We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average 3 star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Ranked #41 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the hotel from June 26-29, 2012.
We ordered a transfer from the airport to the hotel - it never came, we took a taxi ($15).
The hotel has a large staff that is very cordial.
Initially the room I received had a problem that the door did not lock - so they moved me into another room.
Breakfast is a buffet breakfast with a small selection of fresh vegtables and fruit. It has an egg and pancake station (not every day), a selection of pasteries, and some warm local dishes.
I would rate breakfast as fair, but the selection is not abundant and it is repetative. For a country that prides itself on Coffee - this was very disappointing.
Room was a good size room, bed had a firm mattress. furnishing are very basic. Maintenance is poor - in both rooms there were serious maintenance issues - door not closing balcony door not locking leaky faucets, semi broken chair, and the list goes on.... The room comes with a flat screen TV and all the major international english speaking stations.
Lobby - I came for business meetings and extensively used the lobby. It requires remodeling and a replacement of all the furniture. I also had lunch everyday in the lobby - the menu is very limited and the food was at most adequate (although expensive).
Wifi - reception was good in the lobby, in the room you had to use a cable. Speed was slow, I could not VPN to my office, just download email via the web (OWA).
There is a bank service in the hotel - we used it and the rate of exchange is competitive.
Security - the hotel has an XRay machine for all luggage and a magnometer for all walkin guests.
Hotel Surroundings: walking distance from the United nations. The hotel is surrounded by buildings under construction or slums, also there is a "red light district" across the street.
I felt safe walking the streets at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

A fair standard versus price. Willhappily stay here again when next in town.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Internet works, rooms clean, nice gym. Overall a decent hotel though probably needs a better food venue. For up to a week, this is an easy hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning that works, and stay away from any building works
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottoz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Scratch beneath the surface of this hotel and you see poor attention to maintenace. The hotel descirbes itself as 5 star but some of the facilities are much below this. My room had a wardrobe that seemed to be falling apart and a balcony window that couldn't be closed properly. Even worse was the conference facilities provided for training I participated in there last week. Flipchart stands were broken and flipcharts held up by pieces of wire. The sound system to support the training was less than adequate and generally speaking there was an air of neglect about the facilities. On the positive side the food provided at lunchtime was wonderful and most of the staff were friendly and attentive. Not worth it if you are truly looking for 5 star attention and poor value for money I would suggest.

Room Tip: Three sides of hotel site are flanked by building sites so in short I wouldn't go there if you w...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

African flavour?

By that I mean that the hot water was never more than lukewarm and the view from the balcony was, well, just very African I suppose; building site, rubbish tip and a set of foundations filled with rain or groundwater that I initially took to be the hotel's swimming pool.

Having said that, there is much to like about the Intercontinental, Addis .First, the room (a corner suite priced at not much more than the standard room) was well appointed; comfortable bed, plenty of storage space and a balcony with chairs and table (and the view that I have already described). I was also impressed by the professionalism of the staff on reception and in the restaurant, not to mention the car park attendant who attempted to guide me into one of the hotel's limited parking spots at considerably personal risk to himself given my inadequate driving skills.

On the dining side, my experiences were mixed. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a quite exceptional choice. The buffet dinner was, well let's just say less appetising ...

All in all a good stay. Not cheap but cheaper than the other five star alternatives (and this hotel is at least nudging five star). I don't care that it isn't part of the Intercontinental chain. The one's I have stayed in weren't that great anyway.

Room Tip: Corner suites may not cost much more than a standard - check.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DodoCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

A leaky bathroom ceiling, cracked bath, clean but battered rooms (with no air-con), balcony windows with broken locks, and a larger than usual roach population all make this an adequate but far from great business hotel. Fine if you have to, but definitely not first choice in Adis Ababa.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank ggypsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

So be ware. I booked and stayed at this hotel thinking it' s one of Inercontinental chain of hotels. But was disappointed to find out it was not the real stuff. This is a fake "IC hotel" . Yet the hotel charges the same amount as the other legit international hotels chains such Hilton, Sheraton or Raddison next door. This hotel looked dated and lacks the service, the amenities or the ambiance of the other 5 and 4 star hotels in Addis. a lot of noises comining from downstairs in the lobby and construction site behind the hotel. getting a quick glance of the bathroom you tell this is not close to any decent hotel. to add salt to injury, upon check out I noticed that they charged me for the shuttle service from airport. More than what a taxi charges to get you to the hotel. Mind you it took them more than an hour to pick us up from the airport. Next time I stay at the hilton across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#23 of 120 in Addis Ababa
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#10 of 120 in Addis Ababa
1,158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 120 in Addis Ababa
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
0.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 120 in Addis Ababa
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intercontinental-Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinental-Addis

Address: Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 80400, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $105 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinental-Addis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Intercontinental-Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing