We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Radisson Blu Addis is excellent value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Radisson Blu Addis is excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a total of 4 nights at the Radisson Blu in Addis in Oct/Nov 2012 and will definitely go back to this hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet is a dream, rooms are spacious and well appointed, ATMs are available in lobby (including cash withdrawal on credit card). There is also a bar with creative drinks and a coffee shop. Laundry service is efficient and able to handle sensitive materials.
Best of all: I got to keep my room on checkout day till 6 p.m., without additional charge! Hotel is also well situated for Great Ethiopian Run - just 10 minutes' walk to the start.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abyssinian_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    272
    57
    15
    5
See reviews for
28
50
23
473
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is the newest in Addis Ababa and seems to be catching on. Provides free internet and very good amenities in the rooms. The shower is not well designed and water leaks out on the bathroom floor in all the rooms. The food prices are high but the food is good. The room does not have a separate bed sheet, other than the duvet which makes sleeping quite cumbersome if one is not cold. My biggest problem is with the system of check-out - it simply does not function. The front desk people seem to want to help but it seems that they are unable to since the system is the worst I have seen or the check-out clerks have not been trained properly on it. We nearly missed our flight due to the myriad problems which came up at the check-out. Sheraton Addis is a bit costlier but could be a better option for business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very good hotel for business trips. Proper new Radisson Blu that could be in any european city, so you know what to expect if you have stayed at Radisson hotels before.
Very well managed, very good service.The manager even had the time to sit with us during breakfast to ask questions about what we think and what could be improved, so management really considers feedback from guest.
Excellent internet connection and best connection in Addis hotels.
Very good value for money if you consider next hotel up is the Sheraton.
Breakfast is very good and very similar to other Radisson hotels I've stayed.
The rooms are modern, on the small side, but it depends on how much time you spend in your room.
The SPA is very good. I was happy with the service
Only down point is that they could do with a nicer outside area, you feel walled in and it is very small.
No swimmingpool
I highly recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keli_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jkt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Late check out policy scheme is just a marketing gimmick,

When u ask the reception they will reply u with a nasty face n unfriendly one! Hey for u ppl at the reception READ ur hotel promotion , no need to reply us with a unfriendly face and only say IMPOSSIBLE SIR!

Remember we are paying for ur service and no need that nasty face, u could just say politely n xplain it is not available due to the availability , we r an educated guests, we understand if IT IS NOT AVAILBLE.

Overall the service are excellent only the ppl at the reception need to understand that we stay at radisson blu are paying n not staying for free.

Room Tip: Forget bout the late check out don't even bother ask them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ-007-travelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good property overall that is only surpassed in terms of comfort and service by the Sheraton, which is pricier. Certainly a breath of fresh air from Hilton.

Good breakfast and overall dining options. Nice conference room facilities. Slow but friendly check in / check out. Very attentive staff overall to the exception of night Manager who could use a bit of friendliness or at the very least politeness when alerting a frequent guest that hotel will charge half a day rate for late check out. This is the “hot” new property in town and it seems as though management is not yet empowered to use discretion when applying such policy (if hotel is full I understand but if not would expect a commercial gesture for a repeat customer or at least politeness).
Lack of choice in Addis means that I will be back until I can find a better option, a nice and new property is no substitute for customer service.
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaN1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First let me start by saying that I will write this review based on Ethiopean standards, not European. It is my second time in Addis, and I have stayed in 4 hotels, in total (from 4star o guest house).

The Radisson, is really nice, the staff polite, standards are very high, it is clean, the food is good and the breakfast offers a wide choice. Of course don't expect to find the perfect bread or croissant, somehow they dont taste the same as the butter does not taste the same. This may not necessarily be good or bad. Just different. I tried the spa and I was happy, although the maniciour place is rather small and grim.

wi-fi works very well, the room although not super big it was of good size (our room must be one of the small ones) nonetheless when you see the crisply ironed sheets and a bathroom with tab and shower, dry cleaning, nice big TV etc etc etc, you are very much content. At least I was. My husband isnt overly fussed with these things.

Overall a veyy enjoyable experience. The only bad thing was the pillows. Very fluffy, I could not relax in them. Too big.

Room Tip: I really fo not know which rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Colney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A good alternative to the Sheraton which dominated the luxury hotel scene in Addis Ababa for a good few years. I liked the modern design and very comfortable bed and bedding material of super quality. Can't beat a good night sleep and I slept better in this hotel than the Sheraton in which I frequently stayed for the last five years.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.7 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 104 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
12.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 104 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#14 of 104 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
1.1 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Address: Kazanchis Business District | Kazanchis Business District, Kirkos Subcity, Addis Ababa 2155, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel Addis Ababa is ideally located in an exclusive business area at the heart of Kazanchis Business District. The hotel is designed to make your stay an inspirational pleasure, creating a memorable sense of arrival with its unique and iconic architectural design along with its holistic hospitality that is in line with the needs of the modern Traveler. The Hotel is adjacent to the United Nations Conference Center (UNCC-AA), within 1 Kilometer radius of the National Palace, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and a number of government offices. The hotel is just 6 km away from Bole International Airport and is an ideal base for visits to major Corporate and Government offices, the Ethiopian Ethnological Museum, the Addis Ababa Museum, as well as historical buildings such as St. George’s Cathedral and the Holy Trinity Cathedral. Our hotel provides a unique and extraordinary hospitality, with its Yes I Can! Service Philosophy. The Hotel Contains, • 152 Standard rooms, • 44 Business-Class Rooms, • 2 Business Queen Rooms, • 6 Standard Queen Rooms, • 7 One-Bedroom Suites and • 1 Presidential Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Rezidor and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing