We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“mirgul from Turkey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mirgul from Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

i have stayed in radisson hotel for several times and everytime i feel great and excellent!
All of the people are so hospitality and you feel home...
I can highly recommend to you to stay in Radisson blue when you come to Addis

thanks for eveything...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirgul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    264
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
47
20
452
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had no pick up when we arrived to Addis airport after transAtlantic flight although it was prearranged. After waiting for almost 2 hours and multiple phone calls they sent a van.
We also arranged a van to bring us back to the airport at the end of our trip. When we got to the front desc, 4 hours after arrangement was made, the staff had no knowledge of it.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. Restaurant has a good breakfast buffet as well as dinner options and buffet. The service in the restaurant is slow so keep it in mind when ordering a la carte.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Radisson Addis for three days in November 2012. My overall impression is that the hotel is excellent. That is, of course, as it should be. However, there have been a few things that me and my colleagues who stayed there felt should be improved. The first one is that the airport shuttle was not in place when we arrived despite prior confirmation from the concierge. The management claimed the shuttle was there but we apparently didn't get it and had to settle for a 1980s old rickety taxi cab. Next problem was the reception desk where we had to wait standing for nearly half an hour as one of the receptionists was dealing with a guest and the other reception was not attended by anyone. This was a really frustrating experience especially as there aren't even some armchairs where we can rest while waiting. Then there is the problem with the parking. As the hotel is located along a busy street there are very few parking spots. The hotel offers valet service but it is not convenient to use valet service when you are staying at the hotel and need to use your car frequently. Lastly I personally found the location of the bar not appealing particularly if you want to sit at the stools. There is a door to the kitchen right next to the bar and hotel staff are frequently going in and out behind you carrying large trays. That not only ruins your night but could very well ruin your suit if one of them accidentally trips and spill a bottle of oil on you. Despite these however the rooms are superb and the location is very central. At the rate of USD 265 we paid it is not particularly cheap especially as that didn't include breakfast for which we had to pay an extra 20. We were of course duly informed of this so no complaints in that regard but visitors should check if their rate included breakfast or not.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MGH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Have just spent 6 nights at this hotel and it has been a most comfortable stay. Staff are polite and friendly. Front desk efficient. Above all the manager is keen to ensure that guests have a good experience. The only downside is that there is a gym but no swimming pool. Overall though, very good and not as expensive as the Sheriton.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DEGGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent service and very comfortable. Staff are all polite to a fault. Lunch buffet is excellent. Great wi-fi in rooms, too. Front desk staff are verfy polite and I found them to be efficient and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice hotel in Addis. It has the slowest reception-staff on earth. Both on in-check and out-check. The hotel had mixed up the written reservation for me and gave me a no-show status and cancellation..... Nice outside bar area and buffet

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulvifaareklaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a total of 4 nights at the Radisson Blu in Addis in Oct/Nov 2012 and will definitely go back to this hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet is a dream, rooms are spacious and well appointed, ATMs are available in lobby (including cash withdrawal on credit card). There is also a bar with creative drinks and a coffee shop. Laundry service is efficient and able to handle sensitive materials.
Best of all: I got to keep my room on checkout day till 6 p.m., without additional charge! Hotel is also well situated for Great Ethiopian Run - just 10 minutes' walk to the start.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abyssinian_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.7 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
12.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#13 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
2.0 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#4 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Address: Kazanchis Business District | Kazanchis Business District, Kirkos Subcity, Addis Ababa 2155, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel Addis Ababa is ideally located in an exclusive business area at the heart of Kazanchis Business District. The hotel is designed to make your stay an inspirational pleasure, creating a memorable sense of arrival with its unique and iconic architectural design along with its holistic hospitality that is in line with the needs of the modern Traveler. The Hotel is adjacent to the United Nations Conference Center (UNCC-AA), within 1 Kilometer radius of the National Palace, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and a number of government offices. The hotel is just 6 km away from Bole International Airport and is an ideal base for visits to major Corporate and Government offices, the Ethiopian Ethnological Museum, the Addis Ababa Museum, as well as historical buildings such as St. George’s Cathedral and the Holy Trinity Cathedral. Our hotel provides a unique and extraordinary hospitality, with its Yes I Can! Service Philosophy. The Hotel Contains, • 152 Standard rooms, • 44 Business-Class Rooms, • 2 Business Queen Rooms, • 6 Standard Queen Rooms, • 7 One-Bedroom Suites and • 1 Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Rezidor so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing