We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Intercontinental Addis
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Addis Ababa(Addis Ababa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Damu Hotel(Addis Ababa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
22
104
76
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
104
76
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinternational chainother hotelsroom serviceenjoyed my staygymwificountrytaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 241 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My son and I stayed in this hotel for one night as we began our week long vacation in Ethiopia. This hotel has some nice amenities including a great gym and nice outdoor pool. Rooms come with a bath; an unusual item in Africa.

As mentioned the rooms come with a nice breakfast. We did find the hotel bar prices were somewhat high.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZionHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel has very efficient staff, who are friendly. I asked for a button to be sewed on my shirt and the housekeeping lady was there in five minutes. Breakfast was very good. Centrally located. The neighborhood is very noisy at night, due to clubs close by. Cheap and good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It is important to know that the hotel is not affiliated in any way with the Intercontinental chain hence one should not expect Intercontinental standards. I was very surprised when a friend told me that the hotel opened only in January 2009 because the rooms really look run down for such a new hotel. The spacious lobby is a pleasant choice for afternoon tea, snaks or evening drink. The hotel restaurant is quite limited if you are vegetarian, have allergies or other dietary restrictions. The staff is impossibly kind and affable although ultimately inefficient. Wake up calls do not materialize and special requests may be ignored or not understood. Room service on the other hand was quick and efficient although please request those items that you would consider a given (i.e. salt and pepper, butter, jam) at the time of ordering or the tray will come without it. The gymnasium on the 9th floor is decent and has all the basic equipment. The SPA facilities are a little dingy looking (are the wall huge posters of archeological sites really necessary in the lounge area?), the sauna and steam room are potent and clean, the overall ambiance leaves a bit to be desired. The staff are not given separate quarters for their down time thus slouch around in the lounge area and at the end of the day share the shower and dressing room facilities with the guests. Also note that any towels you will need for use in the gym, sauna, steam, room, shower or treatments are to be asked for when you first arrive at the entrance to the dressing room because there are no towels anywhere inside. I may be a little sensitive to strong smells but know that the rooms on any floor do get the spicy odors from the restaurant located on the ground floor. Either ventilation does not work well or is inexistent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68WorldTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I spent nearly 3 months here with my wife for work.

The food was decent and rooms are a good size but above all, the staff were amazing!! wonderful experience, everyone from the duty manager Lateria through to the guys at the gym. If you do visist make sure you go for a massage. price is fantastic!!

To be honest for a long term stay its not bad.

Room Tip: 7th floor corner!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews