We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant”

Addis Ababa Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 331 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

Addis Ababa Restaurant, located in one of the oldest areas of the city, is worth stopping at to taste deliciously hot Ethiopian cuisine, the Ethiopian delicacy - Tire Siga (tender raw meat served with different spices), home brewed mead-like alcoholic beverage known as "Tej", and the Ethiopian Coffee Ceremony. The building reflects great architecture. My favorite here is "Yefisik Beyaynet" which is a variety of meals served and shared in one plate. It costs between 200 - 250 Ethiopian Birr.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank EthiopiaTours88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2017

It is a nice experience to travel back to old times of our fathers as the area was one of the down town of the country. the place where the city guys and ladies use to hang out. the interior depicts typical Ethiopian house decoration, the food is authentic and has Ethiopian taste.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Tewodros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely terrible food experience I ever had and I am Ethiopian. They don't know how to treat customers right. at all. Period.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Shataye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017

This was one of the best meals we had during our two-week trip around Ethiopia. Delicious mahbarawi platter, tej, and beer in a gorgeous newly built tulkul interior, within walking distance of the Piazza. The service was attentive, with a chef/manager personally coming by to ask how we were enjoying our experience. Seems to be a popular haunt for locals. Someone told us it was his favorite restaurant in the city.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Service
1  Thank hungryandhungrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016

Definitely a must try when in Addis Ababa! Local restaurant with local setting and local and delicious Ethiopian food. Nothing fancy, a bit pricey. An experience available from other restaurants in the city! Some service staff do not speak English so can't recommend food to order, especially for kids options. We managed though. A delightful experience.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Ababa Restaurant also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Addis Ababa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing