We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Low budget hotel”
Review of Ras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ras Hotel
Ranked #93 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Centrally located. Amazingly nice staff. Very clean. If you want luxury and fancy: this is not the place to stay... But they make you feel like home. Food is excellent. I was alone and they took great care of me. The great thing about Ras is that you are amongst Ethiopians who are coming every day and having coffee, drinks and meet there. They will soon have wifi in the whole building. They were working on it when I left. There is no doubt next trip to Addis : I will stay at Ras and nowhere else

Room Tip: 2nd floor - ground fllor rooms are cheaper but hot water might not be guaranted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathkingcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Centrally located, reasonably clean, with some quiet rooms. But the rooms need freshening up, and the whole establishment seems tired and rather charmless. I guess there are better options at this price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beijingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We loved our stay here. The food in the restaurant was really good and at great prices. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

As for other hotels the most important thing is location, location and location. The hotel is next to the Piazza, the International Bank, train- and bus station as well as within 5 minutes walking distance to the Main post office. Staff was exceptionally helpful during my stay, and the waitresses and waiters serving the ground floor restaurant and the excellent streetside bistro, that fills with quiet locals during the afternoon. The hotel has charm! Second floor rooms are reasonably spacious, this the floor where Nelson Mandela stayed. And housekeeping prompt and efficient. Also on the second floor is the restaurant serving fine ethiopian dishes. The hotel lacks an elevator, no wifi in rooms, no fridge, and a telephone that can only make local calls. This is no problem if you have a mobile, and there is an excellent and cheap internet facility on the ground floor next to the restaurant. No swimmingpool, no spa. Not suitable for noisy tour groups! or for those who dislike history.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilsfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Ras takes advantage of its mention in tour books, charging an absurd amount to tourists for rooms that are only mediocre at best. Its ground-floor rooms are moldy and toxic. Its better rooms are not worth more than 200 birr/night. Take your money and go elsewhere in Addis.

Room Tip: Avoid ground-floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Ras hotel is centrally located. Though my room was basic it was clean and comfortable. They have a small shop and several restaurants, in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MindyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in 2009 on and off over a period of 2 weeks. It was good value for money, but the rooms were run down. I went to check the rooms last week for a a friend who is coming and asked to see the rooms. All the rooms on the floor were I was staying were renovated, bathrooms are brand new, it seems clean and it is now at 450 birr a night for a twin a rather good value for a central location and a nice self service breakfast included.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Ghion Hotel
Ghion Hotel
#85 of 122 in Addis Ababa
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#21 of 122 in Addis Ababa
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 122 in Addis Ababa
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Soramba
Hotel Soramba
#87 of 122 in Addis Ababa
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#51 of 122 in Addis Ababa
43 reviews
1.9 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 122 in Addis Ababa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $58 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Ras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing