We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quite Reasonable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jupiter International Hotel - Bole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quite Reasonable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel three separate times during a recent (Dec 2012/Jan 2013) trip to Ethiopia, in rooms 301, 101 and 201 -- all facing the busy, noisy street. During the first stay, sleep was disrupted by loud music from a bar/club across the street as well as a brawl in the street complete with gunfire (we later learned the man with the gun was a policeman). All bad? Not at all! The room was, otherwise, very spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable (albeit a bit cold). Free WiFi is available in the rooms (with a passcode) and there is a business center with computers to use, free, on the mezzanine. The restaurant in the hotel does a very nice breakfast buffet (included in our plan). Staff was friendly and welcoming. They bent over backwards to provide some breakfast the one morning we had to leave before the breakfast buffet opened and, one evening, when we asked questions about how a national dish was prepared, the waiter came back with the recipe for us. There is an ATM in the lobby that works with American VISA cards. Overall, the hotel was comparable to a mid-range hotel in the US. The neighborhood was just OK. The main problem, for me, is that street is not well lit at night, especially once you are a couple of blocks away from the hotel. The first night, we went out to a restaurant about 20 minutes (walk) away and then stumbled our way home in the dark. On the other hand, we walked to a coffee place one afternoon and the walk was very pleasant. A plus: the Hilton is just a short walk away (I'm telling you this because they have great pizza!).

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms in the front of the hotel, unless you are hard of hearing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    154
    67
    15
    2
See reviews for
20
36
54
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are currently traveling in Ethiopia and stayed one night at the Jupiter International Hotel and am basing my rating on that one stay. We are going to be there twice more during our 18 days but based on our experience, feel as though this is a super hotel.

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival Jan 4, 2013 and when I asked for a room on the higher floors back of the hotel they immediately honored my request. We stayed in Room 510 and it was a huge room and very well appointed. We were exhausted from our LONG flight and they answered every request with a smile.

We will be back there in a little over a week and then have a day room before our journey home. Really liked the Jupiter and know that I will a couple more times:-)

Room Tip: Upper floors, back side away from the street noise. Had room 510 which was wonderful:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Valued guest,we are grateful for the nice words about our Hotel. They motivate us to try even harder. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Addis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very convenient place in Addis - when arriving at the ADD AIrport a special Jupiter Lounge is waiting for your arrival and will arrange a free transport to the Hotel immediately. We had the chance to check in already at 8:30am after our overnight flight and have received a very nice Twin Room with full window front. Bottled water and amenities are available and a very good restaurant is on it's premises.

Specially to call out is the Internet Connection - we are in Room 201 and the WiFi Router is in front of our door and made up to 2Mbit which is remarkable for a free wireless connection in a Hotel Room.

The Hotel is undergoing renovation at the moment and I'm looking forward to see the new rooms soon!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing the street if you wanna have it quietly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Excellent Room, furnishings, Food and Grand Breakfast. People at the Reception, Shuttle Airport Transfer, Restaurant, Room Services are really friendly, ladies/ gentlemen. Only problem is the machine running from the adjacent area where new construction is going on!

Stayed for 3 nights; and'll love to re-visit.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms or Suites are cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranab1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Addis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I travel frequently in Africa and have stayed at a good number of hotels in Addis. This is among the worst as it is marketed as an upscale hotel. The positives about the hotel include the very friendly and helpful staff, the comfortable and clean beds, the reliable internet connectivity, and the hot and powerful showers, the negatives outweigh. The rooms are poorly designed and many are practically without windows. Many are positioned close to the bar next door and are unbearably noisy from 11pm - 5am. There are few lamps and the rooms are very dark and dismal. The place is regretfully carpeted which makes for musty, smelly, moldy rooms in this climate, and the restaurant's food was unacceptably bad. The restaurant serves the worst coffee which is just unacceptable for Ethiopia and features every form of processed cheap lunch meat at breakfast. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wodaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akoraj, Manager at Jupiter International Hotel - Bole, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your observations. Deserved or not, we will accept them with humility and will learn from them. It is not our Hotel's policy to book our guests in molding, musty, and smelly rooms as you have described the room you stayed in. Due to unfortunate human error it may be possible that you were booked in a room that was set aside for repair and was not to be sold to guests. Regardless of the reasons, we truly regret all inconveniences that you experienced. We wish you had brought the matter to our attention while you were still with us .That would have given us the chance to make immediate corrections.A fresh batch of coffee can be made anew , a plate of food can be replaced, and a room can be changed. The reputation of hotels rise and fall with the scrupulous evaluation of their guests. We care deeply about the comfort and full satisfaction of every guest that enters our doors, and every day we make every effort to build a culture and record of service we can proudly stand on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here as I had to overnight while traveling. After the mess of trying to sort out a room with the Ethiopian Airlines desk at the airport, I finally gave up (waited for close to one hour) and decided to take my chances and fork out money for an alternative as my flight the next day was early and I needed to just sleep. Went through immigration easily, then down to the arrivals hall. Got to the only manned desk and it was Jupiter's. Efficiency set in, the guy checked and there wasnt the cheaper room so he gave me an upgrade for the same price. He organised the ride and I was soon on my way to the Hotel. Same efficiency at the reception, room service was quick and very clean rooms and bathrooms.
There's a complimentary shuttle to the airport which is less than 15mins away. Check out was quick too.
For $100 this was well worth it, I'd stay here if I'm transiting through Addis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfroRastaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here last April. It was a very pleasant stay. The hotel staff were helpful (the guards kept saluting me and my colleagues every time we walked in!). The food in the restaurant is very good. A little pricey in comparison to Addis prices but tasty and still cheap nonetheless.

One of the most amazing things we found was the live music. On Thursdays they have various bands playing live music in the bar downstairs and it was very busy. A great atmosphere and vibe from musicians and guests. Other nights there was jazz playing in the bar and the atmosphere was generally very mellow and relaxing. Perfect if you need to catch-up on emails and don't want to sit in your room.

The room has a locked safe and all amenities. I found the room was a little small (cramped) but nothing too bad, and you can still get by without it really affecting you.

I would recommend this to anyone who needs to be located in central Addis.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CulturedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.1 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#10 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#7 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter International Hotel - Bole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter International Hotel - Bole

Property: Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
Address: Africa Avenue | Bole, Addis Ababa 110778, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jupiter International Hotel - Bole 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jupiter International Hotel is a 4 start hotel with two key location in Addis Ababa. Being one of the leading value business hotel, Jupiter International Hotel has been serving business travelers since 2008 with excellent service, exceptional accommodation and affordable price. Our two properties are located near main government office, UNECA, African Union and the International Airport. From 24/7 Airport reception and shuttle service to well furnished comfortable rooms with impeccable service we are dedicated to provide topnotch service with updated products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jupiter International Hotel - Bole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing