We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not worth it”
Review of Ras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ras Hotel
Ranked #91 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I stayed there with a small group. We got the manager of our tour company to contact them on our arrival day and request that all the rooms has hot water and that any water heaters be switched on - we had been camping in Awash and had a tight schedule on the night we arrived in Addis. About half the rooms had no hot water, and it was clear that nobody had done anything about checking to make sure they had. Maybe this was in part due to the fact that they could not get into the rooms in the first place as some of the key cards were not working. These were their 'new' rooms.

The following day we spent sightseeing out of Addis, and had requested that the water problem be fixed. It was not and again nothing had been done - and this time when we arrived none of the key cards worked. The manager, who by this time I had taken an intense dislike of, was clearly lazy and incompetent. They had sent the hotels maintainance man up to the rooms a few times (and from talking to other guests he was clearly very busy) but he was of no use. Eventually after getting very vocal, the outside contractor turned and fixed the problem in about 10 minutes.

The whole place had a very run-down feel to it and was very dirty. My room was not cleaned at all (just the beds made up) during the day we were away, and the packed breakfast they gave us was inedible. On the first night I went to the bar and asked for a drink to take up to my room. The several people behind the bar were adamant that I had to call room service from my room for that. I went to my room (4th floor, no lift) only to find there was no phone! I was due too stay an extra night after the group went home but I checked out and went to the Global Hotel (great place) and this was despite the manager offering me first one, then two nights freee accommodation.

Iif you want to experience the art deco charm of the place, then call in for a drink but there are much better places to stay in Addis foor that price.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2008

Good option for centre Addis, huge but easy, clean rooms, safe boxes at the reception, $27 a double with TV and no way to get a cheaper one without a tele despite the price list says the opposite. Abeba Tours and Galaxy Express offices, internet cafe, restaurant with a terrace, perfect location, 50 birr 20 minutes to the airport, half an hour walk to the Piazza and 10 minutes 30 birr drive to Bole street. There's a storage room to leave stuff behind for several days for free. State-run so don't expect warm-hearted welcome at the reception, but they do their work perfectly smooth and even accept Visa cards and change dollars, euros and pounds.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kalmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank nroux23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank koreanjapanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: coté rue meilleure vue mais un peu plus bruyante le jour , la nuit a partir de 21 h plus personne d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MINOU1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: постарайтесь брать номер на втором этаже, номера на первом много хуже и в них обычно селят местных
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.1 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#20 of 124 in Addis Ababa
32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 124 in Addis Ababa
141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 124 in Addis Ababa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ghion Hotel
Ghion Hotel
#90 of 124 in Addis Ababa
268 reviews
2.1 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 124 in Addis Ababa
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $59 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Ras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing