We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced”
Review of Ras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ras Hotel
Ranked #89 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Finote Selam, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Ras takes advantage of its mention in tour books, charging an absurd amount to tourists for rooms that are only mediocre at best. Its ground-floor rooms are moldy and toxic. Its better rooms are not worth more than 200 birr/night. Take your money and go elsewhere in Addis.

Room Tip: Avoid ground-floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
5
18
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Ras hotel is centrally located. Though my room was basic it was clean and comfortable. They have a small shop and several restaurants, in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MindyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in 2009 on and off over a period of 2 weeks. It was good value for money, but the rooms were run down. I went to check the rooms last week for a a friend who is coming and asked to see the rooms. All the rooms on the floor were I was staying were renovated, bathrooms are brand new, it seems clean and it is now at 450 birr a night for a twin a rather good value for a central location and a nice self service breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed at the Ras Hotel for a week. While they had my reservation, they did not have my daughter's reservation which I made at the same time a week earlier. Nasty reception desk lady treated me like a second-class citizen. I threatened to leave the hotel and complain to Ras Hotel Enterprises (their head office in Addis) and they miraculously found a room for my daughter. Additional services provided by the reception desk were just as bad. Perhaps the reception staff needs to be evaluated. Anyway, the hotel location is good. The rooms are clean. The food is generally good. Nice patio for people watching. Price is very good. (I'm usually pretty mellow, but I *did* call and complain to Ras Hotel Enterprises about the reception desk.)

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm your reservations twice. Maybe three times. What a hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beforethedirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our stay at Ras was very brief as we arrived late and were leaving early in the morning. The room was very basic, and there was plenty of moist and mold on the walls. Good value, but health problems will probably arise for long-time visitors. Centrally located and very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWide-EBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here 3 times during our 3 week Ethiopia trip. 1st time we had a basic room which was large, clean and quiet but with a cold shower. 2nd & 3rd time we had an upgraded room which was the same size but had a new bathroom and hot water. Ras is centrally located. The room rate includes an awful breakfast in the hotel restaurant but offers a good selection for a tasty lunch and dinner. There is an ATM in the foyer. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

After staying further out of town for our first night in Addis we moved to the Ras Hotel on Churchill Avenue. The hotel is old but renovations are being done. The place has plenty of rooms so walking in off the street was no problem. Paid ETB450 or US$27 a night for a double room for 2 people with breakfast included. Double or twin rooms available with TV (3 channels) and private bathroom. No fridge in the rooms but the food and drink available in the bar was ok (be careful with the spicy meat mixed with injera for breakfast). Restaurants, shops and cinemas nearby. 2 minute walk to the nearest supermarket. 10 minutes by minivan to the Merkato market area and 10-15 minutes by taxi to Bole International Airport. Can change US$, £ and € to ETB at reception. Reception staff sold us mobile credit and kindly let us use their own mobiles to call Nairobi. Travel Agent within the hotel. Standard and simple hotel but did the job for a bed and shower in downtown Addis.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kuzurura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lion's Den Hotel
The Lion's Den Hotel
#23 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ghion Hotel
Ghion Hotel
#75 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#21 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Hotel

Property: Ras Hotel
Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Ras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing