We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only the dogs could be banished”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mimosa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mimosa Hotel
Ranked #103 of 213 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If only the dogs could be banished”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

For travellers requiring a relatively inexpensive hotel in Addis, the Mimosa is adequate. The staff are helpful and the suite was clean and comfortable. However, the chorus of barking dogs through the night made our sleep problematic. The staff were very willing to change us to the back of the building where the dogs were marginally less bothersome.

The hotel is located in a laneway between two streets, one of which is a red light district. It is not within walking distance of the city centre of other areas of interest. Taxis are cheap but I would advise asking reception to call a taxi and prearrange a fare. One the second evening we went to the Serenade restaurant for dinner and although the receptionist arranged for a taxi to collect us afterwards, there was still strong haggling over the fare. By the way, the Serenade, although relatively expensive, served excellent food. It is located up a very dark alley way and our driver had great trouble finding it. Reference is made to it on page 101 in the 2009 edition of the Lonely Planet.

We are in our mid sixties and I will have to indicate that I would not recommend this hotel unless sleeping with hounds in not an issue. We booked a suite (not much more expensive that the rooms) which was large but I didn't see inside the rooms.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here I would suggest a suite and certainly ask to be located at the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I only spent one night here, having exhausted the better part of my funds on a perfectly non-descript (read: any motel in North America) room at the Hilton for ridiculous amounts of money. After several days on a solo trip in Northern Ethiopia (arranged by a really great tour company called Highway Tours), I asked the tour organiser to find me a cheap hotel in Addis, and he shortlisted a couple, one of which was this. I instantly felt at home here -- reception was really warm and friendly, and the hotel lobby is very airy and light. My room was good -- they were extremely accomodating (partially also because I came through the tour organiser, I suspect), and I got a huge room and bathroom - all spotlessly clean - and at a discount. Airy and light and Ethiopian budget hotels don't really go hand in hand, by the way.

Sure, there were hiccups -- a hole where the keyhole should be in the bathroom door, the television not plugged in and only showing a couple channels, but the size and spaciousness of my room more than made up for it. Plus, free laundry after getting your jeans caked with mud while hiking in the mountains = WIN.

Distance is an issue -- you can't just walk out and see the sights, but it's a quick taxi ride away. The hotel is also close to some great restaurants and nightclubs - at night you'd still require a cab, though.

In short: PROS: great staff, hearty breakfasts, free laundry and wi-fi, clean, airy, good clientele, free airport drops, will arrange cabs/transport if needed.
CONS: not close to the cultural sights - which is a big con. But for the money you save to stay here per night, you could get ten cabs to town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapatikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

So my biggest disclaimer here was the fact that i arrived at a disastrous time, there was no power, internet and water for the majoirty of the 2 nights i was there, not the fault of the hotel but just general problems with Ethiopian infrastructure. Sadly, the communication to guests by hotel staff was terrible with some staff not even telling guests that there was indeed a major problem and instead pretending that it would be back in 20 minutes.

The overall standard of service was very inconsistent. Stuff was sometimes on time, sometimes not. Some of the receptionists try to make money on the side by setting you up with their favoured taxi drivers who then ripped you off. On the other hand some other stuff were friendly.

When the hot water did return, it was like a trickle. And for the cost of the hotel it was pathetic.

However, all things said, the owner is fantastic, Mois, absolutely fantastic, he gave me a decent discount. Also there are many people who seem to stay there for months and i met some awesome people there all of whom said that the hotel was normally excellent I think i just came at a bad time, but i was overall dissapointed. would still recommend it as Addis does have some terrible places to stay in!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debaser1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed here for two nights prior to a trip to the Lower Omo Valley. Having visited Addis a couple of times before, this is definitely one of the best value options in the city. The airport pick-up was seamless. The hotel is located down a dirt back street (thus making it a quiet area), and is not situated close to any of the main tourist regions, so seeing anything from here is best by taxi rather than on foot. Staff were very friendly and welcoming on check-in, and I found that they were uniformly very pleasant throughout the hotel.

The room was a decent size with a good bathroom but getting the hot water to work was a bit of a problem. The room was well furnished by Ethiopian standards, but the TV reception was terrible. However, after a bit of fiddling with the antenna connection soon brought it to a more viewable standard.

Food at breakfast was more than acceptable, plus the restaurant and lobby area had the bonus of free Wi-Fi which was very handy. The whole hotel was very clean, bright and airy, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on any return visit to the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel for three months now and can recommend it to anyone who is looking for excellent value for a very reasonable rate. Highest rating goes to the cleanliness of the rooms; the food and the friendly nature of management & staff. Room rate includes breakfast, laundry and internet.

The hotel is central to all facilities including good restaurants, a great gym and shops within walking distance.

Highly recommended after staying at three other hotels in Addis prior to Mimosa

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnernsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Hotel is in a nice neighbourhood South East of Addis main centre on a quiet laneway. Hotel has relatively speedy WiFi and internet access is included in tarriff, as is laundry and breakfast. Staff are helpful, management cares about its guests, rooms are clean and represent excellent value. Some things are a bit slow (food/laundry), but overall, for the price and quality, this hotel is hard to beat!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
170 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

I booked online & everything worked out great! I was picked up at the airport (and when I checked out I was driven to my new location), free laundry, free breakfast, free internet (that was fast) & great staff.

The power went out during supper, but they brought all tables candles & had generator up quickly.

There was a variety or options for breakfast (pancakes), which I appreciated more after I left & had 2 wks of toast & eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#7 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Hotel

Property: Mimosa Hotel
Address: Bole Area, near Yole building, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing