with chocolate and the curtains were drawn
- nice touches.
I did try and venture from the hotel but didn't feel comfortable and there wasn't much around. The popular Bole road is in the middle of construction.

Would recommend hotel for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taly_70uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room was clean and had a lovely balcony overlooking the main road. The food left much to be desired but overall it was a pleasant stay. Also good place to have coffee and work, even if you're not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in December 2012 and found the hotel to be perfect as a base for business. Rooms were clean and well appointed - however noted the absence of aircon or a celing fan in my room. Fortunately the weather was cool and there was a sliding door onto a balcony, however in an upmarket establishment like this I'd expect aircon in the rooms. Gym and pooldeck were both excellent, pool is heated. Food equally good. I'd definately recommend it as a good business hotel.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaffyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel offers free wifi in the lobby, service is okay. The rooms are slightly cramped and the bathrooms score a 5 out of 10 for me. they are clean enough but questionable. By the way - the A/C's don't work in most hotels and many hotels in Addis do not have A/C's.

The location is relatively close to the Bole Airport

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slakhany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#25 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#11 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intercontinental-Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinental-Addis

Property: Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Address: Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 80400, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinental-Addis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Intercontinental-Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing