We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Djibouti Palace Kempinski
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Hotel(Djibouti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Menelik(Djibouti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
African Village(Djibouti)
View Hotel
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
224
186
78
33
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
186
78
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantsky barswim up barbusiness tripr rgreat gymmultiple restaurantsnew wingrooms are comfortablesea viewan oasisfive star hotelhotel guestspoolsspacountryluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 539 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The setting, landscaping and atmosphere is the bestin Djibouti. The breakfast cooks could use some additional training. The beds are consistent with a first class hotel. The staff is friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear John D

Warm Greetings from Djibouti!

Thank you for sharing your comment and for giving us your feedback on your experience. Our colleagues are constantly under training and doing their best to improve our service delivery in every field, breakfast being one of them.
We are happy you could feel the warmth of the land of genuine smiles and we hope you could live it again soon.

Warm regards,

Gilles Longuet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Extremely comfortable but terrible vegetarian food selection at buffet considering the huge prices. I ate with two colleagues in the buffet and staff made several excuses why I could not just order a meal from the adjacent Italian restaurant.

The hotel facilities are very good and the swimming facilities excellent.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear David B

Greetings from Djibouti!

We are delighted to know that our facilities satisfied your needs but we are sorry you could not eat the meal you were looking for. Kempinski placing healthy cuisine as a point of improvement for 2014 already has us coming up with vegetarian dishes and delicatessens for our buffets.
We are sure you will enjoy them during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Gilles Longuet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Did not stay but visited the hotel for over a week to attend a conference. Waiting staff exceptionally slow, prices expensive (for everything, including photocopying). Italian restaurant was ok, fish bar was nice. Be warned the hotel does not take MasterCard or American Express!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank JASH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Jash09,

Warm greetings from sunny Djibouti!
Training our staff is one of our core values and helps us improving our service delivery at the Djibouti Palace Kempinski. Please trust that our goal and biggest satisfaction is to answer every guest request.

The Djibouti Palace Kempinski team and I are looking forward to welcoming you in a close future and receiving your feedback.

Kind regards,

Gilles Longuet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It is really a paradise in Djibouti and I was stunned by the make and size of It. Although majority of the hotel rooms are occupied by the Unified Navies across the world who are guarading the notorious Gulf of Aden for piracy but the hotel is good. The casino is good and so is the swimming pool. The hotel has its own beach and there are beach parties on Saturday. Dont go between June to September. Its very hot in Djibouti and you shall be roasted. The rooms are spacious and the staff is very courteous. I had most of my meetings in Hotel. The coffee is good and so is the restaurant. I am really thankful for the cook who made Indian dishes for me. Must stay. The tariff is about $ 200-350 depending upon the time you book but its worth it. I visited in 2011 June.

Room Tip: Take a sea view room not the garden view room. The rooms near the lift are a bit noisy so you may choose to walk a little.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohitkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Mohitkb,

Greetings from Djibouti!

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Djibouti Palace Kempinski. We are happy to know that you spent a good time among us, either in your room, the outlets or at the Beach Party.
We are looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay in Djibouti.

Kind regards,

Gilles Longuet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is simply beautiful with staff that try very hard to please. It would be unfair to fault them. Djibouti is a poor country with no natural resources except for its hard working, friendly people. I was started coming here a couple of years ago and it's obvious the management have invested in good training programs. Almost everyone speaks good English, room and restaurant service is top notch and if one must be in Djibouti this is clearly the place to be.

Room Tip: One of the junior suites overlooking the sea is really outstanding.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DjiboutiPalace, General Manager at Djibouti Palace Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Mkech,

Warm greetings from Djibouti!
Thank you for sharing this comment, this is the most beautiful present for the Djibouti Palace Kempinski team. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our excellent service and we try every day to improve it.

Kind regards,

Gilles Longuet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews