We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Ranked #57 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel offers free wifi in the lobby, service is okay. The rooms are slightly cramped and the bathrooms score a 5 out of 10 for me. they are clean enough but questionable. By the way - the A/C's don't work in most hotels and many hotels in Addis do not have A/C's.

The location is relatively close to the Bole Airport

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slakhany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 238 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here when I was upgraded on stopover between Pointe-Noire and Jo'burg. This is a reasonable hotel although in need of some renovation and service could be improved as some light difficulties in the restaurants. The room and food were reasonable and so as long as you're not expecting usual Intercontinental standards, you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

my expectations we not high but staff was nice and helpful. The pool on the top floor was really nice. Our room though did smell heavy of bug spray which wasn't so pleasant but location was pretty central, good breakfast and free shuttle to airport. Go though with your own plan, the concierge wasn't too helpful regarding things to do.

Room Tip: get a room not overlooking the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is quite a nice place. I was on business and the location was great for me since it is near to the UN and other similar offices. The lobby area is well done with lots of comfortable seating. The room was fine for the most part although the water pressure was a bit iffy and the plumbing needed upgrading. The Internet wasn't so great and my iPad couldn't connect.. They deliver a red rose to the room every evening, which was a nice touch. The hotel is in the midst of a commercial area so you have the option of eating out and doing some shopping without having to get into a taxi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel_Durrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a total of 10 nights in November 2012.

The rooms are really spacious and have a safe, large comfy bed, seating area and balcony (overlooking a building site but a balcony non-the-less). What I found strange is that none of the rooms have AC. My room in November was way too hot for me and whilst I was told I could have a fan this was very noisy as was the street outside so opening the balcony window was never much help.

The food isn't brilliant and whilst there is a pool it was so hot that it was hard to do lengths in.

Saying all this there is nothing 'wrong' as such with this hotel it just has quirks that mean you could most likely find better. The staff are very helpful and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannainbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel staff was extremely friendly at check-in and out, at the bar and the restaurant.
Standard of finishing works in room and bathroom is rather poor. I stayed twice for one night and got an upgrade to a junior suite, which provided only more space.
Food in the restaurant is good, nothing very fancy at acceptable prices for foreigners (but high for Ethiopia).
No Wi-Fi available but connection with cable worked properly
Transfer to and from airport well organized

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a good hotel with good value and easy walking access to the UN conference center. Request a high floor, corner suite for a great room with a balcony, sofa, comfortable chairs, and extra bed. Internet is free unlike some of the more expensive hotels in Addis although only wired connections are available in the room. At this hotel, one feels as though one is part of the city as it is accessible from the balcony. As usual in Addis, the staff are exceptionally nice and helpful. The only word of caution that I have is to call a few days of your arrive to confirm the availability of your room upon your arrival. The hotel has a general late policy check-out (6 pm) which means that if you arrive in the early evening, unannounced, your room may not be ready. A phone call ahead can take care of this. The hotel also has a free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12345Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 124 in Addis Ababa
242 reviews
1 mi away
Getfam Hotel
Getfam Hotel
#16 of 124 in Addis Ababa
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#10 of 124 in Addis Ababa
1,214 reviews
1.7 mi away
WaterGate Hotel
WaterGate Hotel
#58 of 124 in Addis Ababa
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intercontinental-Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinental-Addis

Address: Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 80400, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $103 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinental-Addis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Intercontinental-Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing