We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its a good 3* hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Asmara Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Asmara Palace
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Asmara
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“its a good 3* hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Asmara is a very small & developing city so certain mod cons you just expect in a any hotel may not be readily available in a place like this. The hotel I would say for facilities is certainly the best in Asmara. It has an indoor + outdoor pool, 3 restaurants and gym. It also has a couple of shops and money changing facilites. The rooms are very spacious with a balcony and the facilities are pretty standard. There is tea & coffee and a small mini bar. There is no internet in the room (although there is a plug in) it does not work at all and this is for the whole hotel. TV does not have great reception....bring a laptop for movies! the beds are big and comfy but the bedding itself is very old bobbly and unfortunatley a bit holey. I stayed a couple of weeks and it wasnt a one off bed cover.
There is no wifi either. There is a 24 hour business lounge with 4 workstations, gets very busy in the evenings and until 10pm the internet is painfully slow (20 mins to send 1 email!) this happens across Eritrea as they only have dial up connection and the band width is very slow at the best of times...something to bear in mind if you plan to use the internet for work (you will need to factor in extra time!)
The staff at the hotel are absolutley fabulous and customer service is excellent. The food the hotel is also great and there is a wide variety of cuisine available.
An important note - if you are changing money you cannot change it back. I was not told of this - and didnt leave enough dollars for the departure tax. Getting US dollars is extremly difficult and you must always keep reciepts and declare the exact amount of cash as there are very strict laws on currency.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vickyscriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
4
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

I was intially excited about staying at the ICH until I arrived and was told my guest would have to leave before the 11pm curfew!! The staff did not approve of a male guest visiting a female. I went thru hell and back to get my friend to visit me. He was constantly harassed by hotel security. The service was extremely slow and the room I thought I paid for (as published on the internet site) was below what I expected. The furniture was old and smelly and they put 5 dead flowers in a vase and expected me to pay $330 a nite for the crap...and unfortunately it was too late for me to change. But never again!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the furniture is old and smelly. staff slooowwww.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank marquesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asmara hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

I arrived at the hotel at midnight of 11/12th May 2008 without my suitcase due to an airline mess up. I learnt that my suitcase had been left at OR Tambo in Johannesburg and I was only going to get it 4 days later. With all the airlines' security these days I had nothing on me except the clothes I was wearing, one other blouse and a laptop. All my toiletries and make up were in the 'missing suitcase'.The staff at this hotel were incredible in their understanding and went out of their way to help me in my distress. The lady on duty at the reception even went as far as supplying me with deodorant from her own handbag because I was desperate before I went to work on the Monday morning. One of the lady staff who brought my breakfast to my room also came to my aid by supplying some female-specific toiletries from her bag because I was desperate and the shops were not open at that time of the morning. I was blown away by their kindness, generosity and sensitivity. I personally feel they went above their call of duty and I felt blessed by their numerous acts of kindness. It is treatments like these that would make me stay with them again the next time I am in Asmara.

In one of coffee bars I had the tastiest vegeterian sandwich I have ever had and I have travelled a lot! I ordered the same sandwich more than once. Their coffee and cappuccino were something to write home about. It was a good coffee bean whatever they used.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — No 24hr emergency shop in reception with basics
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank mai_madhora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2006

I found the service to be lacking, the food made me sick. You are much better off going to a local resturant, you will pay much less for good food. the rooms were the best part of the charmless hotel. Make sure to check your bill to make sure it is correct!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank Turtlegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2006

I have never been in a Hotel with such excellent service for the price you are paying. The atmosphere was clean and beyond my expectations. Clean rooms and facilities, great for families. Kepp up the Good work.

  • Stayed June 2000
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2005

The Intercontinental is the most upmarket hotel in town. The rooms are decent, hotel food is good (but then again, food everywhere in Asmara is pretty good) and service is friendly. The architecture of the place takes some getting used to - it is rather barren and does not make you feel at home - but overall it provides a pleasant stay with efficient services, but without particular highlights or much charme.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank plagist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asmara hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#5 of 7 in Asmara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#1 of 7 in Asmara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#1 of 7 in Asmara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Africa Pension
Africa Pension
#3 of 7 in Asmara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.0 mi away
Embasoira Hamasien Hotel
0.0 mi away
Savanna International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asmara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asmara Palace

Property: Hotel Asmara Palace
Address: Der Mie 4, Expo Area, Asmara, Eritrea
Location: Eritrea > Maekel Region > Asmara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Asmara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Asmara Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Asmara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Continental Hotel Asmara
Inter-Continental Asmara
Asmara Inter-Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing