We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of Serenade

Serenade
Ranked #92 of 262 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was ready to feel guilty for visiting a slightly swanky, westernized restaurant even though I was visiting Ethiopia, but I must say I was a little underwhelmed. The bread and dips brought out first were amazing, but the 'mediterranean sushi' was oddly sweet and the main course was good but not great. Admittedly, it's a great meal for the very reasonable prices (though watch the wine - much more expensive than the food!), but not really a guilty pleasure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A friend of mine and I tried to find Serenade twice and somehow missed it. Finally last night we were successful. I have to say the atmosphere was cozy, service was good and the food was also good. The building is wonderfully decorated, there was a fire in the fireplace and overall it was a wonderful place to have a good dinner. If you are in Addis give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Africache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“lovely food!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a lovely little restaurant with amazing food. It is a fusion of middle eastern but also still some ethiopian - lovely flavours and excellent ideas. The service is very good and outside there is a garden and art exhibitions - perfect combination - highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing flavor”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My 3 daughters and I just returned from an incredible trip to Ethiopia. The owner of the resturant came out and visited with us and gave us suggestions that proved to be wonderful. The Artichoke soup, and coconut sauce were two of our favorites. We also visited his other resturant Lime tree. I would highly recommend both. Amazingly delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, but small portions”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a beautifully set restaurant and art house, with great pieces for sale. But it was very difficult to locate, and the food portions were tiny

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serenade also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Serenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing