We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home to the Harmony Hotel.”
Review of Harmony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harmony Hotel
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Welcome Home to the Harmony Hotel.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Harmony hotel twice during a recent visit to Ethiopia. I was traveling alone and celebrating my birthday. When the hotel's front office manger, Eyouel Ashagre, noticed that I was checking in on my birthday as a solo traveler, he certainly ensured that I would have something to talk about for years to come by surprising me with flowers, a cake, and a card. I was thoroughly overcome by his thoughtfulness; the kindness that he showed to me, a complete stranger, was beyond belief.

The Harmony hotel is fully equipped with a restaurant, buna (coffee) bar, pool, gym, beauty salon, and massage room. (45 minute Swedish massages are less than $25 USD.) Room rates include free wifi, airport transfers, and breakfast.

The hotel's front office manger understands the meaning of outstanding customer service and personally ensures guests are treated like royalty.

The Harmony stands firmly as a major competitor in Ethiopia's growing tourism industry and because many business conferences are held on site, the hotel has a very strict security protocol to protect guests.

Pass on the Hilton. You'll get much more for your money at the Harmony Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Lisa,
Many thanks for your positive comments and recommendation. we are delighted to learn that you were satisfied with the service delivered and have enjoyed your stay with us. We very much hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Addis.


kind regards,

Eyouel Ashagre
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    135
    77
    28
    15
See reviews for
21
22
46
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

It's unbelievable how bad and unfriendly a 4star hotel can treat you. At first being upgraded it all looks promising, we soon found out that the room next door was rebuild. So much noise!! The willingness to make the disturbance stop was none... Even after speaking to the manager. In short: never again!

PS not even mentioning the leakage and floading in the newly build bathroom. Or the bellboys complaining about our luggage etc.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mark,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments. We have noted your mention of the noise and we will act upon it immediately. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. We look forward to welcome you next time you are in Addis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The airport shuttle bus was on time, we were met with very friendly people. The hotel is 10 minutes from the airport. Upon arrival at the hotel, however, we were met with quite unfriendly, unhelpful staff at check in. It seemed to be a huge effort to give us the wireless password, and when we asked where the restaurant was, we were curtly told that it was upstairs. We had to ask repeatedly for its location, and for opening times. There is no service, or information for tourists at this hotel. After asking repeatedly for advice, and being answered quite rudely, we gave up. The hotel's bar area is a good place to meet other guests to ask for places to visit. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was sufficient. It is such a pity that the staff were so unhelpful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adcat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We apologize for the dissatisfaction you faced during check in and services, i have taken note on this, and will make sure it will not happen a again .

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back to Harmony Hotel.

Eyouel Ashagre
Frontoffice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Room was spacious, had good facilities and balcony. The carpet was badly stained and the bathroom fittings were 5 years beyond their design life. (It was properly cleaned though.) It's this that drives the average rating.
Room door also had an alarm if you left it open too long.
The gym and pool were absolutely excellent.
The bar in reception was a great place to meet, both casual business meetings and chatting with fellow travellers. Very efficient staff.
Location to airport and other meeting locations was pretty good too

Room Tip: Ask for one with a clean carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjc992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
let me start by thanking you for sharing your opinion of our hotel on Trip Advisor, direct guest feedback like yours is an important tool to gage our performance. Your comments are appreciated and extremely valuable for us to improve our services in the future.

I’ve taken note of your comment regarding the alarm in the door , and I’m happy to inform you that we have already changed the carpet with stain .
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel next time you are in Addis.

Eyouel Ashagre
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed for the second time at Harmony Hotel, in Addis for two months of August and September. I had my room at the new building. I have stayed at other 5 star hotels in Addis like Intercontinental before.
I have found this hotel to meet and exceed the " standards" of a 5 star Hotel. The rooms are big, well decorated, comfortable, bed, large and clean bathroom. Have free wired and wireless access to Internet.
The staff of this hotel starting from the guards, the reception team, the waiters, both at the bars and at the restaurant are simply extraordinary. They are so humble and polite and efficient. Above all they are exceptionally honest and loyal.
I think the staff at this Hotel are extraordinary and I strongly believe that it reflects the quality of the leadership, which appears to freely percolate all the way down to the cleaners.
I do recommend this hotel to any body with out any reservation. You will definitely get your money's worth if enjoyment and rest at this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the new building are simply top qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR Tseggai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Dr.Tseggai

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us your review and positive comments. we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services delivered were as per your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel next time you are in Addis.


kind regards,
Eyouel Ashagre
Front-office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a friend. It was a good choice. It is not too far from the airport.

My room was very spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was excellent. The television had a wide selection of channels.

Perhaps the best feature of the hotel is the Consierge Desk. I am not very familiar with Addis Ababa, so whenever I went to ask for advice, I was given just the advice I needed and I was never made to feel a burden or a fool. The staff were all friendly, delightful and very helpful.

I only ate breakfast in the hotel, which is a fairly standard buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear William,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Harmony Hotel! It was a pleasure to read your comments and we are still working to exceed Guests expectation considering your valuable comments . The management and the team promise to keep up the good work. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with other guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With Kind regards,

Eyouel Ashagre
Front office manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a hotel that tries very hard. Most of the staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are clean. But little annoyances pop up routinely, e.g. mediocre food, flooded bathroom floors at each shower, occasional noise disturbances. If they can fix those things, this would be my preferred up-scale hotel in Addis in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mferng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Harmony Hotel! It was a pleasure to read your comments and we will definitely fix all the recommended areas that need improvement . The management and the team promise to keep up the good work. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with other guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With best regards,

Eyouel Ashagre
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#9 of 118 in Addis Ababa
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
#11 of 118 in Addis Ababa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 118 in Addis Ababa
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#32 of 118 in Addis Ababa
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel

Property: Harmony Hotel
Address: Bole Medhanialem, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened, Harmony Hotel represents an initial investment of over US$10 million and brings it to the forefront of four star accommodation venues in this rapidly growing East Africa hub. Situated 1½ kms from the Ring Road and 5 minutes from Bole International Airport, Harmony Hotel is conveniently located in the Bole Medhanialem area of the city within short walking distance of shopping malls, Multiplex cinema and an array of bars, restaurants and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harmony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing