We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Leopol International
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The moquette carpet was filthy. Their vacuum cleaner had apparently broken down that morning and remained so for my entire stay. The bathroom was clean though.

Wireless internet hardly ever worked in the rooms. My colleague was lucky enough to have a room with LAN cable working, but most rooms did not have one. You get 1 hour internet in the lobby which worked about half the time. When it worked it was fast enough for a video call.

There are plenty of good hotels in Addis, I will look better next time

Room Tip: Ask for LAN connection if you really have to stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    13
    19
    11
See reviews for
3
6
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Booked here with a few others who missed connections at ADD. The hotel is contracted by Ethiopian Airlines to house stranded travellers.
Hotel is OK. Area around the hotel is under construction and quite loud during the day. Food is okay - there are curries and rice and a few salads for each meal. No sweets and one bottled beverage per meal. Only the meals in the downstairs restaurant are included in the free layover meals.

The elevator is tiny. As per Africa - the power does go out fairly regularly, but usually not for long. You don't want to be in the elevator when the power goes out.
Unlimited wifi is included - you can log in multiple devices with the same logon ID. Don't need to log in to wifi in lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms are widely varied - the "01" rooms seem to be nicer and larger. 601, 701 etc. Highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is under construction, but thankfully the activity seemed to decrease overnight. However, it is next to a busy road, and the sounds of traffic were quite noticeable through the windows which did not shut properly. The room was large but not very homely. Service at reception is indifferent - WiFi was switched off a and no attempt was made to switch it on despite a request to do so. Good dinner buffet and breakfast. This is one of many hotels that seems to be contracted by Ethiopian Airlines to accommodate transiting passengers - for that purpose it isnadequate, but I would not choose to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I spent one night here after missing my connecting Ethiopian Airline flight in January 2013. After waiting endlessly for the pickup bus from the hotel, we arrived to see a poorly maintained hotel with construction going on all around. I can only describe it as the worst hotel I've been in! Very narrow range of food, very tiny rooms, was given an extension box with exposed cables, wifi never worked, furniture in the bar needed fixing... I could go on and on. The 'view' was horrible, items were dumped beside the hotel (in the course of the ongoing renovation, i think). I won't advice anyone to stay here until they get their act together.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

THE WORST hotel experience in a while. Lousy breakfast, lunch and dinner... No wifi though they claim that there is one...it never works and they dont care.

No staff ever smiles in the hotel. Staff are more interested in listening to TV programs in the bar with loud volume and protest when you say you are not able to have business discussions with your customers "If we lower the volume we cant hear the program" is the answer we get.

Rude driver in the airport transfer coach too.... I would NEVER go back to this hotel

Room Tip: Better look for another hotel instead of wasting your time on this one. You will only frustrate your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed one week.

Room quite tiny and worn out but okish. No internet despite they claim there is a fast connection, No attempts to solve the issue during the whole week. Staff at the reception desk rude and barely speaking english. Among other, they woke me up one night at 5 thinking I ordered a wake up call.Cleaning ladies screaming in the halls starting at 7,30.

Food at the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel de Leopol International from August 14 till August 18, 2012. We came to Addis-Ababa to participate in an international conference held in the Addis-Ababa University.
Our overall impressions of the hotel are positive.
We had a studio room for each person for 56$ per night.
The rooms were clean, hot water was always available, the bathrooms were also clean.
The staff of the hotel was friendly and promptly responding to our requests.
The food at the hotel restaurant (on the first floor) was nice. For breakfast we would have nice Ethiopean tea or coffee, scrambled eggs and hot oatmeal porridge with milk.
In the rooms we could watch BBC world service, Fox movies, British soccer and some local channels.

At the same time, there were some shortcomings:

1) We arrived at the Addis-Ababa Bole International airport with delay after 00:30, and also the luggage of one of our participants was by mistake already unloaded in Istanbul, so we went out to the terminal rather late. So, we were not met by the hotel shuttle. Moreover, there was nobody at the Hotel de Leopol desk at the airport. On our way back we were indeed transported to the airport with no extra fee by the hotel shuttle.

2) There is a mosque nearby, and at night, say, for example, around 5 a.m. there would be heard muslim prayers broadcasted via loudspeakers. This may be a problem for sensitive sleepers.

3) Almost every day the electricity would be down usually for a minute or two, but once on Saturday it was out for something like an hour.

Having said all this, we still claim that for the money we paid we got quite decent service.

We would recommend this hotel for travellers.

P.S. Just a piece of advice about the city itself.

1) Be careful while paying taxi drivers -- they tend (especially with regard to the recently arrived visitors) to greatly exaggerate their fares. So, one needs to negotiate and argue with them.

2) It is rather cold in Addis-Ababa in August, especially, when it rains. Do have warm clothes with you.

3) There are many poor and desperate people in Addis-Ababa, and we did not feel safe walking in the streets. So, we mostly stayed at the hotel and in the University.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lev_from_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
0.7 mi away
Washington Hotel
Washington Hotel
#31 of 118 in Addis Ababa
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion's Den Hotel
The Lion's Den Hotel
#24 of 118 in Addis Ababa
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
Hotel Intercontinental-Addis
#41 of 118 in Addis Ababa
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#23 of 118 in Addis Ababa
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ghion Hotel
Ghion Hotel
#72 of 118 in Addis Ababa
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Leopol International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Leopol International

Property: Hotel de Leopol International
Address: Jomo Kenyata Street | Next to Bambis Supermarket, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Leopol International 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Leopol International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing