We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wat a Hotel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
1 review
“"Wat a Hotel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Food in the restaurant is fine. Unfortunately the hotel is surrounded by building sites but presumably this is temporary.Internet free in the rooms in the mean time there is on guy at the Reception i forget his name he is helpful also he every were,he make your stay easy and smooth with smile.Rooms are a spacious with separate bedroom and sitting room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhdfuhchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    53
    38
    19
    5
See reviews for
6
19
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Bole Ambassador is a good hotel near the airport. The rooms are spacious, though the furnishings are outdated. There are 2 buildings and I think the newer building has more newer looking rooms. But I stayed in the old building, so I can only talk about that.
The gym is good and the business center is also well made. Wi-fi has decent speed though skype might be a little difficult at times.
Food is of good quality and the staff is courteous. But there are no toiletries in the washrooms. So you have to carry your own shampoo, body lotions etc... This is the only negative point that I found about Bole...
Otherwise, thumbs up...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KohinoorBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay there. It's close to the main road. Plus it's in a safe location. Wifi is pretty good. Breakfast included. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martino7468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I spent 5 great nights at the Bole Ambassador back in July. I really do not think you can beat the quality of this hotel for the price. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the full breakfast that is included with the room cost is very good.

The best part, for me, was the freshly pulled espresso they served up in the lobby restaurant every morning. You simply cannot beat Ethiopian coffee!

The wireless internet was pretty consistent. There were a few times where it would stop working intermittently, but it would come back on quickly. The speed of the connection was pretty good.

The location is very good - close to the airport and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. I enjoyed my stay very much and am bummed that they are sold out for my trip back in a couple of weeks!

Room Tip: A high floor opposite the road (it can get a little noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank econometricsquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

My stay at Bole Ambassador hotel from 30th November - 3rd December 2011 (Room No: 415) was an excellent experiance. The apartments are neat,spacious and everything works in the room including fast internet.The toilets are clean with 24 hours running hot water and lighting.I call it a 5 minutes hotel because everything is done and settled within 5 minutes be it room service,restaurant,Bar, checking in or settling your bills to hiring a cab with hotel assistance.The hotel is well located with banks,Malls and other services required on day to day basis
Special thanks to all the staff of Bole Ambassador hotel including Mr. Abraham who is always there to assist you round the clock.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room No: 415 and was a good apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singh1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

The room has two seperate areas for sleeping and sitting. Sitting area is spacious but the bed room is small and cramped. the toilet was smelling. the lighting in both areas is poor. one can not read in that light if he wishes to do so. the general decor of the room is not good and depressing. Did not feel satisfied after stay and likely to avoid in future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhushan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had gone 2 celebrate our 25 th wedding anniversary.
Our stay here was very comfortable & memorable.
The best part was its closeness to the airport so it was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiroovij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#20 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Residence Suite Hotel
The Residence Suite Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#17 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Bole Road | 400 meters from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBASSADOR Hotel is a four star hotel located in a walking distance from Bole international Airport and a door step to the millennium hall. It is also surrounded by tourist attractions, shopping malls, ticketing offices, entertainment establishments, embassies and International Organizations. AMBASSADOR Hotel is free from noise and visual pollution which gives your guests safety and comfort. Our newly opened expansion increase our capacity to 196 luxuriously appointed all types of rooms that feature high speed WI-FI internet access, satellite TV and amenities to present you with the perfect balance of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing