We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good alternative to the Hilton and Sheraton”
Review of Harmony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harmony Hotel
Ranked #26 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've been coming to Ethiopia on international public health projectes since 1997 and stayed in everything from the Ghion, to the HIlton, to the Sheraton, which is my preferred hotel, until several friends recommended the Harmony which I tried for the first time in June. The suites are almost half the cost of the Sheraton standard rooms and with mini kitchenettes and living rooms, a far better value. The gym, the spa and new swimming pool (covered indoor/outdoor pool) are all a welcome and competitive addition. (While the Sheraton has an expansive resort style pool, it still lacks a gym.) The hotel is in walking distance to my favorite restaurant in Addis, the Belgium restaurant, La Madeleine, and is across the street from the only Apple authorized store (for ethernet converters, etc.) and attached to the Edna Mall. The only downside, which should abate soon, is the construction noise, as the hotel seems to be constantly in a state of expansion with the spa, pool, etc. especially in the "new wing". My colleagues prefer the old wing as a matter of taste and character, although I preferred the new wing, although the noise was significant especially on the second floor...The rooms have broadband and wi fi is available in the hotel lounges (both new and old sections). The new section has a nice bar with good wine and is thankfully non-smoking. As others have mentioned the reservation system can be dicey, and I would call ahead to confirm a reservation, and if you desire a specific room, I would recommend pre-paying.

Room Tip: Ask about construction and plan your room selection accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Susan,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Harmony Hotel! It was a pleasure to read your comments and we will definitely fix all the recommended areas that need improvement . The management and the team promise to keep up the good work. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with other guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With best regards,

Eyouel Ashagre
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Of the 3 hotels I've stayed at in Addis, this is definitely the best. The room was specious, clean, and overall well maintained. Our room was updated and more modern than other hotels in the area, so I appreciated that. The breakfasts (included) were decent, but not great. There are good lounge areas for wifi and late night tea, coffee, or drinks. The location is very central and near some restaurants (walking distance), but I wasn't a fan of the traffic. It seemed worse on this trip with tons of construction all around the hotel. There really wasn't much of any hospitality and the service wasn't great. The hotel also seemed a bit pricey. So, I'd say the Harmony Hotel is good overall, but not great.

Room Tip: ask for updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in one the of Queen rooms for a week. The room is big /as compared to European or US hotel rooms), there is aircon and one window you can open (a bit). Bathroom OK, but in spite of the impressive enclosed shower place, the whole room will be filled with water after a shower. The hotel restaurant serve both buffet and a la carte. Buffet is OK - both Ethiopian style and international style dishes. Breakfast is merely OK; not too good coffee (and we are in Ethiopia), but possibility of having your own designed omelet. Internet access is - like always in Ethiopia - scarce and come and go; the only thing you can be sure of is that it is S-L-O-W. Service at the Harmony is great, nice staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikael.bjerrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Even though it was a short stay, it surely was a plesant one! Staff is very friendly, location is perfect for business trips (very close to the airport) and the service is outstanding! What I was most impressed with was the room! So much space, soothing colors, spacious bed. Excellent, indeed!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Naila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyouel, Front Office Manager at Harmony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Naila,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Harmony Hotel! It was a pleasure to read your comments . The management and the team promise to keep up the good work. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with other guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With best regards,

Eyouel Ashagre
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights during a business trip. Great location, close to the airport and in quite a modern area where you can easily go down for a walk and a look at the shops, with several options for having dinner or a coffee outside the hotel. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms comfortable. There's wifi in the lobby and internet by cable in the room, which worked quite well. Free airport shuttle included in the rates. Will be nice when they open the pool!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise_CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed in the Harmony Hotel, old wing last month.

The rooms are OK, service is OK, Breakfast is OK...for the price paid its value for money. However, the wifi sevices are poor. Internet Cable available in room but internet service is not always available

I will stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciru W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

After spending three months in a not-so-great lodge in southern Ethiopia, Harmony Hotel was a very nice experience.

I tried reserving a room online, but I never received an email notification, so I called to reserve a room. I would definitely recommend the Hotel improves its online booking system so they don't oversee any customers.

The shuttle from the airport was very late, but it eventually came. I was dropped off at the Hotel and checked in quickly. A staff member escorted me to my room, and when I opened the door, I was very impressed with the room - big (almost too big for just me), beautiful bathroom, spacious shower, large, comfy bed, and kitchen.

The internet didn't work in the room, so I went downstairs to the bar in the lobby to use the wifi. The bartender can tell you the password.

The dinner buffet was nice. The food tasted good and was reasonably priced. Breakfast (included in the room rate) was decent, too.

The shuttle back to the airport was available immediately, which was nice since I left very early in the morning.

I hope western travelers don't automatically select a big-name hotel like the Hilton just because of name recognition. The Harmony Hotel is definitely up to western standards. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 124 in Addis Ababa
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#29 of 124 in Addis Ababa
142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 124 in Addis Ababa
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#11 of 124 in Addis Ababa
111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel

Address: Bole Medhanialem, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $78 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened, Harmony Hotel represents an initial investment of over US$10 million and brings it to the forefront of four star accommodation venues in this rapidly growing East Africa hub. Situated 1½ kms from the Ring Road and 5 minutes from Bole International Airport, Harmony Hotel is conveniently located in the Bole Medhanialem area of the city within short walking distance of shopping malls, Multiplex cinema and an array of bars, restaurants and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harmony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing