We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunshine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lion Hotel(Asmara)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
7
22
15
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
22
15
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsper nightyou will not be disappointedpopular with localsomelettepowerwificountrycity
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 47 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Ample sized rooms with en-suite bathroom - clean and comfortable.
Basic breakfast and good in hotel menu for snacks or meals - very nice coffee.
Service is very good and staff are all friendly. Wi-Fi internet is free but a bit erratic which is I believe the norm for the country and not specific to this hotel.
The hotel is well positioned and a short walk from the main road with lots of night life and some very good restaurants serving local favorites (try the Italian food also).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrikLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sami B, Guest Relations Manager at Sunshine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I don't understand the hotel slogan (article title), but the staff is extremely polite and for the most part we were 'actually' happy. The hotel became our home away from wherever after two three-week stays. The showers were lukewarm at best, but on the weekends we found that hot water came around 8:30 in the morning (too late as we were on business). We could have changed hotels, but I felt obligated to the kind staff to stay and the wireless was better than the others and included in the room cost. Continental breakfast includes coffee (rocket fuel)/cappuccino (milk w/splash of coffee) or tea with toast and fresh papaya or guava juice. Room prices are reasonable and the staff was more than willing to change our room (multiple times) to find a suitable balance of bed, lukewarm water and windows.

The hotel is centrally located and walking distance from the main street and numerous restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is a hotspot for locals who gather nightly for music and drinks, but the city and hotel go quiet by 11PM at the very latest!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emailbrookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sami B, Guest Relations Manager at Sunshine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I was in Sunshine hotel for about 2 weeks and I had a wonderful time.
The room was clean and service excellent, very nice staff
Warless internet service ,with is very important for me.

I am going back in about 3 month I am looking for word to be there

If you are traveling to Eritrea best place to stay is Sunshine hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sami B, Guest Relations Manager at Sunshine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I stayed in the Hotel longer than expected and felt really comfortable. The Staff are helpful, and friendly. Delicious coffee. Nice garden not far away from the city centre. All facilities that you need.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Afrika2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sami B, Guest Relations Manager at Sunshine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews