We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!!”

China Bar And Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 257 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My Son and I travel to Ethiopia every other year to visit our sponsored children and sometimes stay at the Ghion Hotel we always make a point to have a few meals at the China Bar.. great friendly service and wonderful food .. The Manager has always remembered us and makes a point to stop and say hello ....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We visited here once whilst staying at the Ghion. Easy walk and provided an alternative dining option. Food was good - good size portions and tasty. Although more expensive for Addis the price was very reasonable compared to UK prices (as was most of Addis). Friendly waiter - although very quiet - would go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Working lunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Old Chinese restaurant in Addis Ababa. The food is still consistent and good.
The devils spicy soup is worth a try. Not as spicy as expected but really tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and wine; Friendly service”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Enjoyed two visits to the China Bar Restaurant. The food was very good in each visit. As with most Chinese restaurants, the variety of choices is excellent...something to please every palate. There was a decent selection of wines and the service was very good. We would return there again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brian157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
351 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - good atmosphere and food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The place has been around for ages and service is very good. There's a door man and the waiters do not loose any time escorting you to the table and noting your order. Interior is very nice with the ceiling covered in traditional Chinese wooden panels. Food is good by Addis standards and average by international standards. It's also quite pricy with 8-10 dollars for a main dish such as sweet and sour chicken/pork. The only thing that sucks is the flat screen TV placed against the wall showing CNN. Do we really need this??? Overall a good place worth a visit for both the ambience as well as food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Bar And Restaurant also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to China Bar And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing