We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal, lovely ambiance and excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castelli Restaurant

Castelli Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 255 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, lovely ambiance and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved our meal at Castelli's! We had heard wonderful recommendations from friends and were not disappointed. The antipasto, wine, pasta, tiramisu and steak were all delicious and reasonably priced. I would definitely return to savor a delicious Italian meal at Castelli's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    110
    67
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We came here twice. The Pasta is the star of the show as it should be. Depending on what day you visit you may have to book a table. We didn't and got in both times. Most of the crowd seemed like NGO's, embassy staff. not many backpackers in the place.
Yes it costs but it is a treat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff are rude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

When arriving there is no welcome; staff are rude although the food is good.
There is a need for a geater focus on customer service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 21peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our hotel recommended this place - it was superb.

Had grilled vegetables, salad and lasagna - as good as anything in rome. Couple of glasses of pretty good house wine - all for under 30 bucks

Great ambiance - apparently the place has been going for nearly 60 years.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Italian cusine and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A must if you want good food in town but beware european prices which for Addis are expensive. I don't like Ethio cuisine so this place is a fab alternative. Basically the real deal in terms of Italian.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 235BenMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelli Restaurant also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Castelli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing