We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ethiopia Guest Home
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed just one night here while waiting for our rental house to be ready. It was CLEAN and the staff was so friendly! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it is quite a ways from the center of Addis and even further from our children's care center which is on the OTHER side of Addis. It was reasonably priced and the room was quite large (there were 5 of us in one room). The common area was nice and breakfast was lovely, though a bit sparse. Overall, a really nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alistarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Ethiopia Guest Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for one week while finalizing the adoption of our two sons. EGH staff was friendly and eager to help...EGH drivers even provided to/from airport. Facility was clean and very comfortable, with many extras that were helpful for us as an adoptive families (baby tub provided in bathroom, toys in common area). Our 4 year old particularly enjoyed playing in the large grassy area and spacious courtyard! Internet access was reliable, which was especially nice for updating our family with new pictures of our boys. The farewell coffee ceremony & complementary massage was an extra special touch that set EGH apart!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the EGH for 2 weeks while adopting our girl. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The House was very clean and comfortable. The area the house is located was nice and safe. We had a great time getting know not only the staff but some of the locals around there as well. We have no complaints on our end. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We are two international adoption staff members from Dove Adoptions, International in Oregon. We were so pleased to learn of the Ethiopia Guest Home just before we made our recent trip to Ethiopia to visit orphanages and escort a child home to her adoptive family. We are going to recommend this wonderful home away from home to all of our adoptive families for their two week-long stays in Ethiopia to adopt. The rooms and suits are spacious, airy, sunny and immaculate. There are toys in each room for younger children to play with, games and puzzles downstairs in the common area, and a TV with DVD player and selection of movies. The food is prepared by cooks trained in how to keep American's healthy in a foreign country - and is delicious! Breakfast and lunch for each member of the family is included in the price of the room, with dinner being available for only $5.00 more! The food is served in such a gracious and welcoming manner by staff people with smiles on their faces at all times. These men and women seem to genuinely love their jobs and care for the families they serve. This is a Christian organization that also provides support for a sister organization, Mission Ethiopia, that provides training and employment for 40 women. The staff are happy to take you to a local English-speaking international church on Sunday if you would like.

During our time in Ethiopia we had to fly to a different region to stay one night in a "fancy, expensive" hotel - the Samrat Hotel in Dire Dawa. That hotel was probably one of the finest in the area, but we both agreed that it was so wonderful when we got back "home" to our suites in the Ethiopian Guest Home. There was just no comparison in terms of comfort, cleanliness or hospitality.

I could go on and on, but be assured that if you choose to stay at one of the four Ethiopia Guest Homes in Addis (we were in Guest Home No. 4 - they are all within a block of each other), you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, that I was aware of (at least in No. 4). If you have any difficulty with s...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at Ethiopia Guest Home between court and embassy during our adoption of our second child from Ethiopia for over a month wiith our four children. We've stayed at several places in Addis, and this place is just unlike anywhere else. The staff are so helpful and friendly and will go out of your way for anything that you need and becamse like family to us. It was such a huge blessing to have all of the little detials taken care of for an extended stay and we would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Ethiopia Guest Home is a wonderful place to stay, whether your traveling for a vacation or to adopt a new child! The staff there are happy to help in anyway to make your family's transition smoother- they will make baby food, clean bottles, provide cribs/ baby bath tubs/ highchairs/ toys, and even "babysit" while you eat a quick bite to eat or take a shower. They are happy to call the airlines to confirm your reservations, cook all meals for you, do your laundry, arrange for a driver or translator, and all with a smile on their faces and genuine sincerity that makes staying here feel more like home.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation online, provide details regarding your trip or expectations in the no...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a truely wonderful time in Addis Ababa and the wonderful friendly staff of Ethiopia Guest Home, played a hugh part in making our experience a very happy one. We had a suite on the top floor and this was perfect for us, we saw great views from the balcony. The house was very clean and comfortable with a happy and safe family atmosphere with great meals. They even have an excellent laundry service. We found the staff were exceptionally helpful to us and gave assistance when it was needed. We also found the other guests at the home, were like minded people and we could relate to them as family.
This was our first time visiting Addis Ababa. Using the Ethiopia Guest Home as our base, we visited our sponsor child who lives in a rural location. The drivers and guides were excellent when we asked to be taken to the different locations around Addis Ababa nothing was ever too much trouble for them. The EGH staff would pack a lunch for us when we asked them too whenever we went out for the day.
We are planning to return to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia next year, and will be booking a room at the EGH. We can recommend EGH to anyone visiting Addis Ababa, especially for anyone visiting Ethiopia for the first time as staff will accompany the guests and translate for them on outings if requested.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 120 in Addis Ababa
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence Suite Hotel
The Residence Suite Hotel
#15 of 120 in Addis Ababa
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 120 in Addis Ababa
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel Apartment
Oasis Hotel Apartment
#81 of 249 in Addis Ababa
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kefetew Guest House
Kefetew Guest House
#10 of 249 in Addis Ababa
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethiopia Guest Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethiopia Guest Home

Address: Nefas Silk Area, House no 127 | Lafto Sub City, Addis Ababa 3135, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ethiopia Guest Home 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ethiopia Guest Home seeks to provide a four star environment ideal for adoptive parents, volunteer groups, or those seeking a more authentic cultural experience. Breakfast and lunch are included in your stay...as well as a professional one-hour massage, complimentary internet and free use of an Ethiopian cell phone. Most importantly, 100% of the profits go towards the cause of the orphan in Ethiopia! We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ethiopia Guest Home Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing