We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Low budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ras Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ras Hotel
Save
You added Ras Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Low budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Centrally located. Amazingly nice staff. Very clean. If you want luxury and fancy: this is not the place to stay... But they make you feel like home. Food is excellent. I was alone and they took great care of me. The great thing about Ras is that you are amongst Ethiopians who are coming every day and having coffee, drinks and meet there. They will soon have wifi in the whole building. They were working on it when I left. There is no doubt next trip to Addis : I will stay at Ras and nowhere else

Room Tip: 2nd floor - ground fllor rooms are cheaper but hot water might not be guaranted
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathkingcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
5
17
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
289 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Centrally located, reasonably clean, with some quiet rooms. But the rooms need freshening up, and the whole establishment seems tired and rather charmless. I guess there are better options at this price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beijingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We loved our stay here. The food in the restaurant was really good and at great prices. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gudhjem
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

As for other hotels the most important thing is location, location and location. The hotel is next to the Piazza, the International Bank, train- and bus station as well as within 5 minutes walking distance to the Main post office. Staff was exceptionally helpful during my stay, and the waitresses and waiters serving the ground floor restaurant and the excellent streetside bistro, that fills with quiet locals during the afternoon. The hotel has charm! Second floor rooms are reasonably spacious, this the floor where Nelson Mandela stayed. And housekeeping prompt and efficient. Also on the second floor is the restaurant serving fine ethiopian dishes. The hotel lacks an elevator, no wifi in rooms, no fridge, and a telephone that can only make local calls. This is no problem if you have a mobile, and there is an excellent and cheap internet facility on the ground floor next to the restaurant. No swimmingpool, no spa. Not suitable for noisy tour groups! or for those who dislike history.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilsfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finote Selam, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Ras takes advantage of its mention in tour books, charging an absurd amount to tourists for rooms that are only mediocre at best. Its ground-floor rooms are moldy and toxic. Its better rooms are not worth more than 200 birr/night. Take your money and go elsewhere in Addis.

Room Tip: Avoid ground-floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Ras hotel is centrally located. Though my room was basic it was clean and comfortable. They have a small shop and several restaurants, in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MindyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in 2009 on and off over a period of 2 weeks. It was good value for money, but the rooms were run down. I went to check the rooms last week for a a friend who is coming and asked to see the rooms. All the rooms on the floor were I was staying were renovated, bathrooms are brand new, it seems clean and it is now at 450 birr a night for a twin a rather good value for a central location and a nice self service breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Damu Hotel
Damu Hotel
#52 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ghion Hotel
Ghion Hotel
#53 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Churchill Hotel
Churchill Hotel
#77 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#23 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Soramba
Hotel Soramba
#72 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Hotel

Property: Ras Hotel
Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing