We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Block B”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #59 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel met my basic needs for a one-week business trip: clean, fairly quiet room and no bugs. However, don't expect much in the way of amenities: I arrived to find no bottled water and no toilet paper. The bed wasn't much more than a board with a sheet over it and the "kitchen" had nothing in the way of plates, glassware or utensils -- not even a pot for heating water. There was no safe, so I had to carry all money and passport with me the entire trip.
The good news is that the staff tries to please, bringing water and toilet paper within a few hours of being asked. The housekeepers brought a fluffy comforter to help another guest who also found the bed too hard. Block B is in need of an update; bathtub plumbing seems to be crumbling out of the wall and the dim lights make the shabby furnishings look dingier. The internet is spotty and only reliable on the top floor. They do breakfast well on some days with a good mix of continental and Ethiopian choices, other days it was very picked over and not restocked. There are certainly better and more expensive hotels in Addis, and no doubt many that are worse, but I don't think I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid cellblock B and look to see if rooms in the other towers are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strangersblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

There are a few positives to the Ambassador, but it's harder to think of them when you're sleep deprived! From nearby churches (or rather the all-night singing that takes place within them), to live music, to generators, the woeful single glazing can't compete, leaving you to enjoy the seriously rock hard bed while wide awake and cursing. Maybe there are quieter rooms, as not all of my colleagues had the same problem - if you must stay here, avoid the first floor! A couple of power and water outages also haven't exactly enhanced my stay here either.

But anyway, those positives - the location is good, rooms are clean, wifi generally worked throughout the week I have been staying here, and the breakfast is pretty good too, lots of Ethiopian and European options in the buffet. Most of the stuff in the gym works, though it's a bit bleak. There are surely way better places for the price, though.. Oh and just to back up Nick B's review, their advert's claim that it is walking distance from the airport is indeed a massive fib. They do have a good shuttle service from the airport, though.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samitjec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Bole Ambassador whilst on a business trip to Addis. Whilst it is conveniently located to the airport, be warned that some advertising I saw for the hotel (Ethiopian Airlines in-flight magazine) suggested that it was just a few minutes walk from the airport terminal. It is not, and should you venture on the journey by foot be warned that you risk life and limb crossing the local roads.

Hotel staff were very pleasant. My room was big and clean but:

The bed was really hard. Did it have a matress or was I sleeping on a board

Wi-fi access is intermittent at best. I changed rooms in search of better access, but this was only marginally better.

There was no hot water for the shower - also prompting a room change, but to no avail. A colleague on another floor had exactly the same problems.

The restaurant was "interesting". Someone got my dinner order dreadfully wrong; tomato soup instead of chicken; a burger instead of spaghetti ....The requested beer never materialized. There was nothing recognizable (to a European) for breakfast other than a spare selection of fruit, sliced whit bread (no toaster) and some hard cheese and preserve.

Room Tip: Check for wifi - and hot water as soon as you have been shown a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nothing that wrong with the hotel - the room was nothing fancy but was clean and secure, and staff were friendly - but equally there was nothing much great about it and the price was high. The wireless didn't work in the three days that I was there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The day spent at Bole Ambassador Hotel was due to a missed connecting Flight. Transfers into the hotel/ apartment was quick.
The Hotel is in a very quiet neighborhood and therefore relaxing is easy.
The breakfast was really excellent. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for the dinner that we were served. The dinner was bland and cold, did not cater for vegetarians and service was poor and slow. I do hope this can be improved since most transit clients are famished, tired and highly stressed- taking into consideration that they've just missed an important connecting flight and are not at the hotel by choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The location near the airport is convenient but not charming
The rooms are surprisingly large and tidy. Good!
There is a small gym that just does the job.
Breakfast and meals on the other hand are good

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrosisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

on my trip to Addis, my friend recomanded the Bole Ambassador Hotel. What a nice place, clean room, nice staffs, wonderful food. Just the internet is not that good, and the wifi break down suddenly some times. The maintenance guys always comes a little late.

Room Tip: There are three blocks, C block is quiter. The high stairs is newly decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiaolei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#47 of 124 in Addis Ababa
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#11 of 124 in Addis Ababa
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence Suite Hotel
The Residence Suite Hotel
#15 of 124 in Addis Ababa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 124 in Addis Ababa
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 124 in Addis Ababa
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#8 of 124 in Addis Ababa
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Bole Road | 400 meters from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $68 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBASSADOR Hotel is a four star hotel located in a walking distance from Bole international Airport and a door step to the millennium hall. It is also surrounded by tourist attractions, shopping malls, ticketing offices, entertainment establishments, embassies and International Organizations. AMBASSADOR Hotel is free from noise and visual pollution which gives your guests safety and comfort. Our newly opened expansion increase our capacity to 196 luxuriously appointed all types of rooms that feature high speed WI-FI internet access, satellite TV and amenities to present you with the perfect balance of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing