We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican in Addis!”
Review of Family Restaurant

Family Restaurant
Ranked #137 of 257 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mexican in Addis!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just in time for cinco de mayo...
Although you have to ask and pay for extra cheese for any burrito to include it - it is worth it!
Next time will try the margarita and let you know...
Warm chocolate cake with ice cream was a let-down...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MazzyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“boritos”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

the one place i can find beans and corn in my food, service can be better

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Edie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
503 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“The only place I know you can get a bacon and egg breakfast”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The only place I know in Addis where you can get a western style breakfast of bacon and eggs at weekends. The bacon is local and poor but if you are desperate it is a lifesaver.

On the other hand the mexican is a nice change in Addis and good.

The place is good for business lunches and poular with locals (I took my whole team there).

Normally quiet with average decor, it is however a nice place for lunch - not sure it is sophisticated enough for a candlelit dinner!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best desserts in Addis Ababa”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is one of the few mexican food restaurants that I have experienced in Addis Ababa. The food is good for the area but they have quite a good selection of creative desserts. The restaurant has never been busy and the service has always been great.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrustyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food OK”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

A wide menu, but maybe too wide - would be better to do less at better quality. Desserts are very good.

Helpful?
Thank JPM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing