We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two very different hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Brussels, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two very different hotels”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

It seems there are two jupiter hotels - and from what I gather the difference in quality between them is huge. The one I stayed in - The jupiter international - is far too expensive for the quality you are getting. The bathroom was horrible. There was a constant layer of water in the shower, already there prior to my arrival. When I complained about this and asked for a different room or atleast a discount on the rate it was like talking to the wall. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for caring enough to share your thoughts a year after you last stayed with us. While we would have wished for a more positive review we do welcome and try to learn from those reviews that are not flattering. Based on your descriptions we suspect that you may have been booked in a room that was out of order, something that should never happen. We truly regret that. We wish you had brought the issue to the attention of management who I am certain would have resolved it to your complete satisfaction. It's a year later now and we would like to think that we are an even better hotel now with much improved rooms and better quality control systems. Never again is simply too long, please give us another opportunity to prove ourselves worthy of your trust again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    164
    68
    15
    2
See reviews for
21
42
58
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I arrived at the Addis airport after midnight and, due to a miscommunication, no one was there to pick me up. Unable to contact the person who was supposed to meet me, I checked-in at the Jupiter for the night. Within an hour, the Jupiter staff had helped me contact my missing ride and I was picked up by him at the hotel. Even after all the trouble I had put the hotel through (picking me up from the airport, checking me in, exchanging my US dollars for Ethiopian Birr, showing me to my room, helping me contact my ride, etc.) the hotel refused to charge me for any of its services.

Although I didn't spend the night at the Jupiter, I did spend some time in one of its rooms. I'm very sure I would have been completely comfortable to have stayed there during the entire time I was in Addis.

I sincerely thank the Jupiter International Hotel staff for their hospitality and help when, late at night and far from home, I was faced with a very distressing situation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your kind words. We are happy that our colleagues at Jupiter International Hotel were able to assist you locate the people you were looking for. We realize that being away from home can cause anxiety and that a friendly gesture can reduce the level of anxiety. At Jupiter we firmly believe that you are a guest even if you are not staying in our Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed one night in the Bole Jupiter, close to the airport. Friendly and good service, good room, nice restaurant and little business center. Nothing to complain about. I would go there again.
I have no idea how the other Jupiter is, but I think they should be treated separately here on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarsEriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The price was a bit steep but the services were top knotch. The reception smiles and will help you with any questions you have. The room was a bit battle worn and the construction around makes for some noise but this is no fault of the hotel. I would recommend it for safety, kindness, and that perfect steam room at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 237AUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to offer us your opinion. We value it and work hard every day to offer our guests good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Jupiter's best feature is surely its staff, who are extremely accommodating and efficient. The restaurant's food is also quite good (try the Ethiopian dishes), and the bar area has wifi free for guests and customers. There is also a very good live band on weekends, which makes for a convenient and enjoyable evening.

But note that there is little to no soundproofing in the hotel, and that there is ongoing construction both inside the building and in every direction surrounding it. From one room (whose view was entirely obstructed by an enormous HVAC system), we heard honking and shouting from the traffic downstairs and hammering from within the hotel. Our request for a room change was fulfilled immediately (and courteously), and the second room was better insulated from the traffic sounds. Still, we were able to clearly hear conversations from nearby rooms, clanging water pipes, and a metal detector beeping from several floors below. The band's entire set is fully audible from within the rooms.

That said, Addis is growing at a breakneck rate, and construction is everywhere. The Jupiter is reputedly one of the best hotels in the city, leading me to assume that most or all hotels in the area will be similarly noise-afflicted. Our hotel outside Addis also lacked soundproofing, so perhaps it is not yet a common building feature.

The noise issue aside, our stay was very comfortable, and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

On our trip to Addis Ababa, we based ourselves at this hotel as we did a few day trips here and there. The staff are so professional, some with a great sense of humor. The place is very clean and well run. There are great airport transfers (make sure you book them in advance). The breakfast is up there with other 5* western hotels, it's brilliant, the lunch and dinner menus can be a bit dry. The rooms are lovely, tvs with fox, hot showers, clean towels, comfy beds. Wifi in all rooms and in the bar and restaurant area. It's a great place! I'd recommend it for all ages!

Room Tip: complimentary bottled waters every day. wifi in every room. hot showers - wait for them to warm up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for the kind words They encourage us to try even harder in our ongoing effort to offer our guests superior products and services. As an old saying goes we will leave the lights on for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice lobby and restaurant on mezzanine level. Food at dinner and breakfast pretty good. Internet in rooms. In room mini bar-fridge and coffee maker. Shower in bathroom sprayed all over the place. No in- room climate control and window only face the interior hallway so couldnt get fresh air. Would stay there again. Felt safe...important in Addis.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.1 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter International Hotel - Bole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter International Hotel - Bole

Property: Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Address: Africa Avenue | Bole, Addis Ababa 110778, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jupiter International Hotel - Bole 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jupiter International Hotel is a 4 start hotel with two key location in Addis Ababa. Being one of the leading value business hotel, Jupiter International Hotel has been serving business travelers since 2008 with excellent service, exceptional accommodation and affordable price. Our two properties are located near main government office, UNECA, African Union and the International Airport. From 24/7 Airport reception and shuttle service to well furnished comfortable rooms with impeccable service we are dedicated to provide topnotch service with updated products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jupiter International Hotel - Bole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing