We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, mediocre rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights while attending a conference at the Sheraton.
I would really give this hotel 3.5. The staff are all very friendly, and try to make you feel comfortable. The food is pretty good, and the bar was a nice place to hang out.
The rooms are ok, but nothing special, and the weirdest thing is that they don't have any air or temperature control. It wasn't really hot enough to need air conditioning, but some ventilation, a fan or some control would have been nice. I got hot every night.
The biggest problem is that the hotel is on a busy, loud street, and next to a night club of some kind. So the rooms on one side of the hotel get nightclub music, and random people yelling until at least 4am every night. I hardly slept the first night there. Once I was able to move to a room at the back, it was better. I couldn't hear the music, but still got some street noise.
What partly made up for it was that it was my birthday while there, and the staff surprised me that evening since they had seen my passport, when I got back with a birthday cake and a whole crew to sing and eat it with me. That was above and beyond and really made me smile.
And they do have a really nice new gym with lots of equipment, which I really enjoyed.
So...mixed - if you go just try for a quiet room and it will be ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saradvt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear guest, please accept our thanks for having stayed at our Hotel and for the high marks for value, cleanliness, and service. We are pleased that you enjoyed our small gesture of appreciation on your birthday. In a city that averages between 73 and 75 degrees Fahrenheit, it is not customary to install air conditioning in rooms,, however portable fans are available to guests upon request. It was a pleasure to have served you here at Jupiter; we look forward to the earliest opportunity to do so again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 332 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed for three days while on a business Trip. Generally clean and tidy. Was unlucky to get a room with extremely poor internet connection. They tried fixing this without any success during the whole stay period.

Everything else was okay. Moderately priced food.. (i guess Addis is generally the same)... Nice variety of food in the main restaurant (1st Floor) and staff always ready to help.

There's a deep excavation on one side of hotel, can be quite scary... usual road chaos on the front side, while back enjoys a relatively good calm/quiet.

Glad that we also we got a very early check-in without issues. Good Jazz on Thursday night but can get full, so book seats early.

Room Tip: Choose a back side room if you dont mind missing the front view. Much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear guest ,thank you for taking the time to write the review.We are happy to learn that you were pleased with our service and our staff. We regret that you thought the construction site next door to the Hotel is scary. We can assure you that it poses no danger to the Hotel or its guests.It is fenced in with no activity currently. We are sorry that you had difficulty with the wifi in your room. It may have been a blind spot as occurs for a number of unknown reasons. We are pleased to know that the early check in was appreciated.We are only too happy to offer the extra service when rooms are available, at no extra expense to our guests. Dear guest we truly hope that your overall stay with us was a pleasant one and that you choose Jupiter on your next trip to Addis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It was with regret that we had to stay at this hotel but after a mix up with the plane fights from Nirobie we had no option, it was exceptable but not good food was fair staff did as much as they could to make us feel valued, if you do stay have a good look around the area first before committing to eat in the restaurant .

Room Tip: As high as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcapphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I would not normally choose this type of accommodation - but spent two nights here as part of a tour. Room was very comfortable and facilities were good - at a price.

The buffet breakfast was exceptional - and I was told that leftovers are given away (and not thrown away - as at the second 4 star hotel I stayed at during this tour).

Staff were helpful & friendly and Internet access was better than in lots of other places on my tour.

However, with having a room overlooking the front on both occasions, sleep was difficult owing to the noise from bars etc. opposite.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKMALETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I've stayed here 3 times now and it is consistently good - not great but solidly good.

Make sure to request a room on a high floor at the back of the hotel and you will sleep well - the rooms are big and there is wifi on each floor (worked generally well) as well as network jacks if you bring a cord for your laptop.

The breakfast is not very good - a mash of cold items that should be hot and salad items you can't eat because they were rinsed in local water.

The free airport sniffle is great and the extra benefit of staying here is you are right beside the Radisson Blu with access to the excellent Tomoca coffee, a bar and lounge (try the chocolate mouse!), and Air Ethiopian office if you are thinking about internal travel (much cheaper to book in person rather than online) and a spa with good prices and late hours.

Room Tip: High floors at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 334Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear guest, "CONSISTENTLY GOOD VALUE" is what we strive to deliver to our valued guests every day.Thank you for the encouraging words. As regards our breakfast we would like to assure you that the vegetables that you expressed concern about are washed/soaked in sanitize rs, not merely rinsed with" local water". Our buffet breakfast has designated hot(chafing dishes) and cold sections that our guests can freely choose from. In addition, guests can request cooked-to-order items such as fried eggs, omelets, etc. We hope we will get the opportunity to serve you on your next trip to Addis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The room was great in this Addis Ababa hotel, as was the health spa and deep-tissue massage I received on the third day of my stay, but there are some things needing attention before this gets more than three stars from me. The welcome lobby is very good and comfortable and the staff very professional and friendly, but the in-room wi-fi is intermittent and there seems to be little they can do about it. I had to get a lightbulb replaced immediately after moving in, and then after bathing had to get someone to manouvre the plug out of the plughole with a screwdriver as it was stuck.
The biggest problem was the continuous ear-splitting noise from outside. There is a row of nightclubs across the road that never quit, in fact they play very, very loud music throughout the night until daybreak. I had my windows closed, curtains drawn and earplugs in and it was as loud as if my bed was in the club. We were a group of seven staying there, and the others had rooms higher up, some even on the eighth floor, and they said it made no difference - they too were kept awake all night by the noise. The road outside is manically busy which the hotel can't help, and the drivers toot their horns almost as if it helps to move the car forward, but the nightclub issue has got to be addressed. I heard a group of American business people complaining about the lack of much-needed sleep because of the thunderous noise from across the road.
The restaurant pretends to be up-market but the service is inconsistent - quick the one time, very, very slow the next, but admittedly always friendly and willing to help. My chicken tikka-masala on the first night was a chicken stew really - not even a hint of curry or chilli about it. I wanted something strong, and a tikka-masala has to have some kick or you can't call it that. The next night my fillet was tasty and okay but a bit chewy for a fillet. The potato hot chips were always good. Two of our party had the fish on the second night and they both came down with food poisoning the next day, one so bad he was hospitalised and had to miss the flight home. Never eat fish in a land-locked African country - ever! It's been a long time since that fish last saw water and there doesn't seem to be a high standard of checking its freshness before serving.
The desserts were terrible - all of us were very disappointed and we tried a wide range of different ones between us. The ice cream is crunchy and seems old, but the Death by Chocolate was a joke. Three of us ordered it and renamed it Death by Disappointment. There is no chocolate on it. Brown chocolate-flavoured syrup poured over a syrup-soaked cake does not count. The cake wasn't even chocolate and it came with vanilla crunchy ice-cream. Get someone to google a proper death by chocolate dessert, Mr Chef and see what the customer is expecting.
The breakfast buffets were good - no complaints at all - the delicious coffee, pancakes with maple syrup, eggs and croissants were just the right start to a day for me.
The jazz band on our last night was a real treat - brilliant!!
If attention was given to the things I've mentioned, this could be a great hotel

Room Tip: Not that it helps, but get a room on the eighth floor at the back of the hotel away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for having chosen Jupiter International Hotel during your stay in Addis. Thank you as well for the nice words about the room you stayed in, our friendly and professional staff, our breakfast, our massage service, and our popular Thursday Jazz . We apologize for the ice cream which is made in our kitchen( no preservatives or other additives),and can show some inconsistencies in taste and texture e.g crunchiness.We regret that you were disappointed to death by our Death by Chocolate dessert. We have taken your suggestion to heart and have made changes to it.We will add the needed " kick" to Chicken Tika Marsala without turning it into chicken curry. We only wish you had brought your preference to our attention and we would have gladly given it the extra zing. We have conducted a thorough investigation of our facilities from our fish supplier to our storage area(freezers), chopping boards, to our hygiene and sanitation guidelines . We invited a room guest to inspect our kitchen in order to get a guest's perspective.While we have full confidence in our food handling and processing procedures we are nevertheless deeply disturbed that a guest was reported ill, whatever the cause. A land locked African country or not we are acutely aware of the importance of adhering to the highest standards of food safety. We look forward to the next opportunity to serving you and to proving ourselves worthy of your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I really enjoy my stay at Jupiter International Hotel. The service is really good, they have good restaurant, very clean and confortable, the location is quiet and easy to go around. I really recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear guest , thank you very much for the encouraging words about our Hotel. Our commitment to quality is firm ; we will continue to improve our products and services by upgrading our facilities with improving construction technology, and by training our staff.The honest and constructive suggestions of our guests is a crucial part of that process of improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.2 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
1.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 122 in Addis Ababa
427 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 122 in Addis Ababa
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.1 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 122 in Addis Ababa
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#17 of 122 in Addis Ababa
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter International Hotel - Bole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter International Hotel - Bole

Address: Africa Avenue | Bole, Addis Ababa 110778, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $109 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jupiter International Hotel - Bole 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jupiter International Hotel is a 4 start hotel with two key location in Addis Ababa. Being one of the leading value business hotel, Jupiter International Hotel has been serving business travelers since 2008 with excellent service, exceptional accommodation and affordable price. Our two properties are located near main government office, UNECA, African Union and the International Airport. From 24/7 Airport reception and shuttle service to well furnished comfortable rooms with impeccable service we are dedicated to provide topnotch service with updated products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jupiter International Hotel - Bole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing