We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel, leaves all others in the dark in Addis Ababa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top class hotel, leaves all others in the dark in Addis Ababa!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Perfect location beside the UN Headquarters, very near "Bole", Piazza and other key locations in Addis. The staff are very highly trained, have a good command of English, smile all the time and give an excellent service - unlike so many other establishments. It will take over as the main hotel in Addis in a short time, putting the Hilton and Sheraton behind it in the rankings. The rooms are above average, food and bev excellent as well. It is not cheap but then the service is excellent and free wireless internet throughout, for all patrons. The owner and his wife have put a lot of time and effort into designing and building this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PodAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    311
    65
    19
    7
See reviews for
34
60
32
563
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

If you're not staying at the Sheraton this is the next best hotel in Addis. It only has one restaurant however the French theme and chef do a wonderful job for breakfast and dinner buffets.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kokolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Radisson Blu is a brand new international class hotel in Addis. I stayed 4 nights there. The rooms are very nicely done, and have a business feel, however not much local touch (although I did see some masks when glancing in another room which was cleaned).

The good things are the free super-fast Internet, the nice room with clean shower+bathtub,real blocking curtains, a nice breakfast buffet and if you don't want a big breakfast a great coffee shop serving Tomoca coffee (even with mini Macarons on the side).

However the hotel is not finished yet - and the service needs a bit of improvement too. The advertised sauna is not open yet, and I was not given any hint at check in even when I asked about it. This was a big reason for me to stay there. I had no tea/coffeemaker in the room (again an advertised feature) and not even a box of tissues. When I asked about both I was told it would be taken care of. When I came back in the evening I had a water boiler in my room, but no coffee/tea, no cups and no box of tissues. When I asked again the next day I was told it would be sorted, but when I came back there was no change. On the TV, the Ethiopian TV channels are not working, and I also think giving only one small complimentary bottle of water for the whole stay is quite small, given the tap water is not drinkable (some wouldn't even brush their teeth with it) and the minibar prices are excessive.

When I checked out I was not asked how was my stay - I mentioned the closed sauna was disappointing and just got a "it is not open yet, I am sorry about that".

So to summarize, while this is probably still one of the best options in town, I would still expect some improvements.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rustilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for only 1 night in Addis after 2 nights at the Sheraton. This hotel is great for business travellers. Suberb rooms and service. Great price too for just over $200 per night, with free internet unlike the sheraton which charges extra for almost everything. Was there during the soft opening and staff went out of their way to help. Is also located more centrally than the Sheraton and doesnt seem as pretentious.

Room Tip: Hill view better, city view only gives you a view of the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sid_wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.8 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
1,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
1.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Address: Kebele 17 / 18 | Kazanchis Business District, Kirkos Subcity, Addis Ababa 21555, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel Addis Ababa is ideally located in an exclusive business area at the heart of Kazanchis Business District. The hotel is designed to make your stay an inspirational pleasure, creating a memorable sense of arrival with its unique and iconic architectural design along with its holistic hospitality that is in line with the needs of the modern Traveler. The hotel is adjacent to the United Nations Conference Center (UNCC-AA), within 1 kilometer radius of the National Palace, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and a number of government offices. The hotel is just 6 km away from Bole International Airport and is an ideal base for visits to major Corporate and Government offices, the Ethiopian Ethnological Museum, the Addis Ababa Museum, as well as historical buildings such as St. George’s Cathedral and the Holy Trinity Cathedral. Our hotel provides a unique and extraordinary hospitality, with its Yes I Can! Service Philosophy. The Hotel Contains: • 152 Standard rooms, • 44 Business-Class Rooms, • 2 Business Queen Rooms, • 6 Standard Queen Rooms, • 7 One-Bedroom Suites and • 1 Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Rezidor, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing