We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As far as value goes, it doesn't get much better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ras Hotel
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As far as value goes, it doesn't get much better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is by no means a wonderful hotel BUT for the price, it's probably the best there is! I stayed here a total of 3 nights after checking out of the unfortunate National Hotel and was very pleased with my decision.

Rate was 587 birr (about $32), so it was the cheapest place I stayed in Addis but one of my favorites. Here is why.

-Location. Loved this central location, by the post office and by the Ethiopian Airline office, 10 minute walk to Meskel square or to Churchill Ave. shopping, right by a supermarket, and a short minibus ride to Piazza.
-Atmosphere. This place had a great vibe. A good mix of foreigners and locals. Unlike, say, the Radisson, it felt like I was in Ethiopia. Awesome outdoor space in front with restaurant, for dining or just people watching.
-Wood flooring in room. This was a refreshing change from the norm.
-Clean small room was well designed and had just about everything I needed. Okay, a hook or bar for a towel in the bathroom is lacking, but that's the only thing I can think of.
-Quiet! Except for some occasional bark-offs by the neighborhood dogs, this was a surprisingly quiet spot.
-Shower and toilet are two separate rooms. Shower worked every time. Water goes everywhere, but it's a small nuisance, and luckily it's confined to the separate room.
-Cheap massages. I got a $7 massage. It wasn't the best, and was only 35 minutes instead of the 45 advertised, but still pretty good deal!
-Luggage storage was available and secure.
-Internet cafe in the lobby. About 24 birr per hour ($1.30).

I stayed at maybe 12 places in various parts of the country and this was one of my favorites. Not super comfy but interesting and memorable.

Room Tip: I stayed in 118.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
5
18
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights before heading out on our tour of Ethiopia. The room (second floor) was basic but the bathroom was remodeled with plenty of warm water. You can see the former prestige that this hotel must have once had but much of the charm seems to have faded.

We ate at both the restaurant on the second floor (traditional Ethiopian with a coffee ceremony) and on the main floor off the lobby. The food was good at both and there are nice breakfast options available. The main floor restaurant was also a good place to people-watch, as it seemed to be a common place for locals to meet and converse.

The staff was accommodating and the front desk was helpful in pointing us places and calling us cabs. All in all, the Ras Hotel met our needs with no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beanvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Dirty, dusty and moldy rooms. Bathroom was even more dirty and horrible. Possibly they offer better rooms too for diferent prices. But the staff tried to charge us absurd prices. After lot of discussion we could pay the normal price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanneke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Centrally located. Amazingly nice staff. Very clean. If you want luxury and fancy: this is not the place to stay... But they make you feel like home. Food is excellent. I was alone and they took great care of me. The great thing about Ras is that you are amongst Ethiopians who are coming every day and having coffee, drinks and meet there. They will soon have wifi in the whole building. They were working on it when I left. There is no doubt next trip to Addis : I will stay at Ras and nowhere else

Room Tip: 2nd floor - ground fllor rooms are cheaper but hot water might not be guaranted
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathkingcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Centrally located, reasonably clean, with some quiet rooms. But the rooms need freshening up, and the whole establishment seems tired and rather charmless. I guess there are better options at this price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beijingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We loved our stay here. The food in the restaurant was really good and at great prices. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gudhjem
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

As for other hotels the most important thing is location, location and location. The hotel is next to the Piazza, the International Bank, train- and bus station as well as within 5 minutes walking distance to the Main post office. Staff was exceptionally helpful during my stay, and the waitresses and waiters serving the ground floor restaurant and the excellent streetside bistro, that fills with quiet locals during the afternoon. The hotel has charm! Second floor rooms are reasonably spacious, this the floor where Nelson Mandela stayed. And housekeeping prompt and efficient. Also on the second floor is the restaurant serving fine ethiopian dishes. The hotel lacks an elevator, no wifi in rooms, no fridge, and a telephone that can only make local calls. This is no problem if you have a mobile, and there is an excellent and cheap internet facility on the ground floor next to the restaurant. No swimmingpool, no spa. Not suitable for noisy tour groups! or for those who dislike history.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilsfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lion's Den Hotel
The Lion's Den Hotel
#21 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ghion Hotel
Ghion Hotel
#76 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#22 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.9 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Hotel

Property: Ras Hotel
Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Ras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing