We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Addis”
Review of Addis Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Addis Guest House
Ranked #34 of 287 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is the fourth year running that I have stayed at the Addis Guest House, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. I love the friendly welcome, the efficient management and the free services such as laundry and internet. When I was ill last year, one of the staff took me to hospital and made sure I got good treatment. The breakfast is good, and there is plenty of choice for lunch and dinner, as well as a terrace to drink your coffee or fresh juice on. Water and power shortages are never a problem here. The rates compare very favourably with other places in Addis. The location is good for access to the airport, but also to the city centre. Plenty of taxis and minibuses pass the front door. The shopping areas of Bole and Haya Hulet are close, but not too close. There is a multiplex cinema just down the road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 111 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

I spent two nights there. The rooms a very clean and nicely
furnished. I had a refrigerator and a brand new television in my room. The room
faced the back of the guesthouse and was very quiet. The neighbiorhood is safe.
You can walk in 5 minutes to bustling Bole Street with restaurants, shops and bars. The trip
to the Airport takes 5 minutes by car.
The breakfast was excellent with omelet and cappuccino. The rooms a very clean and nicely
furnished. I had a refrigerator and a brand new television in my room. The room
faced the back of the guesthouse and was very quiet. The neighbiorhood is safe.
You can walk in 5 minutes to bustling Bole Street with restaurants, shops and bars. The trip
to the Airport takes 5 minutes by car.
The breakfast was excellent with omelet and cappucino.
The manager Yonas is simply outstanding. He picked me up at
the airport and took excellent care: he had inquired with Ethiopian Airways and
was aware that my flight arrived 1 hr early. He then took me to a pharmacy to
buy a knee brace and even went to a different store, to buy ice for my hurt
knee. He is the soul of the guest house.
I highly recommend it.

MLW

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 484MLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I travel to Addis Ababa quite frequently. When I am in Addis I only stay at this guest house. The staff is extremely accommodating and always attentive to my needs. The room is always clean, wireless is consistent, the food in the restaurant is good, and the rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

No evening life, the restaurant is good but closes early in the evening. Not my cup of tea.

Room Tip: The suites are verry noisy, all at the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nialeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

+Really close to the airport.
+Clean and comfortable rooms.
+Super friendly and accommodating staff.
+Very reasonably priced.
+Free WiFi.
+Restaurant on premiss.

I would definitely stay again and recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nice and clean rooms with great service, what more can you ask for. Thank you once again Addis Guest House

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdentureMyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

For anyone considering a stay in Addis Ababa, you would be doing yourself a favour by staying at the Addis Guest House. It is centrally located in Bole, so close to all the amenities and to the airport. The Guest House is clean and the room I stayed (King Suite) in was spacious - as per the advertisement on the Addis Guest House website - and value for money. Furthermore, the staff were very friendly, the food in the downstairs restaurant great and there was wi-fi connected to every floor, so you were never far from a decent internet connection. Good work Yonas! You'll be having my business again soon.

Room Tip: Kings suite faces the main road, but in spite of that, the rooms are still generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 124 in Addis Ababa
141 reviews
3.8 mi away
Adot-Tina Hotel
Adot-Tina Hotel
#71 of 124 in Addis Ababa
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#47 of 124 in Addis Ababa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#2 of 124 in Addis Ababa
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 124 in Addis Ababa
247 reviews
1.5 mi away
Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast
Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast
#13 of 287 in Addis Ababa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Guest House

Address: Bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa 3187, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $33 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Addis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Addis Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing