We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most unpleasant stays I can remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One of the most unpleasant stays I can remember”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

reading the recent reviews after I had the misfortune to stay here a yesr ago some reviews make me think that they cant be the same hotel. Some have to be plants. Poor service , the hotel build of concete with central lobby that echos every sound. Annoying key card system that locks you out. Poor choice of food. and rocked by nightclub noise everything whilsts we were there and the whole left hand side of hotel trying to move rooms in the middle of the night. Immpossible to work the next day. An uninterested check in person. Very poor finish my bathroom look as if the builders had left for dinner...

All in all my collegues form a large group who travel a lot and Iwe would not choose that ever again..we are in the Hiton now which, for all its little faults, is a complete paradise in comparision.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    95
    71
    19
    12
See reviews for
5
16
16
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Note: This hotel is NOT a part of the Intercontinental chain....

Like many hotels in Africa, if you look quickly at the rooms, they appear to be fine. If you gaze longer than a second you will notice that the doors don't close, the counter tops are crooked and the shower head is leaking.

The staff are hit and miss on knowledge, but friendly. The place is in sad shape. It looks like they took 4 star materials (marble, slate, etc) and then had 1 star construction crews build it.

My card key had to be re-programmed every day and the internet was not the best. Stay at the Hilton or Sheraton if you can. But overall I had a fine stay.... for developing world standards.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

watford
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip around Northern Ethiopia. The hotel could have been anywhere but the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean with a TV that worked and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was incredible with fruit, something we'd seen very little of during our trip. We had a minibus for sightseeing so as far as we were concerned it was a good location, not far from the airport and also close to some of the tourist attractions, which aren't many!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville, Gabon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This hotel is a disgrace, especially for the rates the rooms are going for and their 4 (?) star claim. The rooms have no ventilation nor air conditioning so there is a strange horrible smell. Service at check in and check out is horrendous and at bill settling I felt they were trying to cheat me. Either that or they have very bad math. The meat at the breakfast buffet was completely undercooked and when I pointed it out to the waiter he could not care less. The shuttle to the airport, which I had booked the previous night did not run at the agreed time - eventually I just jumped into a cab. I was SO eager to leave this horrible hotel that I cold not wait a minute longer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marfa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

There is building going on around the hotel as there is all over Addis Ababa which caused the ATM and bank in the Hotel to go offline but once that is finished it should be even better

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potionpopit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udzungwa Mountains
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed for four nights during a conference I had organised and invited people to attend. I chose this hotel because the prices were lower than other five star hotels. It was ok, I suppose, and the lesson is that you get what you pay for. The food was good, the rooms were comfortable enough, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. But it is far from being a Hilton or Sheraton - internationally speaking more of a four star, if that. Bathroom didn't feel quite finished, as someone else said. Menu a bit on the basic side (although food that was available was tasty). Rooms are indeed noisy as has been said in other reviews - the hotel is basically a big box and all sounds from the lobby echo up and down the central area. I always travel with earplugs so slept fine but those of my colleagues who ahdn't were cmplaining about the noise.
hotel is also (through no fault of its own) surrounded on three of its four sides by construction and building sites. Not exatly a stunning location.
I don't want to complain too much as it was as I say an okay stay - and it is cheaper than the other five star hotels. Just remember, if you choose it, that it defeinitely isn't the Hilton!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanWood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Got Good Deal for Intercontinental & I stayed here for 6N/7D.It suits Your Pocket,quite beautiful & best in Town.I got upgrade to Suite also.Food was good,Location was Good.I didn't face any Problem for Commutation from This Hotel.Hotel Front Office staff was really good.Pleasing Personalities with Helping Nature.I had Excellent Stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markova1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#25 of 118 in Addis Ababa
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 118 in Addis Ababa
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
1,123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intercontinental-Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinental-Addis

Property: Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Address: Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 80400, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinental-Addis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Intercontinental-Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing